15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Productboard

Productboard is the customer-driven product management system that empowers teams to get the right products to market, faster.

Learn more about Productboard

Pros:

Easy integration and linking of external tools.

Cons:

Searchong for already submitted requests can be difficult. Constant moderator required.

Productboard ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Productboard has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 152 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Productboard before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (152)

Joshua
Joshua
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Alas! We found our product management solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Over the past two years, we've tried about every product management solution under the sun. While many have been good, we hadn't found the best solution for *us* (a small team, 3 product people, 5 engineers). This is the first solution that's been adopted by the entire team, a big part due to the easy shared inbox for customer insights.

Pros:

In order of benefit, here's what I like most so far about Productboard: (1) Aggregating product insights / customer requirements across all of our inboxes + Slack into one place (2) Ability to build a quarterly roadmap w/ existing tickets in Jira + w/ ability to write new features back to Jira as tickets (3) Ability to outline all of the components of our platform w/ features under each component - something we've never had before.

Cons:

Some small nit-picks around interactions (eg. bulk selecting rows), but so far customer support has responded instantly to guide me in right direction.

Eric
Eric
Chief Product Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simplest way for sophisticated insight consolidation, prioritization, and roadmap management

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We had an alignment and communication problem that we had to solve. Plain and simply, productboard gives us a clear way to communicate and collaborate on our product roadmap. And gives our team insight into how we think about and prioritize initiatives.

Pros:

Consolidating insights from myself, our customers, and our team. I also really like the different views I can create and ways I can prioritize things by release and various scores. The public feedback forum is also really, really nice. Then the beautiful roadmap view is just icing on the cake.

Cons:

Doesn't integrate to Clubhouse, which we are moving to from JIRA. We also didn't use the JIRA integration because we were on New JIRA. Which is why we are now on Clubhouse, which I'll save for another review. Also, I feel there are a couple of elements missing when looking at reporting and ongoing maintenance of tickets... but that's hard, and is probably something they're thinking about.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Terrible Search, Terrible UI, Unstructured Data

2.0 last year

Comments: Migrated from Canny to Productboard. Canny is far and above an easier to use, more pleasant, effective solution for feedback management

Pros:

- Logging in with SSO integration was easy.- You can use it to capture product feedback, even though there are much better tools out there.- Integrates with Zendesk

Cons:

Where to begin???- 3 different search boxes, no unified search.There's one search for views, one search for notes, and another for topics that notes are about.This makes it slow, and difficult to know what search to use at what time.- Data is unstructuredAs far as I can tell, notes don't seem to have ability to have custom fields. Leads to ton of unstructured and poorly searchable data.- The user interfaceThere's no hierarchy to data. The UI/views are overwhelming, and feel disorganized. It's like the worst email inbox or notes app imaginable for complex feedback + data.- Votes on product feedback populate as distinct notes Makes the already bad search even harder to use

Kaan
Product Manager in Türkiye
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A simple yet powerful tool for managing and communicating the product roadmap

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Productboard did enable us to create a manageable, customer value driven product roadmap that is in alignment with our corporate objectives and product vision. The communication of our product roadmap to different stakeholders is much easier now thanks to the customizable and stunning views.

Pros:

Productboard has a very easy to use user interface, but still manages to provide you the functionality of customizable views with its powerful aggregations, filters, tags and view options. With the insights feature of productboard, it is very easy to parse the ideas and requirements of customers to product features and keep track of the customer demand for each feature in detail. The beautiful roadmap views which you can export for presentations are also a real timesaver.

Cons:

An internal file viewer for common file formats (e.g. pdf, doc, xls) is needed for attachments. It would be preferred if the internal insights could be seperated from customer insights when calculating the user impact score which we utilize to measure the customer demand of features.

Jeff
Product Strategist in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fills a major hole in most product development toolbelts

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Most product and project management tools focus on 3 views: roadmap of what's ahead, kanban view of what's currently in motion, and backlog of all the things you could possibly do. What's majorly lacking in almost all of these tools is the toolset to effectively prioritize the items that go into each of those views. What you're left with is a giant list of things to do and a lot of supplemental tools (xls files, gannt tools, etc.) to try and do prioritization work. The whole point of product development is to figure out what the highest value things could be getting worked on and when/why, and thus, by focusing on "here's what is being worked on" over "here's what we should be working on and why", many other tools largely miss the mark. ProductBoard's tools are custom built to solve the prioritization problem - you can choose company objectives, track customer segments & customers, score features by value/effort, and then slice & dice these things all sorts of different ways in order to best determine the right work to focus on when. At its core, it feels like software that was designed by and for product managers, which is refreshing when compared to other tools in the space that feel like they were designed for the abstract goal of "getting things done".

Pros:

* At it's core, it's just a well designed & enjoyable piece of software to use every day. * Its prioritization toolset allows you to effectively sort/filter/schedule features along all sorts of different dimensions in a way that no other tool I've seen allows for. * Its "insights" inbox allows you to way more effectively manage the influx of requests/feedback than other tools.

Cons:

* Though the tool is easy to use, getting started can be tricky because of needing to figure out how best to map your product to the very flexible data model that ProductBoard allows for. * I wish it had more integrations and/or a public api for syncing engineering tasks - it connects to the big ones (Jira/Pivotal/Trello) really nicely, but many folks use other tools.

Marc
Product Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It's simply a joy to use every single day!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: ProductBoard helps our multiple teams stay aligned. We have visibility of what each team is working on and can quickly see where there are overlaps. It helps us keep feedback all in one place and not lost across endless Google Docs/Sheets

Pros:

The design and UX of the app makes using ProductBoard on a daily basis super easy and enjoyable. Creating custom views that you can call up when you need to is great. But the most powerful part of ProductBoard is being able to highlight specific parts of a users feedback and easily attaching it to the relevant feature idea, while still being able to jump to the full feedback if you need more context. On top of that the Portal view for customers is beautiful and we've found that this really encourages users to provide more detailed feedback, instead of some other solutions out there that just relies on voting

Cons:

Not much! There's only a small number of features that would help improve things. Critically the ability to hook up to something like Segment to push more live customer data across. Also being able to have conversations directly to customers would help smooth out those times when you need that extra bit of detail on their insight to truly understand their pain.

Seth
Product Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Helps tell our product story

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This is helping us prioritize our features. A little help on our bandwidth and if we have the pipeline full. This helps us have a clean deliverable to stake holders. Very easy portal feature to better engage company and clients. Helping us manage our large client feedback pool from multiple sources.

Pros:

Very visual. It can handle the large influx of customer feedback and help funnel that to the right part of our product. Helps other departments feel involved in the product evolution and road map. Great way to keep people in the loop to what we have cookin. Love the portal aspect. Very powerful feature set there. Can't wait to engage our client based with a full portal of where we are going, where we are, and where we've been. Easy self on boarding. Great sales process. Great overall.

Cons:

Not too many cons yet. I don't anticipate too many. Not sure how fast they crank out new features yet.

Ewan
Ewan
Product Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Saved us from accumulating insights and doing nothing with them

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has helped us move on from the disparate storage of customer insights which we were accumulating but not putting to use. It's now the primarily a tool we use to inform our roadm map and has very strong features to help you align with overall strategy.

Pros:

We can channel Slack messages, support tickets and input from across all our teams to one central location.

Cons:

The reporting is very customisable and you can reach in and grab data quite easily, the only limitation we found is between customer insights and their assigned customer segment, for example, an option to present the priority of feature requests over an entire customer segment isn't readily available.

Hayley
Product Team Lead in UK
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool for centralising product information

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

A place to put all the feedback where it won't get lost and forgotten since it can be linked to specific features and used to inform planning.

Cons:

Nothing major. There are features we'd appreciate in future like objectives on timelines, user story mapping, etc but they're not vital.

Rachid
Rachid
Sales executive in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Productboard

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: With productboard you can make your marketing strategies and minimizing risks and benefiting of time.

Pros:

The workflow management because it helps to minimize risks and eliminating repetitive tasks.

Cons:

The least option I liked about productboard was the collaboration tools.

Stephen
Software Product Change Agent and Leader in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A framework for product discovery

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We're essentially a startup that's trying to figure out its roadmap in tandem with some big customers. This seems to be the tool we need in order to establish those internally, as well as communicate with the clients.

Pros:

A great way to communicate and negotiate your roadmap with stakeholders. Ability to tie direct feedback from users to specific features.

Cons:

Would love more out-of-the-box integrations with work ticket tracking tools (we use Clubhouse). Also would love a free single-user level that let me experiment with ideas before I bring new people in.

Nicolay
Product Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We evaluated a number of products before choosing producboard. One of the best decisions we've made!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I wanted to save this for last, but I'd hate myself if people didn't read it because of my lengthy post. productboard is beautiful, simple and extremely powerful! As our products matured, and our customer base grew, there was never a shortage of customer feedback and ideas on how to improve (or introduce new) features. Our backlog (in Jira) was growing, and processing feedback (categorising, evaluating, prioritising) was becoming a cumbersome (if not impossible) task. It was hard to collate feedback on the same feature and/or trace it back to the customers who requested it. As we were seeking to embrace a Dual-Track Agile approach to how we do product development, we needed a tool that powers our Discovery stage. We found it in productboard. It allows us to easily assign new ideas/feedback to the respective feature. productboard generates a user score based on frequency and importance. You can also map the features to different customer segments, strategic drivers and any other custom fields you need. Map your features to releases and voila, productboard generates a stylish, digestible roadmap. Even better - two clicks on the roadmap view, and you can drill down to the original feedback. No more 'Oh, where did this come from?' Brilliant! Very importantly, productboard works well with your ecosystem. We kept our existing feedback forms (Google Form) and use Zapier to sync them with productboard. We also use the Jira and Slack integrations. They work awesome!

Cons:

At some stage we'd like to drop our Google Form, and start collecting feedback in-app. And while product board already makes it convenient to collect feedback from Intercom conversations, it might make it easier for some customers if they had a simple, embeddable form. Another challenge product board needs to think about is related to closing the feedback loop, i.e. feeding information back to the original requestors. Whether it's via a portal, or an integration with a customer engagement product (like Intercom), that would be a powerful addition. That said, these are currently nice-to-haves for our business.

Timoté
Head of Product & Marketing in Belgium
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Clear and structured way to track product related activities

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Clear and structured way to track product related activities

Pros:

- Very simple to implement - Help to build transparency across the organisation and customers - Very efficient to track product activities

Cons:

- Miss an integration with Gitlab - Pretty weak on the customer feedback management

Marcin
Head of Product and Strategy in Poland
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Productboard - good "core" for the product management teat

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

- ability to gather, tag and process insights from both clients and internal staff - semi automatic prioritization - ability to create public roadmaps for clients without duplicating the inputs for them (however this is tricky, as it requires from you to keep internal notes very clean and "client ready") - well working integration with jira (two way sync)

Cons:

- To use it properly you must work using objectives, which for some features may be tricky - the features dependencies are limited to "blocks / is blocked", misses quite important one "shall be developed in parallel with" - jira integration is not visible from jira (when I browse jira project I don't know that certain task was linked with productboard)

Jessy
IT Manager and Client Success Partner in Philippines
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

This is one of my favorite tool.

4.0 last year

Pros:

Productboard makes it simple for teams to review and plan improvements to their products in order to achieve the company's goals. It is simple to enter ideas, notes, and plans into the system, allowing teams to grow and move forward rather than simply thinking about what they should do. To begin, teams may just use the most important features of productboard, gradually incorporating more of it into their workflow. It's not difficult to get ideas and backlogs into productboard, and seeing the development may be gratifying.

Cons:

At times, the quantity of customization choices offered might be daunting. It would be beneficial if there was a feature that allowed you to reuse specific processes and features across views. Because there are so many different ways to achieve everything, I frequently wonder if I'm doing it correctly.

Inga
Product Analyst in Ukraine
Broadcast Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Constant feedback and feature management

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I'm amazed by productboard UX that is totally covering the needs of PMs. And, eventually, the needs of the users. We can easily track all the insights and convert them to features. Amazing customer service btw.

Cons:

Hm..have nothing bad to say about it. I'm using it around a year now and have never experienced any issue.

David
CEO in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic. Been using productboard for about 1 month and am loving it.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Beautifully designed. Easy to get started and learn, yet lot's of depth to the features. So hard to single out things I like the most because almost everything is top notch and a delight. One very useful thing is how it maintains a link between features and the customer input/feedback linked to those features so the team can look back at the genesis of an idea and understand the full context. A superb little touch is a one click export of email addresses for everyone whose input is linked to a feature so you can reach out to them quickly to ask for more input, or let them know that their requested feature is available.

Cons:

There are a couple of tweaks I'd love to make to help with workflow: allow contributors to add/suggest tags and changes to fields like Effort, and allow them to adjust/customize their own views of the feature board. I don't want to make them full-fledged editors, because I don't want them to be able to edit other fields. An alternative would be to grant more granular access control to editors so that you can prevent them from making certain changes; or at least to require the product manager's approval after suggesting changes.

Michael
Senior Director of Product in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product to prioritze your roadmap and features leveraging data from customer interactions

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has helped us to prioritize more objectively and get on the same page, and make sure all the feedback we got from customers was being used effectively in our process.

Pros:

Ability to organizing feedback and relate that feedback from a customer and its importance to features. This allows us to trace back feedback and see it in context when prioritizing roadmap. This combined with the other prioritization features have made it the best overall tool I have found for prioritizing roadmap based on multiple factors then ability to prioritize features based on multiple factors

Cons:

Nothing particularly negative, though I could see challenges scaling at a very large organization and there are a number of feature enhancements I would like to improve the value I get from it.

Lise
Product Manager in France
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to collect feedback and help in prioritization and discovery

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It helps me prioritize my development by collecting feedback from the CS team and classifying them into relevant job stories and contact the right user to investigate a specific topic. It is really part of my daily job !

Pros:

Productboard is friendly and easy to use, and really helps me keep track of the feedback our teams and myself collect from the customer. Thanks to the various integration I can never miss feedbacks: - Salesforce integration helps us keep track of lost deals - Slack integration helps us keep track of feedback shared during a conversation between teammates - Intercom integration send us what is collected via the support And then of course our dear CS and Sales team help us by writing notes after talking to our customers!

Cons:

I can spend a lot of time reviewing the insights and assigning them to the right collection ... but I mean better more customer feedback than not so it's not really a problem

Kasey
Senior Product Manager in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing for roadmap management!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to create and maintain roadmaps for all of our products (web, apps, internal tools).

Cons:

It would be great to have more exporting options, i.e. ability to customize text size, number of sprints shown, etc.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to give feedback about product

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The experience using productboard is great. It is one of the easiest way to stay on track and updated in terms of advancement of all works around product. Also great to collect and categorize feedbacks.

Pros:

We are using productboard to collaborate with our product team. It's an amazing tool you can use to give and share feedback. You can integrate it with many other tool like Slack to push things forward. They also use it to share the product map with us. We are able to see in a form of a timeline, what's under key development right now and where it's going. We can see and view priorities together.

Cons:

The integration lists is quite short, though as for us we mainly add it to Slack for the Customer Support team. It comes in super handy to share feedback and have it fall in the right "product" category.

MELANIE
Senior Production Manager in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intelligent + Intuitive

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Love it. It's giving me an easy and centralized place to gather all the information about my product for the team and stakeholders, and creates a more streamlined way to plan our roadmap.

Pros:

The way the software works is very intuitive for a Product Manager, and feels as if someone was inside my head when they built the software. It has smart features that accomplish things other products or spreadsheets never could. The ability to link and adjust different views for different audiences is very helpful. Insights tool is in and of itself valuable in linking different email chains or conversations to single features or requests.

Cons:

Jira integration could use some work. It seems a bit too simple sometimes and I wish there were more fields that I could set in Productboar because it's not super seamless to push a ticket - always need to go into Jira and finish everything up.

Peter
Product Manager in Denmark
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A no-brainer for PMs in start ups and mid-sized companies

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

A structured place for user insights, that linked to features keeps reminding me off ALL of our insights, and not just the last 10-15 discovered. A flexible, powerful way to organise features, which can be viewed and filtered in many ways that fits the context needed.

Cons:

It has a bit of a learning curve, but once passed you will never go back.

Dennis
Product Manager in Germany
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Greatest product for discovery

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Love it! Didn't see any similar tool yet that focusses that much on proceeding user's feedback.

Pros:

Easy integration into github/ jira etc and easy way to submit insights via email or chrome plugin. Besides, really great way of gathering feedback and not loosing any customer' feedback for certain features.

Cons:

Weak in project management (gantt-charts for managing classic software projects) - but for me this is fine, the tool is for discovery and more for agile projects.

Thomas
Co-founder in France
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Put in place our product management process and productBoard is a perfect fit!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It has helped us a lot driving our roadmap and is now mission critical.

Pros:

The way it helps driving data driven product management, with really easy ways to collect the information and choose what to do ... plus the customer support is just amazing

Cons:

Not working well on iPad ... but really that's all. Also a webhook and better zapier integration would help.