15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Unity

On-premise game engine that helps developers assemble assets, create games & experiences in 3D, manage crashes, and more.

Learn more about Unity

Pros:

One thing I like most about this software is the community use. Unity is used widely and there is huge technical support available from the community if there are any issues that need to be resolved.

Cons:

Unfortunately it is not enough for AAA project, and even smaller project can become too messy to be managed using Unity. The lack of more structured tool chain makes Unity a tool for amateur.

Unity ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Unity has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 834 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Unity before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (834)

Luis Daniel
Luis Daniel
Lead Application Developer in Puerto Rico
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Unity's for you!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love it and use it daily to work on my own game. I have been with Unity for 4 years now and it's an amazing engine and getting better by the day. It's so easy a lot of people flip game/apps with how easy to use. I don't endorse that but it gives you an idea of how easy anyone can pick it up and build something.

Pros:

Unity is one of the most easiest engines to use if you're starting with game development. Also if you previously have a C# background, it will be a breeze. The UI is simple but that can also be one it's downfalls. It's a lot inspector/tabs based but it's full-fledged. It's light and it's not as complex to work with like other engines. You can easily follow tutorials online to build games for it, and also Unity it's one of the best engines to build mobiles games if that's one of your desires. Compared to other engines like Unreal Engine, it's easy with Unity to find online support or groups of people that work with the engine and have tutorials. You can look for people on Youtube like Brackeys that can help you get started on your journey of game dev. Unity is free and has some paid tiers that offer a bit more flexibilities in some features, so look at them and take what you need.

Cons:

I wish the paid tiers were a little cheaper and the subscription model could be month-to-month and can be canceled any time. One of the main reasons why I haven't got Unity Pro/Plus it's because my life cna be abrupt a lot of the times and I might need to cancel or pause the subscription, but they don't allow you to do that. Becuase if you're an indy dev, you have to do a lot of expenses and keep track of things. I really wish they did that. Also for full 3D games and really complex ones, Unreal engine is more powerful due to it's C++ nature.

Michael
Game Developer in US
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Intuitive Game Development Environment

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: I've loved working in this engine for the past 8 years or so -- adding scripts to game objects naturally mirrors the MVC design pattern to an extent. It feels just like putting brains inside bodies, and the whole process is a bit like creating lots of little tiny robot workers to do your job for you and talk to each other. It's as intuitive as playing Checkers; anyone who understands the bare essentials of programming with for loops, if statements, and so forth will have no trouble picking this up. Scripts are small and self-contained -- I rarely write one over 400 lines long, and many are under 200 lines. I've put out a number of casual games with it. Prefabs are useful also -- think of them as visual Classes that you instantiate. You create a game object, put whatever you want on it (scripts, components, children, whatever), drag it anywhere into the window on the bottom center, and it becomes a "factory" that can make copies of itself. One of my favorite code features is the concept of Coroutines -- Unity's way of writing asynchronous methods with a specified delay between one part of a method and another. Want to write an infinite loop that doesn't jam up your processor? No problem -- just create a Coroutine method (type IEnumerator) and add a "yield return new WaitForSeconds (0.5f);" statement inside that loop and it will only iterate every half-second, for example. Unfortunately, cryptic errors outside of my code tend to pop up from time to time, but those usually go away with exiting and reopening Unity. It's also quite a process to migrate your code to a mac for iOS distribution, but isn't it always? Overall, despite the little bugs, slow load times, and over-reliance on plugins, it's a great engine for your 2D or 3D (with each having their own physics systems) game development needs.

Pros:

-Very easy to grasp the game object / component / script system. -Simple to switch between platforms -C# is a high level language, easy for beginners and advanced programmers to pick up. -Automatic garbage collection (but you still need to make sure it's invoked sparingly) -Great break point debugging system with Visual Studio

Cons:

-Bloated, slow, and mildly buggy -Plugins will often conflict with each other and give duplicate library errors when building for iOS -Over-reliance on plugins -Not great for web games; OpenGL is extremely slow to load, and it's like Unicron, devouring browser memory

Namgay
Manager in Bhutan
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unity software development review

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall I had a great experience. It is convenient to use it in multiple platform including mobile devices, consoles, and PCs.

Pros:

Provides with wide range of tool and features for game development, that’s one of the most important thing any game developer needs

Cons:

Although Unity is capable of producing high-quality graphics and performance, Certain games and app have low visual compared to other engine.

David
Developer in US
Computer Games, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It really was good, but that was years ago

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Beginning to use Unity for our largest game to date at first seemed like a good decision but in the end turned out to be a tremendously damaging mistake. The version control systems broke entire project folders multiple times. The conversion formats were never transferable. It's not out of the question that Unity's lackadaisical attitude towards Nintendo's Wii U editor prevented hundreds of titles from releasing on that platform (they ended up two years behind schedule of making a functional version for Wii U development). When Windows 10 started force-installing, Unity did not have functional support for Windows 10 for far too long. When trying to use Unity again (of course outside of commercial games, because it's too unstable in my opinion for those) in game jams, it's routinely been put to shame because of being unusable even by experienced Unity developers.

Pros:

When I first began using Unity, it was during Unity 4 and I considered it a wonderful editor to make 3D games. I greatly preferred the Unity approach at the time relative to Unreal. I initially learned how to use Unity by making a horror game for a 48-hour game jam over New Year's.

Cons:

Unity these days is plagued by bugs and I haven't considered Unity "stable" in several years. The company routinely has glaring issues reported by users for years in a row without addressing them, instead opting to add new features, despite the underlying tech not working in the first place. Unity at this point is over-engineered, deeply unstable, and not even optimal in terms of features and usability compared to competitors.

Juan
Multimedia Production Specialist in Honduras
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My First Game Creation

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: I was able to create a pixel art game with a team of two. Collaborating remotely during the pandemic.

Pros:

It is easy to find tutorials online, and even Unity has a lot of tutorials to easily learn to create different styles of video games.

Cons:

For the moment I have no complaints about the software.

Nabin
Nabin
CEO in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Develop amazing, immersive and interactive 3D games

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Unity is the leading game development engine that allows game development for major operating systems.

Pros:

Games built on Unity can be exported for Windows, Linux, OSx, iOS, Android, Playstation, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, and popular AR and VR devices. Comes with a real-time 3D rendering capability and supports programing on C#. There is a free version for individuals and students making it more accessible to the starters.

Cons:

Features like render textures and stencil buffer support are expensive. Difficult to optimize large games for performance. The longer learning curve with an old-fashioned user interface.

Sujata
Influencer in UK
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for 3D animation

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Unity has been beneficial for us for AR purposes for a long time now and we also love the quality renders and top notch graphics of the particles to use in a project. However, there is still room for some improvements.

Pros:

Most impressive feature of Unity is its high quality of the particle system. The graphics of renders and the lightings of the animations are top notch. We mostly use Unity for AR purposes and it is most impressive among its competitors.

Cons:

One con is the complex coding in the software which could be difficult for a first timer or a non-coder and sometimes the projects become very large sized but other that that it has been most useful for us.

Ajay kumar
Mobile App developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Beginner friendly App development platform

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I am android and iOS Application developer. My first android game developed in Unity. It is very comfortable to develop the small types of games and beginner friendly. But my opinion very hard to create objects from Unity.

Pros:

I am using paid version of Application really it is very easy to use and more comfortable code editor. Actually my firs application in Unity from my college days. It is more comfortable for new android game developers.

Cons:

I am facing more struggle creating Object but other wise overall platform is very nice to develop android application and games.

Md Ashfak
Md Ashfak
CEO in Bangladesh
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great game development engine for 3d Projects

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall it's a good engine for creating 3D and 2D games. But it'd be better if they simplified the functions and added more options so that a no-coder can easily work on it.

Pros:

The best thing about Unity is its asset store, Standard asset packs that are free and a great starting point for creating prototypes.

Cons:

There are too many functions, a bit challenging to use, different rendering pipelines that make some assets not work correctly, and some bugs that can make anybody super frustrated.

Rajvardhan
Student in India
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review of Unity Software

5.0 last month New

Comments: My overall experience with Unity has been positive. It offers a powerful set of tools, though I've found the learning curve steep at times. Overall, it's been rewarding to work with.

Pros:

I appreciate Unity's versatility, ease of use, and supportive community, making game development accessible and enjoyable for creators of all levels.

Cons:

While Unity is generally robust, I've occasionally encountered performance issues and found its learning curve steep at times. Additionally, debugging can be time-consuming.

Aleksandra
Aleksandra
Freelancer in Poland
Arts & Crafts, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Unifying workflow

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Regardless of the issues, Unity is a great starting point for beginners and professional studios, as well as for everyone who wants the simplicity in creating their own software. Chosen by many indie developers, Unity has provided me almost everything I needed to start creating my own game, and in less than a week from installation I had a basic system for the game ready for further development; all that with no prior experience in C# or Unity.

Pros:

Unity handles all the files needed for creating software as well as game development. It's a powerful and customizable engine allowing to bring any creation into the world. Integration with the Asset Store allows anyone to choose from thousands of development-ready files, and provides a lot of them completely free of charge. Thanks to its tools there's no need for expensive plugins to create and export textures or 3D rigs, everything is available straight from the application.

Cons:

In recent releases, Unity dropped the support of the pre-packaged code editor, MonoDevelop and replaced it with Visual Studio. For many users, including myself, that's a big issue, as Visual Studio's performance makes it impossible to create code on the go, when using less powerful hardware. MonoDevelop still can be accessed and integrated with Unity but the hassle with installing the crucial tool that is no longer updated may become a big turn off for many. The UI feels quite outdated for the program that is updated so often. Some things just don't work or don't make sense and it's hard to find any information regarding why.

Gareth
Gareth
Web Developer in UK
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unified game development framework and IDE

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Does an awful lot for you in terms of game development while still giving the developer options such as how much to define in code or via the UI.

Pros:

Good integration with Visual Studio (the scripting language is C#). Takes care of scene management and the entity component model while providing enough that can be controlled via the UI that non-coders can get working results. Excellent documentation and new user on-boarding with lots of tutorial and starter content and assets.

Cons:

Would be great to have a built in paint program for creating quick placeholder sprites when prototyping 2D games. In the latest version a lot of the 2D tools need to be installed via the package manager (such as 2D Sprite Editor and Tilemap) even when the project has already been defined as 2D - would be better if there was another project type which had these pre-installed.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great engine for small to mid-range project

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We had a great time working on Unity, we pushed the engine to its limit at the time and this allowed us to be featured in many show at Unity's booth. However, as we switched to Unreal3D for the following project, we found a better fit for our needs in that engine. Unity would still be perfect if we had to go work on a less demanding project, less demanding platform and/or 2D projects.

Pros:

Unity3D is an easy to understand engine, with an intuitive organisation that allow any new developer to get a grip quickly on a new project. Things are getting more complicated as you progress, but support from the community of users makes it easier. The architecture of the folders is simple and allow raw assets to get along easily with integrated ones. This engine is perfect for 2D project and coming up with a prototype in a quick and efficient manner. Starting a 3D project will require more time and optimizations, but the latest versions of the engine are getting better at this.

Cons:

The main challenge we encountered with our project on Unity was, at the time, the port of the game to consoles. It was very demanding and a lot of updates on the engine were breaking TRC/XR, meaning that we had to wait for fixes before being able to send the builds to console manufacturers and get them certified. On top of that, the engine is trying to compete with other advanced 3D engines, but lack the optimization and "game oriented" architecture that you can find in the heart of other known engines available on the market. This is a great engine for small/mid-ranged project but should be avoided for bigger project that would involve advanced 3D rendering.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dreams comes True with Unity 3D

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I always wanted to do game development though I am not in the field of Computer related Engineering but still Unity helped me a lot to make my dream come true. I use it not everyday but atleast in a week and have developed so many basic and some mid-range games in which mostly games are 3d open world, so I can say that making an open world game is really more preferable with Unity 3d. I would suggest every newbie to try Unity atleast once if he just wants to develop a game for not a big purpose. Though testing the Unity games on an android device is quite harmful as it may drain battery because Unity 3d cannot export the optimized game for all devices. So many big companies are using Unity 3d for big purpose too but they have a team of specialists who knows coding really well but an indie developer can't do any big with Unity but can surely try his hands on it.

Pros:

I have always had a passion of Game development and was so much interested in making my own game for fun, Unity 3d helped me a lot doing this in last few years. Unity 3D is one of the best Game Development Engine out there which is open for everyone. The download and setup for Unity 3D is really easy. Unity 3d doesn't require a much memory though to keep it working on a flow we should have atleast 8gb of ram. Unity 3d supports almost every 3d model format. There are a lot of features already present in Unity 3d like to make a terrain or a plain and there are almost every essential geometrical shapes present. Unity 3d has a Professional-looking User interface which makes the work even more exciting. Unity 3d has an asset store from where we can get so many useful models, animations, scripts etc which are quite helpful in quick development purpose. Though there is a lot of work to do in game development to get the best outcome, Unity makes every outcome worth the effort and atleast satisfies us. The best part of Unity 3d is that it can export the game project to a windows .exe file, android app file and for so many other platforms including Consoles. With Unity 3d, we can make 3d as well as basic and even advanced 2d games which are more interesting though requires a hard and detailed work. Unity 3d has the power that so many big company names are developing Battle Rpyale Games with it. Unity 3d Games are quite easy to load and hence gives a high quality output.

Cons:

Although Unity 3d has a professional user interface but it's way of working that is C# coding is pretty much tough and requires a good coder though it is a problem only if you target to develop a unique and a big game. Unity 3d has almost all the amazing features but the output sometimes doesn't worth it(not always), as per as my own personal experience I can say that the games made with Unity 3d are not well optimized to work in different types of devices and especially if we are exporting the game project to work on Android, it is not that much optimized which results in battery drain of some devices though this bad affect is nearly negligible in a new and powerful Android device. Unity has an asset store which is useful but the prices are like bad jokes to the newbies in Game development and for small businesses too, the prices are really high. The setup of Unity for basic use is simple but to export the game projects to Android, it is quite difficult to set everything up. Sometimes it can't support the high texturized models or can't optimize the overall game to work fluent with those models.

Abhishek
Founder in India
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best engines for game development

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is brilliant. And since it is free so I believe that any newcomer to the game Industry can take advantage of the game engine and move ahead

Pros:

There are many pros to start with. In my opinion,the biggest pro is the number of users using the engine itself. (The maximum games submitted for game jams are made using unity). This has enormous advantages:- if you encounter any issues then probability is high that it's solution will be there on the net itself. Other advantages are :- 1.) the company is a billions dollars industry. So you can be assured of its future 2.) The free version is available which is as powerful as paid one (it costs to remove the unity logo) 3.) Many features are being added (either by developing itself or acquiring from third party) 4.) Bolt,a utility for click and code development is now available for unity at no extra cost, even for free version 5.) Roadmap is very promising 6.) Has been used for many hit games 7.) Most important:- the game size generated is quite small as compared to unreal engine 8.) Uses C#(for some this may be a disadvantage) 9.) Dark version is now available with free version

Cons:

Engine is powerful but comes with few cons also 1.) Many face issues with C#(it is not as flexible as C++) 2.) UI in my opinion is quite tricky 3.) They sometimes itself get confused on roadmap of unity itself( they promised visual based code development environment but then suddenly they purchased bolt ) 4.) Access to engine source code is not available easily( but this will be demanded only by a small section of game developers) Otherwise the engine is fine

Jose
Jose
Geology in Ecuador
Verified LinkedIn User
Renewables & Environment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Building virtual worlds: Game development with Unity

5.0 last year

Comments: In general, the Unity user experience is very positive for game development. Unity is a very complete tool that allows you to create high-quality games efficiently and with a wide variety of customization options. Also, the user interface is very intuitive and easy to learn, making it easy for beginners and experienced developers to use.

Pros:

Unity is a very versatile and powerful game development tool that offers a wide range of features and functionality for creating high-quality games. Here are some of the things that make Unity one of the best game engines:Cross-platform: Unity allows you to create games that run on a wide variety of platforms, including PC, consoles, mobile devices, and virtual reality.Ease of Use: Unity is easy to use and has a wealth of online resources and documentation that make it accessible to developers of all levels.Customization: Unity allows you to customize the engine to meet the specific needs of your project, from creating custom scripts to integrating third-party tools.High-quality graphics: Unity offers a wide variety of tools and effects to create high-quality, realistic graphics.Community: Unity has a large community of developers online who can help you with any issues you encounter and offer tips and resources to improve your games.

Cons:

Although Unity is a very powerful and popular game development tool, it also has some limitations and drawbacks that you should be aware of:Learning Curve: Although Unity is easy to use, it can take time to learn all of its advanced features and tools. If you are new to game development, it may take time for you to adjust to the Unity framework.Performance: Although Unity is very powerful, it can have performance issues in complex and highly detailed projects. This may require additional optimization and it is important to take into account the hardware limitations of the target platform.License: Although Unity offers a free version, its features are limited and you need to pay for a license to access more advanced tools and additional features.Incompatibility: Unity is not compatible with all operating systems, which may limit your ability to create games for specific platforms.Third-party dependency: Unity depends on some third-party plugins and resources to deliver certain features, which can lead to compatibility and dependency issues.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An incredibly easy to use piece of kit. A truly expansive and versatile engine.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It encouraged me to learn a new skill while I was a teen, programming. This is incredible useful and I have been using it since to create applications and even prototypes within the Unity engine.

Pros:

Where do I start with this incredible software. Firstly, would be the scripting capability within the engine. It uses C# which is a managed language based on the .NET framework. This underlying framework in conjunction with the Unity API introduces a lot of useful features for keeping your code clean and concise while also being highly performant. This also includes the ability to create custom editor windows within the Unity Editor which can be customised to fit a specific need, streamlining your workflow. Secondly would be the newly introduced High Definition and Lightweight pipelines. They are preset way of rendering the screen which can either produce high fidelity graphics if you are targeting high end platforms or can be used for a more simplistic look if you are targeting low end mobile phones and tablets. These are highly expandable and can be adapted on a per-project basis to get just the look that you want. Thirdly would be the massive array of platforms that Unity can export your game to. This includes but is not limited to, PC/Mac/Linux, Android/iOS as well as consoles soon including the Switch among others. This allows you to quickly deploy to different platforms so they can be uploaded to the cloud and downloaded by your players.

Cons:

Unfortunately, a piece of kit this large is not without its drawbacks. One of these being that the dark theme can only be accessed by those holding a Unity Plus subscription. This means that those with slightly poorer eye sight may struggle to read the text throughout the user interface. Another con would be that currently, the Unity interface does not currently scale in size when used on high resolution monitors. This leads to an incredibly hard to read user interface and can become very straining on the eyes after just a short session. However this is soon to be fixed in an upcoming Unity version.

Angelo
Angelo
Game Developer in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most complete game engine

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Unity is more than satisfactory. I was able to develop and publish a handful of games, from a simple hyper-casual game to an elaborated multiplayer online game. Unity has given me the possibility to live developing games and although it's not always perfect it is very, very close.

Pros:

Since its conception Unity has opened the game industry doors for everybody. What seemed to be a very distant dream has become a reality. And with the advent of the indie developers, Unity has been raising the bar even further, launching world-class features, pumping the engine with AAA quality tools. What I like most in Unity is the mission to "democratize" game development, enabling developers to create from the most simple to the most robust game. With its Asset Store, it is possible to extend the engine's functionality and there are plugins that allow users to develop games without writing a single code.

Cons:

Creating simple games is quite easy in Unity, there are tons of materials online and they even offer courses. But to take bigger steps it's another story. Although having tools that allow development without writing a single code, it's difficult to be able to deploy a high-quality game if you don't know computer science. And because Unity focuses too much energy advertising for starter users, there's not much quality material and courses for intermediate users who wants to take that higher step.

Lee
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Is unity the best Game engine?

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: When I was considering a game engine for my projects I looked at several different engines such as Unity, Unreal, and CryEngine. By far the easiest engine to use was Unity. There were many people telling me that Unreal would offer better graphics capability but with the advances to the Unity platform, it is getting to pretty even. With the new pipelines that Unity has in place, a developer can choose the pipeline that makes sense for the type of game they want to build. From tiny games to full-featured high-end games Unity has an option for the pipeline. Overall, I am very happy with the Unity platform and will continue to use it for my development projects. I particularly like that with the available paid assets in the asset store even if you can’t program very well you can get a visual scripting extension and still make a complete game using node-based programming.

Pros:

Pros Unity is really easy to get started with. There are a number of tutorials online made by Unity that allow you to learn while doing. The game engine has access to an asset store that currently has many free assets available for download to use in your projects. Over the past few years, Unity is continuing to develop a better engine with more tools to help developers make great games no matter the skill level.

Cons:

Cons It’s not really a Con but if you create a product that nets you more than $100,000 in revenue you have to upgrade to plus or pro versions that have a monthly fee to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Experienced user

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I believe most of the things I've already mentioned in the Pros text box but as an addition, i can say that I've done quite a number of games using this engine and it never failed me, neither the engine nor the community. I have amazing respect for the teams behind this engine as their work can surely be seen with each update they come. It's an amazing engine that i highly recommend.

Pros:

Playing with Unity for a bit over 3 years I've managed to fiddle with everything this engine has. Was able to check its progress update after update and I must say that they deliver what they promise. It's an easy to learn piece of software with an amazing community behind and lots of places to learn how to master it. Almost every idea that comes to mind can be implemented with ease in Unity. I said almost because it's a mature engine with a great number of features that might not be good for small projects and could only cause overhead, minus that is now out of the question with Unity Tiny. In the end all i can say is that it's a gorgeous software that is only getting better.

Cons:

There were things that dragged Unity down in the past but with each progressive update they fixed their flaws or are fixing as we speak, so in the end, i cannot say that there are any major things i do not enjoy in using Unity.

Ali
Ali
Unity Developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Animation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A fantastic, fairly simple game engine with tons of scope and potential

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience with Unity has been very, very good. I have used it in a wide variety of jobs and sectors, from mobile apps and PC games, to conventional software and animation demos. It is easy with a small learning curve and there is so much potential to use Unity to build just about anything, it's a pleasure to use.

Pros:

What I like most about using Unity are two main things. The first thing is its sheer ease-of-use - it's quick and easy to build playable prototypes and work that can be debugged in real time, thanks to its component system and C# IDE integration. The second thing is that there is tons of potential to make just about any software or app using Unity, despite it being primarily known as being a game engine. Mobile apps, conventional software and games are all easy to build using Unity.

Cons:

What I like least about this software is its occassional unreliability - particularly to do with compilation failures and occassional crashes when using external packages using its built in Package Manager. It is not always made obvious as to why crashes occur and why compilation is not always possible when using external packages and it can be difficult to debug at times. There is also no autosave feature that I'm aware of which is a problem.

Thomas
Game Dev in UK
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for 2D, Good for 3D, features are okay, pricing is mostly fine

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall its not as bad as some people will make it out to be. Its a strong competitor and having competition is good as it leads to quicker innovation and ultimately a better tool for developers. The pricing is great for smaller teams and if you dont like the runtime fee, simply use a version lower than the 2023 LTS one.

Pros:

The barrier to entry is £0. The personal subscription is free and you can (soon on the 2023 LTS version) make $200,000 with no fee. The runtime fee changes in 2024 shouldn't scare you as for most of us they are irrelevant and aren't bad at all. As for features, i find that its best for 2D games but has also improved a lot in the 3D department. This is also due for a further upgrade with Unity 6. The asset store is also huge and has all sorts of plugins, characters, templates, etc... that you can use how you'd like.

Cons:

There is more of a learning curve. The UI has been improved but some bits could do with more tweaking. Plus its C# with a not as good blueprint (no code) option compared to other game engines. This means that you will need to learn C# to a much higher degree and can make the learning curve quite high and slow.

Gorjan
Ass. Researcher in North Macedonia
Civic & Social Organization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unity is a must leading engine

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: My overall experience I would say four out of five. I am satisfied with using this engine and can't wait to see its changes and find new features.

Pros:

My experience using Unity dates back a long time ago since I started to gain some knowledge and skills in its area. This contemporary engine is built with passion and dedication in order to demonstrate a high level of capabilities and to open up as many opportunities as developers would wish, both in the path of building games or apps. If I have to pick only one thing that I love about Unity is definitely its clean design.

Cons:

From both my experience and my friends who have been using it for years, Unity (read UnityHub) is not something that I will recommend to a beginner, therefore it is quite a complicated system and requires a certain high level of knowledge. The company should be working on this issue.

Aniirudh
Graduate Research Assistant in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unity is simple yet powerful tool for developing cool VR games

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall great as it serves my purpose well.

Pros:

The learning curve is not very steep. This is the thing I like most about this product. It may not better when compared to Unreal Engine but the USP of Unity is that it is simple to use and yet can help us design cool VR games. I personally use it to design immersive VR engineering experiments for research and it is definitely serving the purpose. Especially with assets that can be just imported, Unity is a very useful and simple tool for everyday development.

Cons:

The cons are mostly not enough features as compared to Unreal Engine 5. Even though Unity is immersive, it's details when it comes to Ray tracing and other minute details are no match for Unreal. If Unity can improve its details and immersion, it can seriously compete with Unreal just because it's easier to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great game engine for small and large projects, in constant evolution and with a huge community.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Unity allowed me to easily try new concepts quickly without compromising a cent (like GM2 which is limited until you pay) and then, move from a simple concept to a full project easily. The code version storage (cloud) is perfect if you have a laptop and desktop so moving the code from one play to another can be done just with 2 clicks--literally, and it's integrated on the engine interface!

Pros:

Even without a visual scripting (like GMS or UE4), Unity is in my experience the easiest engine to learn. Additionally, newcomers can move really fast from creating simple games to more advanced creations. The documentation is really useful and installer includes Visual Studio which is just amazing for the task. Unlike other engines, Unity can run on older or less powerful machines (as dev or player). Also, the community is supportive, collaborative, lots of tutorials and documents can be found online.

Cons:

My only complain is how official tutorials are made. They are great to show the overall of the engine functionalities but not to understand the context of each element. It's more like step by step on how to achieve something instead of why are we using the stuff used on the tutorial to achieve it. They are useful, but they could go a lot deeper.