15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Kiuwan

A Powerful, End-To-End Application Security Platform. Securing Your Code Since 2003. Supports 30+ Languages & Integrates With Your IDE.

Learn more about Kiuwan

Pros:

Kiuwan give you the ability to integrate the scanner with almost all the Editors and also in your pipelines. Vulnerabilities are well described in the report.

Cons:

We have reduced the technical debt in less than 2 years significantly.

Kiuwan ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Kiuwan has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 35 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kiuwan before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (35)

Ricardo
Ricardo
Project Manager in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan Code Analisys

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our applications are old and have passed by a lot of technology upgrades, also we have poorly organized rules for coding which ailed with a big movement of in and out of resources created a very low performance environment.
With Kiuwan we now have the ability to analyse and block bad code and start in a easy and clean way to optimize our code and fasten our applications.

Pros:

Clear and simple dashboard Easy to understand the problems of the code Customization is a plus

Cons:

Restrictions on technologys were can be applied

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use DevSecOps static analysis tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Kiuwan has a very simple UI that is easier to understand and monitor the applications for improving the overall security posture.

Pros:

It has simple-to-use plug-in support for IDE and our DevOps environment.

Cons:

Faced difficulty in assigning users and roles, other than that its a great tool.

Alejandro
Software Architect in Spain
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A nice security tool

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

You can start monitoring your software very fast and easy

Cons:

The configuration of the users and its roles

Akash
Akash
Akash in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan sast review

4.0 last year

Pros:

Open source vulnerability and reporting part of critical vulnerabilities.

Cons:

The remediation should be elaborated and detailed report should be there.

Alternatives Considered: SonarQube

David
David
SecDevOps in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerfull & Usefull, even with a small team.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Summarising... in general, it's a great tool to analyse and improve the security of a product. Sometimes you don't have enough resources to use big tools like checkmarx, and this tool is a great alternative.

Pros:

It's simple. You don't need a big team to get all potential of this tool. It can be used by 2 or 3 people. That's great for small pentesting teams or product teams.

Cons:

It's new and... it's simple. The same pro could be used as Con. Maybe it's just matter of time, but Kiuwan should improve its performance and features.

Elyes
Elyes
Application Security Engineer in Tunisia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Kiuwan give you the ability to integrate the scanner with almost all the Editors and also in your pipelines. Vulnerabilities are well described in the report. You can integrate it with Jira which give you a centralized visibility.

Cons:

The line of codes limitations are strict and it could fail your build if you exceed the limitation with only 1 line in plus.

Muhammed Osama
Muhammed Osama
Senior .Net Developer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Code Security tool in the market

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Most and most valid vulnerabilities picked up

Cons:

None at this time of the project. All requirements solved with the tool

Jesus Govanni
Jesus Govanni
Analista de Testing - QA in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Code Analysis matters

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are solving issues like backdoors that in-house developers or third parts could have or do. Always we are looking for very high and high security bugs that could compromise the security, integrity and confidentiality of the information.
We have been finding bugs in development tine and in preproduction phase. Every bug is always a good way to learn and dont repeat it in the future.

Pros:

I like a lot that Kiuwan it’s easy to use, by the other side, it helps a lot to development teams and QA members to find new opportunities to enrich the source code of every application.

Cons:

I think it could help that results of the analysis could show a little more of the code involved, I mean, in the moment we see a bug details, you just can see the very specific line of code. I little more of code could help and sometimes avoid to go to the file.

Christtian
Public Relations in Ecuador
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan is Amazing in Code Analysis

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Company where I work has many projects with large numbers of code, Kiuwan allowed to improve the quality of it

Pros:

Easy to use Deep code analysis Very fast Report of results easy to understand

Cons:

No cons in kiuwan use, we are very happy whith it

Md. Azizur
Md. Azizur
Security Engineer in Bangladesh
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Kiuwn can play an important role in Secure SDLC

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Awesome. Helps developers identify code security flaws in quick manner to improve the security of the application against various standards e.g. OWASP Top 10 and SANS Top 25 etc.

Pros:

Ease of use and user friendliness. Most of the options are self-explanatory. Also, cloud and local analyzer enables users to use it inflexibly manner

Cons:

Custom calender for project view. Wont give you more than 2 months view

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A must use tool for development

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been great specially taken care of legacy code wich needed our attention.

Pros:

Great tool for developers to validate code compliance. Management for oversight progress and forecasting. Also easy integration on CD / CI environment.

Cons:

Something simple, but a separate user license for K4D users on Android Studio environment.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A very complete and user-friendly tool to check your code and vulnerabilities

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are solving a lot of problems in terms of security in appplications developed for the banking business. They require very strong solutions in terms of safety.

Pros:

It's very user-friendly. It provides a lot of information about your code and supports a lot of languages even for mobility.

Cons:

There are other tools like HP Fortify, and I consider that some vulnerabilities are not detected in Kiuwan.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan Review

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The capacity of analysis and the vulnerabilities database.

Cons:

The interface it's not very clear. The review of the results is complicated for initial users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Every day kiuwan help me about dame activity

Pros:

I Think that source analysis code is perfect

Cons:

The speed of work is most slow, you have to performance The speed.

Jose
Product Owner in Spain
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great to control the quality of our deployments

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kiuwan is letting us controlling th quality of the different versions our vendors implement

Pros:

Everything can be configured according with our needs

Cons:

It requires a little bit deep knowledge to customize some configurations

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great App

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Everything Works perfect, no stress at all.

Cons:

Didn't get anything that i didn't like until now.

fco javier
Project manager in Spain
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Basic tool

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

In my case as a manager kiuwan Code Security Review is core to guarantee before going to production that code is valid. Besides you can configure exceptions or reviews ad hoc to your organization.

Cons:

I don´t think of any cons. My providers get used to it very easily.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan security

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is being great, it was pretty easy to get into it and to integrate with our project.

Pros:

It integrates well with our stack, the Java-spring stack, it traces pretty well the vulnerabilities your software has, indicating the source of the problem and where it originated.

Cons:

Some of the scans don't do such a great job when looking for the flow of the code, for example, we implemented a Spring filter that was not being caught by the scanned, giving so false positives.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Code analysis during Runtime. So code is not being uploaded . Also there is no limit to lines of Cod

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Its super agile. Instant code inspection.

Pros:

There are 12 Security Standards. Sonarqube only offers 2. Code does not get uploaded in the cloud.Only the report does. Its quick to start.Best suited for QA. No need for any additional software for setup. Setup for Sonarquebe is tedious.

Cons:

Its not in Gartner´s list of security tools.This makes it difficult to convince prospective clients for making a purchase.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

What a beautiful discovery!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This product helps us to improve quality of our software.

Pros:

It finds many defects in your code. It helps you to fix defects with clear explanations.

Cons:

Applications and portfolio configuration isn't user friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan Code Security

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have helped our customers to identify problems in their source code, build an efficient solution path and implement the tasks to solve problems using the Kiuwan Code Security product.

Pros:

- great summary and overview - easy to mark false positives - good scanner, many supported langauges

Cons:

- local analyzer should always be used but this is not mentioned in the documentation

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It needs to evolve towards a more focused view of the security review

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Quick and easy to use, it is comfortable and efficient

Cons:

It is very devotional oriented, so it is not flexible to extract full reports of results, where all the information jumps. The governance module is very powerful but it is complicated to do some information filtering.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kiuwan Code Security review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have reduced the technical debt in less than 2 years significantly

Pros:

Visibility of code quality at the management level. We have reduced the technical debt in less than 2 .years significantly

Cons:

We have reduced the technical debt in less than 2 years significantly

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Usefull for big all king of projects

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We use Kiuwan for all of our projects and it help us to verify and increase the quality of our code.

Cons:

It would be nice if Angular project could be analysed.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Incredible functionality

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The software gives you feedback about the code that is susceptible for a improvement.

Cons:

Sometimes it takes a lot of time to load the software