15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Smartstore

Smartstore is the leading open source DXP enterprise composable commerce platform in the ASP.NET world.

Learn more about Smartstore

Pros:

Importation of hundreds of products, following CSV instructions was successful.

Cons:

Product scrolling and another lag feeling in use.

Smartstore ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Smartstore has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 22 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Smartstore before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (22)

Marcel
Marcel
Electronic Engineer in Slovakia
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great e-commerce software, but not widely known

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Changing the colors and logos was easy, and the Smartstore platform has a great look and feel.We chose this program in part because we could add more coding to particular functionality we required.

Cons:

It is not a software that is widely used. Moving from other e-commerce platforms to is challenging. Scrolling through products and experiencing more slowness

Andre
Managing partner in Portugal
Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Endless customization

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: More user friendly, better design, better adaptability and a good ending.

Pros:

The Smartstore platform has an incredibly good aspect and design, was easy to change colors and logos. Having a .NET bacground was one of the reasons we chose, because we could add some extra coding to some features we wanted. But its customization of products (attributes, specifications, tags, grouping) is endeless and fitted wel on our products, specially on watch parts. Importation of hundreds of products, following CSV instructions was successful!

Cons:

Is is a little bit hard to change all the lists (payments, counties, taxes), very exhaustive. And the migration from local machine to a internet host was also difficult. When not in cache, .NET is sometimes slow.

Renick
CTO in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Solid e-commerce platform

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have never very big issues with Smartstore. It just worked. But because of the pricing we will not work with it anymore. Also the software stack is quite uncommon for an e-commerce solution.

Pros:

Smartstore has a lot of features. For the user it is easy to use. We used previous products from Smartstore before, and all of them were reliable. The Smartstore community seems may small, but is strong.

Cons:

Smartstore is quite expensive. The pricing model is intransparent for customers evaluating it (hidden prices on homepage). Also for smaller projects and companies the community edition may be too limited. For larger budgets it will be a solid platform to built on.

SmartStore AG Response

2 years ago

Hello Renick, your rating of 3 stars is unfortunately not what we are used to. We take very conscientious care of our customers and partners, so I would like to address what you are criticizing. You write "I never had any major problems with Smartstore. It just worked," which makes us very happy. Cost shouldn't be an issue either, as Smartstore is proven to be one of the best performing store systems on the market in terms of value for money. On the other hand, price is a relative thing if it's worth it, because fixed price and agility don't go together. In addition, Smartstore is open source and therefore free of charge. Costs only arise when support or individual developments are added. Your statement "The software stack is also quite unusual for an e-commerce solution" is not comprehensible. Smartstore is a Microsoft ASP.NET Core based system, what is unusual about it? We serve the high-end enterprise segment with our system and these companies are very happy with the "software stack". However, I want to thank you for your review. Not being noticed at all would be much worse.

Goran
CEO in Croatia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect solution for either B2B and B2C

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As a programmer I'm allways astonished how the system was well designed. Enterprise Edition has exactly everything you need for most demanding customers. Even community version very smoothly runs 10.000+ products, all kind of combinations, variations, bundles etc. We usually implement the system for mid companies (100+), integrating their local ERP with Smartstore.net and they are wery satisfied with solution.

Pros:

In most projects we had problems with product variations. Smartstore covered 95 percent of our needs. I'm allways surprised when customer asks for some obscure feature and then I realize that there is nothing to code - it's already implemented.

Cons:

Integrations to some payment gateways or shipping services weren't implemented at a time we needed, but community growths constantly so, i guess it will be solved in near future.

deba
deba
IT Support executive in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great ecommerce software…Just unlucky not to be popular

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I was fascinated at the depth of options available with this software. It was easy to use and reliable as well.

Pros:

I don’t use SmartStore.NET regularly but there was a client of mine that insisted I use it for her project because she was already used to the backend operations and needed continuity. That’s how I realized how much of a good software it actually was. It has a very responsive shop system and supports many languages including English, Germany. It is built on open source software. It was very easy to use and readily scalable. The interface is as good as any other e-commerce shop software and the transition is very smooth. It’s Inventory Management, Catalog Management, Channel Management, Customer Accounts creation capability, Data Security, Email Marketing support, Returns Management, Reviews Management, SEO Management, Shopping Cart management etc. were as good as most popular e-commerce service providers. The WYSIWYG editor makes it easy for a newbie to create any shop thus nullifying the absence of HTML and CSS knowledge.

Cons:

It is not a very popular software. It is difficult to migrate to from other e-commerce platforms. The payment system does not support the local currencies of many countries. Information and help about the software on the internet are sparse even though it is open source. I feel it is expensive.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Smartstore

4.0 last year

Comments: Modern tool for active e-commerce users with higher price than competing companies.

Pros:

I started my e-commerce activity with this app and it was very helpful thanks to a lot of plugins or functions. It can be opening to e-commerce world, especially for small companies.

Cons:

I was confused about pricing system and also better first steps guide or some tutorials are needed.

Yevgen
Head of Software Development in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SmartStore shop system - flexibly adaptable!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

SmartStore is an awesome shop system based on ASP MVC C#. The plugins are very easy to write and thus customize the shop system

Cons:

SmartStore has no bad sides to my mind, I love it for it!

Haseeb
Graphic designing in India
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Impressive

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I'm very impressed with using smartstore.net. very good ecommercial software. I'm very happy to share a review of this experience

Pros:

Very good interface and very easiest to use

Cons:

Product scrolling and another lag feeling in use

Rival
Manager in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The most useful so far

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The first day I used smartstore on my job alternative way as an administrator it’s great and easiest to me.

Pros:

It’s easier to use than other software i been used before

Cons:

Easier and layouts are better than other software i been used in last couple years.

Sabina
Graphic Designer in Czechia
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Smartstore

4.0 last year

Pros:

You have everything you need to start and online store at one place. I also like it is open-source

Cons:

We had difficulties to migrate from other e-coomerce platforms.

Ulrich
Kaufmann in Germany
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Smartstore

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Ich betreibe einen Online Shop für Schießsportzubehör und komme mit Smartstore prima zurecht. Vom Einstellen der Artikel, dem hochladen von Medien und der Auftragsverwaltung ist alles spielend einfach gestaltet. Das Programm funktioniert zuverlässig und der Support ist erstklassig. Aber wichtiger noch: Unseren Kunden, also den Endverbrauchern, gefällt der Shop. Besonders gelobt wird die Übersichtlichkeit und die einfache Bedienung.

Pros:

Ich bin mit Smartstore praktisch "mitgewachsen" und nutze die Software täglich. Alles funktioniert problemlos vom Anlegen der Artikel bis zum Verkauf unserer Artikel. Man bekommt eine funktionelle Kundenverwaltung, die Artikeldatenbank nimmt alle relevanten Informationen auf. Bei einer Bestellung wird der Kunde übersichtlich durch den Bestellprozess geführt. Das Smartstore Team aktualisiert die Software ständig, so dass man auch Rechtssicherheit hat, was neue Bestimmungen und Gesetze angeht. z.B: die Cookies. Und mit dem Support von Smartstore bin ich sehr zufrieden. Durch das SEO freundliche Programm haben wir mittlerweile sehr gute Google Rankings, ebenso die Bewertungen dort sind überwiegend positiv.

Cons:

Das Programm verfügt über alle Funktion die ich brauche. Es empfiehlt sich jedoch das Programm von Smartstore installieren zu lassen.

Willy
Betriebsleiter in Switzerland
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sehr zufrieden

5.0 last year

Comments: Ich bin im Web trotz beschränkter Nutzung gut unterwegs

Pros:

Weil ich bei den Grossen mithalten könnte wenn ich alle Funktionen ausfahren könnte

Cons:

Wünsche mir auch nach Jahren einen praktischen Kurs. ich kann den Shop nicht voll nutzen weil es im Selbststudium zu aufwendig ist. Für einen Kurs würde ich in jedes Land von Europa fahren. Alles selbst herauszufinden ist sehr aufwendig und als Anwender getraut man sich manchmal nicht weil man nichts verbocken möchte..

SmartStore AG Response

last year

Hello Willy, thank you for your request. Smartstore is not difficult to use. Please send me an email with your questions, I will try to find a solution for you. [email protected] Best Regards Aljona

Erwin
GF in Austria
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Besser geht kaum

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Es läuft! Ohne Probleme und ohne Stress. Die Hosting kosten, sind gering. Der Support ist super!

Pros:

Import und Export, der Kundendienst und Support.

Cons:

Unverständlich aber leider wahr ist zu wenig verbreitet. Ich verstehe nicht, warum PHP Shop Lösungen mehr Kunden haben. Nachteile sind mir keine aufgefallen. Wir betreiben auch einen Magento 1 Shop und 1 Shopware Shop.

Dennis
Anwendungsentwickler in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SmartStore rocks

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Der Gesamteindruck von SmartStore ist gut bis sehr gut.

Pros:

Geschwindigkeit, Stabilität, Leichtigkeit der Einrichtung

Cons:

API sollte deutlich weiter ausgebaut werden, Dev- und Template Dokumentationen müssen deutlich besser werden, teils wenig Plugins im Store, kein Magnalister

SmartStore AG Response

3 years ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. You are right about the documentation - we will do our best - we promise :-)

Matthias
Marketing in Germany
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Klein aber fein!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Wir haben als kleines Unternehmen (bis 10 Mitarbeiter) mit Smartstore einen tollen Shop (-Partner) gefunden um im Online-Business zu wachsen.

Pros:

Der Shop hat sehr viele sinnvolle Funktionen, ohne jedoch überfrachtet zu sein. Auch ohne Programmierkenntnisse kommt man fast immer ans Ziel, im Zweifel wird der schnelle Support hinzugezogen.

Cons:

Auch hier gibt es Funktionen, die man nicht gleich findet. Die Menüs zum Administrieren sind nicht immer ganz logisch aufgebaut.

Ute
Inhaber in Germany
Farming, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

super Service von A bis Z

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Unkompliziert, flexibel, modern, schneller, freundlicher Service.

Pros:

Zum einen habe ich mich schon vom Vertriebsteam richtig gut beraten gefühlt. Wir nutzen die Software smartstore schon über 20 Jahre. Auch bei der Datenmigration wurden wir immer sehr gut beraten. Freundlich und zeitnah wurden unsere Wünsche umgesetzt. Mit gefällt am besten, dass Smartstore so flexibel ist, die Pflege ist unkompliziert und es macht sogar Spaß, den Shop zu pflegen. Also 1.000 Dank und weiter so!

Cons:

Ich würde es toll finden, wenn man eine Sandbox mit dem eigenen Shopdaten hätte, zum Spielen und Austoben.

Heribert
GF in Germany
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Zufriedenheit mit SmartStore

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Alle Bestellungen laufen über den Shop und das System läuft sehr stabil.

Pros:

Für den Administrator ist einfach Änderungen im Shop zu realisieren.

Cons:

Da wir sehr lange SmartStore nutzen, haben wir Produktbilder aus Vorgängerversionen. Diese lassen sich bei der neuen Version nicht löschen, was sehr viel Speicherplatz unnötig beansprucht. SamrtStore ist leider nicht sehr bekannt in der Branche.

Christian
Gas und Wasserinstallationsmeister in Germany
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ich schaffe dass

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ich arbeite schon seit Smartstore Biz 3 mit diesem Produkt, also war der Aufstieg auf NET nur logisch und auch richtig , bereue nichts.

Cons:

Module sehr teuer, und wie bei Debitor bin ich mir nicht sicher ob Smartstore das weiterentwickelt.

Martin
Dozent in Switzerland
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

verlässlicher Alleskönner

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Einfach, kostengünstig und gut skalierbar

Cons:

vielleicht etwas mehr Aufwand als bei reiner Out-of-the-Box-Lösung. Aber dieser macht sich mit der Zeit bezahlt.

Gerd
Geschäftsführer in Austria
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Motorsport

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Wir sind zufrieden!

Pros:

Design, offenes System für Anbindungen an andere Programme!

Cons:

sehr empfindlich auf eigene html oder ähnliche einbindungen!

Manuel
Groß- & Außenhandelskaufmann in Germany
Consumer Electronics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Gute Shopsoftware für mittelgroße Unternehmen

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Sehr übersichtliches Back-End Viele Customizing-Funktionen sehr kompetenter Kunden-Support

Cons:

fehlende Schnittstellen viele Features kostenpflichtig

Tania Marcia
Tania Marcia
Agente de serviço in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Eu amo esse App

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Minha experiência tem sido gratificante.

Pros:

De forma geral tem me agradado muito, tem atendido as espectativas e me ajudado em meu momentos de lazer.

Cons:

Não tenho nada a do,era, pois estou usando a pouco tempo e não obtive probly.