15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Plesk

This leading WebOps and hosting platform, helps you run, grow and automate your apps, sites & business. Try for free to find out how.

Learn more about Plesk

Pros:

Easy to use, good overview. Setup and management are simple.

Cons:

I once broke a development server while installing some Plesk components. It took a lot of time and google search to fix it.

Plesk ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Plesk has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 144 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Plesk before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (144)

Nabin
Nabin
CEO in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Secure and easy server management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am very happy with Plesk as a web hosting management system. Its pricing is cheaper, features are great, now I do not have to worry about managing my secure server anymore.

Pros:

Plesk is easy to set up, provides a feature-rich user interface for managing multiple websites. Supports Nginx, regular backup, and migration from popular web hosting management systems. The pricing for VPS with 10 domains starts at $11 per month which is an unbeatable price in the industry.

Cons:

Plesk does not offer a single site license.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Plesk Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: A great experience! If you are uncomfortable with performing updates, changes or maintenance via a command line. Plesk allows you to perform most of these tasks through a user interface. It's an ideal CRM for web hosting.

Pros:

Mostly everything! Plesk is great platform for managing a large number of website for clients. You can create and customise your own subscription plans, limiting or extending resources per client. The software is intuitive and you have available the essential features for managing website hosting.

Cons:

One missing feature that would be very useful. The ability to upgrade your databases to newer versions of MySQL (5.5 > Current). Plesk already provides the capabilty to upgrade the PHP versions per website. Having the feature to upgrade the databases would be an extremely useful addition.

Jon
Jon
Email Marketing Expert in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pricey, lacking in features with terrible customer service

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Poor service, very expensive, wouldn't recommend.

Pros:

It's reasonably easy to use, but not as many options as the price commands.

Cons:

Expensive for what it is. Customer support is horrific. You buy through a reseller and all support has to go through them, massively increasing time for support. Features are lacking and the price is astronomical for how basic it is.

Pedro
Pedro
CEO in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great, but prefer cPanel

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Plesk is indeed a great tool. It's complete, it's secure, it has a good performance so yes, it's a great tool. I just don't give it 5 stars because I feel cPanel to be more complete.

Cons:

In my opinion, cPanel is a more complete solution and simpler to use. Have been using both systems for many years now and I always feel that options in cPanel are more intuitive and require less clicks to reach where we want

Mark
Mark
Owner / Operator in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Plesk - Making web servers easy to manage

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using Plesk for a long time, I always pick Plesk of other systems, even when it costs extra and I save in the long run with admin and server uptime. As Plesk has grown over the years I have had to do less and less outside of the Plesk interface. I have had nothing I need to do server admin wise outside of Plesk for the last few years due to the feature-rich interface.

Pros:

The user interface is easy to use. Plesk has all the different server options in easy to understand sections ready to be customised.

Cons:

When you want to do anything that Plesk can't do, can be hard to work out how to make the change or add the server tool you want.

Jose J
Jose J
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Cloud Hosting Management Platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I had a great experience using Plesk so far. It gives me peace of mind with my business WordPress websites and PHP web apps.

Pros:

I like how organized is the user interface in Plesk. All functions are well displayed on the left sidebar, or you can easily find them using the search bar on the top of the screen.

Cons:

There are certain functions that I believe So are confusing like the breadcrumbs between the global options and specific domains and websites options.

Ben
Ben
Lead Platform Developer in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Plesk has made my life so much easier!!!!!!!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been extremely happy with Plesk so far - I met some of the guys at WordCamp Nordic and they gave me an extended trial - the whole system has blown me away and I can't wait for the new version to come out :)

Pros:

For a start it works - doesn't crash all the time like other web hosting software. It works with ubuntu instead of CentOS which is huge for me. It integrates amazingly well with AWS, especially RDS and Aurora databases. Having Ngnix as standard is huge, it was a real issue with cPanel ... and the LetsEncrypt system works great. The NewRelix integration makes life easier.

Cons:

Generally, it's pretty good - it can be a pain to install integrations with PHP (datadog, sqreen, etc), but this is just a learning curve.

Stanley
Stanley
System Administrator in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Plesk as a cPanel replacement

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Amazing user interface and a good replacement for cPanel.

Pros:

Simple to use and amazing user interface that is self-explanatory even for newbies. The best one click install for Let's Encrypt for certificates.

Cons:

Lack of more tools to create a tailor-made experience.

Dominik
Student in Croatia
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Build and maintain your web hosting

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With Plesk, I am no longer spending time typing some long commands in secure shell window because I can do almost everything with nice and functional Plesk interface.

Pros:

- one control panel to rule them all - manage all websites from one place - hundreds of plugins which extend the functionalities even greater - regular automatic updates - out of the box integration with cloud service providers like DigitalOcean, Vultr, AWS... - full SSH root access remains available so if I don't like something I can customize it the old fashioned way - amazingly good security and firewall integrated - WordPress toolkit is a must-have if you manage multiple WordPress websites - SSL integration with Let's Encrypt work flawlessly

Cons:

- not so fast in loading speed compared to cPanel - the dashboard can often be confusing with so many menus and options - lack of support for Amazon Linux - a little bit more expensive if you are looking for a shared web hosting with Plesk installed but in most cases, you will be using Plesk on your own VPS or server

Giancarlo
Giancarlo
designer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simply the best

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Came to Plesk from a proprietary panel, found the community heartwarming and their support spot on.

Pros:

It's constantly updated, feature rich, strong disaster recovery features

Cons:

It could have better built in antispam features

suyog
System admin in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Plesk- The pocket friendly yet powerful website hosting panel

4.0 last year

Comments: Plesk have enabled our customers to manage their servers/websites easily and in a pocket friendly manner

Pros:

Easy to Use, subscription addition and oveusage monitoring, monitoring of server resources, ease of availability of statistics, ability to create user and assign required roles, integration with smartermail or mailenable,budget friendly

Cons:

Plesk takes long time to doll out new features, should give more options to harden the server from the panel itself

Usama
Usama
Backend Engineer in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best in WebOps

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a developer, Plesk is now my first choice to go with always and I also recommend it to my clients as my experience with the community was excellent. It does a great job in providing system insights in a really simple way.

Pros:

It is a complete package with variety of features which makes it one of the best in the market. Some of the highlights are mentioned below: - Backups are performed regularly. - Easy backup recoveries. - Simple and intuitive website management. - Support for migrations from various known systems. - Git, Nginx, Node etc comes out of the box and easy to setup. - Due to the intuitive UI, the learning curve is mild so any new user can pick up really quickly and get started in no time

Cons:

There's nothing majorly wrong with Plesk but of course, nothing is perfect so it has some issues with version controlling and CI/CD setups as it sometimes does not works as expected with could potentially result in not fetching properly from the remote repository and ultimately failing CI/CD pipeline. Apart from the above issue, it works smoothly

Greg
Greg
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ability to run a small, yet profitable web hosting company

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Plesk has enabled me to run a successful hosting business since 2004 with little expense which means room to make profit while competing on the value I add over larger hosting companies.

Pros:

I've used plesk as my web hosting platform for about 15 years now. The latest incarnation runs on Amazon Web Services which makes it extremely easy and inexpensive to setup. The other big competitor is CPanel which in my opinion has fallen behind in development in comparison to Plesk. Web hosts pick one usually and get comfortable with that, but I believe Plesk to the most comprehensive and easiest to use for my hosting clients.

Cons:

They need to work more on the user interface as it's hard to find your way around sometimes. But you can find out how to do what you need with a little looking around.

Eric
Systems Administrator in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Control Panel Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We started using Plesk in the early 2000's, the initial problems when upgrading especially have all been resolved. Everything now tends to work exactly as it should. Overall we're very happy with the product.

Pros:

Awesome product that allows us to manage our smaller websites without having to set up all of the hosting software manually every time. It also allows the customer to manage their own email settings, databases, etc. Takes a lot of the support issues off our hands.

Cons:

The only thing to dislike is every new version, things tend to be moved around a little bit. This is pretty typical of any software whether on the web or desktop software however. It's a fairly minor complaint. Plesk has come a long way since the beginning when we started using it.

Abhik
Abhik
Student in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best webhosting control panel that is supported on Windows hosting

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Plex is very good for small and medium servers and medium-sized web hosting companies.

Pros:

Plex is one of the very few web hosting control panel that is available for Windows as well as Linux. Plex has almost all the features need to manage a server and host websites or email. It offers many extensions.

Cons:

Plex is less stable compared to cPanel. I once broke a development server while installing some Plesk components. It took a lot of time and google search to fix it. However, this happens rarely, so nothing to worry about too much.

Jay
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Management Software for Web Hosting

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The flexible options in the interface are superb. The support is good but not excellent. Once you get an assigned rep, they do respond fairly quickly. It's getting that initial contact that may be a bit delayed.

Cons:

The cost is a bit high. Faster initial support responses would be better.

Mallach
It tech in France
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My opinion

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use Flexibility Speed Light in ram

Cons:

Not free! In a open source World, it's so bad!

Yağızhan Burak
Founder in Türkiye
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Plesk helped us growing our shared hosting environment

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We manage our websites including our main website using Plesk, and we also created a nice shared hosting environment using Plesk. Plesk helped us build a big audience of shared hosting. We could easily create packages that come with WordPress installed.

Pros:

Our customers found Plesk useful, easy to use and handy. Plesk gives us whatever we need, Plesk has automated updates, integration with other software and a handy API interface. Plesk also has cool people who manages their Twitter account, they always respond in minutes. Plesk's WordPress plugin is one of it's most-liked features, our customers mostly choose to go especially with Plesk just because of the WordPress plugin. The add-on packages system is also cool, we can easily add our customers additional resources and can also easily charge them.

Cons:

Pricing is a bit out of hand, it's better than it's biggest opponent, cPanel though.

Daniel
SEO in Portugal
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Plesk Meu Tempo

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very good is to continue with Plesk in managing the company's projects.

Pros:

Ease of managing the various projects that the company is involved with. Possibility to update projects with one click. Security Means Addons Amount good documentation quite active forums

Cons:

Some options are very hidden Plesk updates sometimes fail

Ian
it tech in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Plesk is Great

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Plesk is hosting management software that is often used with shared hosting companies. It is probably the cheapest version that has a simple GUI. You seem to run into less bugs than with some of the free alternatives and its a lot cheaper than cPanel per month. Easily deal with your databases, files, and create ftp accounts, install software, and keep a track of traffic statistics.

Cons:

It is not as powerful as the industry leading WHM/Cpanel.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Leader in Website Control Panels for The More Technical

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use Plesk to manage our cloud servers. It provides a rich graphical user interface to replace command-line operations.

Pros:

Very powerful and feature-rich. Can be set up for web hosts or for internal company use. Low cost. Allows administrators to automatically keep server software up to date.

Cons:

Takes a little while to learn. Since it has so many features, it can be overwhelming at first for some.

Terry
CEO in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Small Business VPS Solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Hands down Plesk is the ultimate server admin platform for any online business that creates and manages its own websites or client websites. We run dozens of websites for our business and dozens more for clients and it provides the ease of use, power, systems, and metrics to successfully run the server without worry.

Pros:

Powerful web server administration that is loaded with features, in an intuitive, flexible, and easy to use package.

Cons:

Costs of extra add-ons can be discouraging at times.

Umair
Manager in Pakistan
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The innovative and Professional Hosting Control Panel

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Plesk is really awesome, because now I can build and manage multiple sites from a single and unique dashboard. I can monitor performance and lot of other tasks from the same place.

Pros:

Plesk is an incredibly amazing hosting control panel and platform for the IT admins, developers, content managers and digital agencies. There are a lot of Plesk extensions available, that really extend the functionality of your platform.

Cons:

All options of Plesk are really easy to use and understand, I never found any kind of issue during the use of this amazing control panel. For me the plesk is perfect, without any kind of cons.

Tad
Owner in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive Solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Solves our web hosting and email needs for our customers!

Pros:

Fast and intuitive. Comforting to know that if and when issues arise, support staff are readily available to help. Great knowledge base too.

Cons:

Autodiscover for email is absent for some strange reason.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Complete and robust

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall its best side is on windows servers, its by far the most complete and stable panel.

Pros:

Easy of install and configure. Many plugins. Stable and reliable. Keeps improving and adding new features.

Cons:

Support is not as fast as other competitors.