15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Ghost

Write and publish your own blog using this open source publishing system.

Learn more about Ghost

Pros:

Previously, I used a popular email-service and a popular site for patrons to support creators. Ghost.io does the function of BOTH of these.

Cons:

The native hosting options are useless and detracts beginners like me from using it.

Ghost ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Ghost has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 50 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ghost before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (50)

Alaister
Alaister
System Administrator in Hong Kong
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best open-source blogging software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: After switching from WordPress to Ghost, we have gained more visitors and readers of our blog posts, mainly due to better SEO, page loading time, and website theme design. Ghost also reduces our server load and so the cost.

Pros:

The admin interface is very simple and user friendly. It has built-in membership system, SEO, signup/subscription forms, and newsletter features. The visual editor is clean and provides many cards and snippets we need. We can add custom integrations through Zapier such as PayPal (for subscription), SendInBlue (for newsletter), and Discord (for our community server).

Cons:

To create multiple membership tiers, a Stripe account is required, even though we only use other payment methods like PayPal. The newsletter feature, again, limits to a specific provider: Mailgun, which is no longer free. Ghost should remove the Stripe and Mailgun requirements to make third-party integrations much easier.

Bark
Editor in US
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ghost managed hosting combined with Ghost 4.0 is a towering achievement

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Ghost gives me the tools to present our content and brand to viewers with confidence. They look at our site and know that quality content will be presented. This allows us to stand out from the crowd.

Pros:

Ghost managed hosting is more than just a blogging platform following the release of 4.0 in March 2021. It is a membership site that helps our websites and blogs gain memberships that fund important projects for our journalists. The best thing about Ghost is that they do not take a portion of your income. Other popular options both take a percentage of revenue but Ghost managed hosting only charges a low monthly fee. The unique thing about managed hosting with Ghost is that Worldwide CDN is included, unlimited emails to members are included, managed updates of Ghost are included. Tons of additional features are available as well. The editor in Ghost is so conducive to producing great content. For many months, users have been offering opinions on things that should happen in the new update. Ghost took so many of these ideas and combined them to create something great. Ghost also has a unique look. The product and themes are very current, and it elevates the content because the website looks so good. Finally, I have to mention money. Ghost allows journalists to be independent. I cannot tell you how exciting it is to know that we have monthly revenue that comes in other than advertisers. Multiple streams of revenue is very important.

Cons:

Of course, I would like another 500 memberships added to each tier. But the price is very fair. With Ghost 4.0, a new $9 a month tier was added. Previously a $29 a month tier was the lowest price. So I don't have much to complain about. But we are on a high tier.

CEM
Founder in Nepal
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I GOT SCAMMED!

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Highly dissappointed.

Pros:

It's a great blog with easy to use features.

Cons:

They changed my account plan without even asking! It's RIDICILOUS. When we check our finances we realised past 3 months we have paid double the amount of what we were paying without even knowing it! It's a big scam I cannot believe how they can do this without our approval. I will never use their platform ever again.

Timo
CEO in Estonia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

iOS of making websites - nice UI and it just works

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used WordPress when they launched years ago, because it was best then. But now came Ghost. I feel like WordPress has transformed themselves into Microsoft - it's great thing if you like to use various plugins and whatever not. Ghost is as elegant as iPhone. All what's needed is there. Great UI, no extra fuss. While WordPress needs extra consulting to get it running, should you start anew.

Pros:

I've been using it for a few years now and the latest version brings everything together you'd need for running a website: nice clean editor, member management, collecting payments (via Stripe), SEO customisation, newsletters. If you would like to do a similar thing on WordPress you'd need to patch it up with several 3rd party plugins. Ghost is easy-breezy.

Cons:

Backing up the content itself is easy, but in-post images/media is still not supported.

Joseph
Developer in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fairly simplistic, but better than WordPress

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used Ghost for a little while to manage my personal website. It worked fairly well for me and creating a theme wasn't too difficult. I really liked the configuration file paradigm to set up routing and redirection as opposed to a fancy & bloated editor or control panel.

Pros:

Ghost is based on Node as opposed to PHP, and is much faster and modern compared to competitors like WordPress. The API is very robust as well, making it easy for developers to integrate with it. It also has built-in SEO optimization (if you use a Handlebars-based themes), which is a big plus. The developers at the support forum are also really friendly and helpful too.

Cons:

It is a little bit simplistic, only allowing you to have posts, static pages, and tags, so it isn't suitable for more complex needs. There isn't any built-in search functionality either. It also lacks a native GraphQL API endpoint as well.

Bruno
Bruno
IT Service Engineer in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ghost best CMS on the market, Ghost Pro, best platform for bloggers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Ghost is currently the best alternative for bloggers. It's good for personal websites or news magazines. There's built in integration with Stripe to charge monthly fees, It's very clean and easy of use both for the owner as for the guest of the blog. There are two ways of using Ghost: you can selfhost your own instance in some machine or use the "Ghost Pro" Service, a Platform as a Service.

Pros:

Clean interface for administrator of the Content Management System. Good usability. Beautiful for guests. Not bloated with lots of tools, icons, and other stuff like Wordpress. Ghost Pro service is fast, reliable, and have good customer support.

Cons:

Currently I'm using "Ghost Pro" since FEB 2020, and I'm very happy. The only issue is the cost, which is way higher than competitors. But because It's the best, I decided that for me it worth it.

Jamie
Founder in UK
Publishing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I trust Ghost, and love it's values

5.0 last year

Comments: Fantastic, and the support are world class. They're helpful, friendly and get back to you so quickly.

Pros:

Ghost has been super easy to use. I joined before some of the features I needed were ready because I knew the roadmap. It's become the revenue driver of our membership and publishing business, with it's all in one website, newsletter and membership solution.

Cons:

The analytics Ghost provides has been upped in recent months, but it is basic and only shows the last 90 days on your dashboard.

Rob
Rob
Owner in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ghost Pro

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: I really like using it, it fits like a glove.

Pros:

If you want to stay independent as a creator claiming your online spot is crucial. With Ghost you are in a good position to build, grow and nurture this spot. It is easy to use, delivers clean code and looks awesome.

Cons:

Minor things. Most annoying is no option to find links to other posts.

Jose J
Jose J
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ghost is the new best CMS your website needs.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I'm creating blogs and websites with paid plans using Ghost. So far Ghost has been a great CMS. Also, me and my team migrated some WordPress sites with amazing results and boosted the SEO.

Pros:

Ghost has a simplistic approach to create beautiful and functional websites. That simplicity is what I like the most about Ghost.

Cons:

Ghost has a community version that is free, however, doesn't include the latest features of the current Ghost paid version or Ghost Pro.

Asit
Asit
Systems Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great publishing platform but there are a few hiccups

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ghost’s editor and theming systems are awesome! And it’s also blazing fast since it uses node.js and not PHP. Apart from that, the plugin ecosystem is very robust now and includes all sorts of things.

Cons:

The native hosting options are useless and detracts beginners like me from using it. There are third party hosts like DigitalOcean but with just 1 GB of RAM, upgradation and maintenance is a headache. Also, it’s been years and still Ghost doesn’t have any native search functionality which is the most basic of things.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Long time WP user switching to Ghost

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience has been good. As I said before, I come from Wordpress and it is a welcoming sight with its UI style and ease of use!

Pros:

Ghost is what Wordpress used to be in the old days. When blogging was a big part of the Word.. processing platform. Now it has become like a swiss army knife trying to be so many things at the same time that it has become a burden to use for simple blog posting. So, that is why we switched to Ghost as its ease of use and interactivity is a welcoming sight!

Cons:

Features! Not trying to be a douche here... I know memberships is an awesome feature but the lack of a clap/liking system and social sign up/login are a really bummer here. The users are the most important part of a blogging site and these features would add a lot to their experience. So with the addition of memberships the user has to pay for premium content but at the same time has no way of liking the content making sure that the content creator knows if it is likeable. My $2 cents.

Iain
Iain
Content Designer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ideal for membership programmes

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Ghost has been hugely positive and I’d recommend it to most people who want to publish online. That goes especially if you want to send newsletters and even more so if you plan to turn your publication into a membership scheme.

Pros:

I use Ghost as my CMS on my personal website and I love its newsletter and membership features. A recent update now allows me to publish multiple newsletters from the same site, which is perfect for how I want to grow an audience. As for the publishing process, I think Ghost gets exactly the right balance between features and ease of use. It’s really nice to publish and the built-in newsletter analytics are just enough for me to understand what’s working and what’s not.

Cons:

There is little I would change, but the nature of open-source software can mean it’s tricky to work with and edit templates if you don’t have any coding experience. That said, there are plenty of great templates available so most people should be able to find something that fits the bill.

tim
Podcaster in US
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ghost has streamlined my podcasting, broadcasting, publishing businesss.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far, I've increased newsletter readership, live-stream attendance, and revenue in this first month,

Pros:

As the host of Infinite Plane Radio, I rely on an ability to sendout live-stream notifications. This is feature makes it easy to get members to opt-in to my websites. The issue has been, what is the optimal membership management website? Previously, I used a popular email-service and a popular site for patrons to support creators. Ghost.io does the function of BOTH of these. In fact, it does so better. The ease of use is unparalleled. The transition from my previous business to this one was under 24 hours. It's also very helpful that Ghost.io auto-integrates all of my podcast players. Finally, it allows you to separate mailing lists from paid and the unpaid members. This feature is very helpful when your objective is to convert more into sales. You can send 'complimentary' notifications and newsletters, etc. Overall, I think it's a great site. If you import your pre-existing email lists, you might wind up paying the premium sooner, however, the features makes it easy to afford the month fee. Finally, there is no cut taken from your subscriptions, so that premium payment is more than compensated for all around. Tim Ozman, Infinite Plane Radio Ghost has streamlined my podcasting, broadcasting, publishing businesss.

Cons:

This site is great for membership-based businesses with newsletters. It may not entirely replace all the functions you get from your blogging sites. However, you can get custom integrations, so if it's not already built, chances are you can get it done.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Node.js wordpress replacement, but not quite as flexible to extend as CMS

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The community and online support from official maintainers of Ghost is exceptional and incredible well documented.

Pros:

WordPress has been the go-to software for several years for website development for non-tech, Node.js popularity has made new system such as Ghost become the new go-to as it is faster. As a CMS does not provide easy the flexibility to extend its predefined structure to add more content to extend the functionality to provide a wider range of feature to a frontend application by using it as a Headless CMS.

Cons:

Ghost is great if it is only used for blogging, publishing articles, but unless it is needed an extensive CMS, Ghost will not be the ideal application.

Saad
Freelancer in Pakistan
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ghost

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is fantastic

Pros:

It can be typically used for blogging only and has great SEO and built-in speed.

Cons:

It provides limited and very expensive hostings.

Miguel
Student in Spain
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best blogging software out there

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Ghost is an amazing tool that makes blogging seamless

Pros:

Ghost doesn't only allow you to write articles. It provides you with the tools to sell memberships on your site, manage your writing team or integrate with hundreds of other different services.

Cons:

If you want to self-host your Ghost installation you may run into some trouble, as it's not powered by the same stack as other solutions.

Tobias
Tobias
IT consultant in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Probably the best blog host available today

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ghost helped me quickly get started with my website, taking care of everything else so that I could focus on writing and building content.

Pros:

Super easy to get started but still with so much room for tweaking and customizing. I built my side project entirely on Ghost and remained a happy customer for over two years, before I wanted more advanced features (integrated shop, forum, etc) that required me to look elsewhere.

Cons:

I can't find anything bad to say about Ghost it's been a joy to use their product, I'll use it again for all my future projects, and I'd happily recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

George
George
Founder in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cleaner, Faster and all round better than wordpress

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Ghost lets me just focus on delivering my content - no more worries about servers - crashing themes and plugins

Pros:

Getting started with ghost pro was really easy. There is limitless options for tweaking and customizing & the page load speeds are out of this world (Essential for SEO)

Cons:

If you want to get into theme editing then you need a decent level of knowledge but even then there are plenty of online resources

Emirhan
Music in Türkiye
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great blogging software.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It has a useful and beautiful interface. It provides the most practical ways to put your work in place.

Cons:

There are times when it slows down. And with Wordpress it can become much more efficient.

Lord Gideon
Lord Gideon
SEO Specialist in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ghost: Minimalist CMS for Personal Blogs

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I use Ghost for my personal blog. It looks good even with just the basic themes. Hard to install if you do not have prior web development knowledge.

Pros:

I like the straightforward writing experience. Ghost is a CMS made for writers.

Cons:

Hard to setup for self-hosted Ghost websites. Customizability depends on the user's level of web development knowledge.

rohit
rohit
Marketing Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

This tool is incredibly easy to use and beautiful CMS for blog

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ghost is a powerful CMS and easy to use.

Pros:

This is one of the best CMS we have used so far. It is quite easy to set up and extremely easy to use. The desktop tool is also good. Also this tool is for those who wants to produce high quality content. Moreover, we can create different authors in tool and being admin we can provide access to different team members

Cons:

I think one problem with this tool is that it does not have good plugins that wordpress offer

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Blogging is a Form of Creative Expression

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We use this software called Ghost which is so easy to use. You just write, preview and publish what you wrote. I try to keep my articles to 1500 words or less so people don’t get tired of reading them. I also enjoy reading what the other employees are doing. Ghost is a great online outlet that can reach out to a lot of people.

Cons:

The program sometimes freezes or lags when I’m using it. It only happened twice, but I haven’t encountered any problems lately, but I also don’t use it very often so I can’t say much.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The CMS For Tech Content

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Blazing fast, with a very clean but powerful interface. Provides a clutter-free writing experience while also being very flexible in terms of customization. Writing in markdown works like a breeze. Their support team is very helpful and replies fast.

Cons:

The migration process from 0.x to 2.x was quite a pain. It appears that further migrations will be easier.

Toni
Toni
Consultant, Partner in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Incredibly easy to use and beautiful CMS for blogs. This is a tool for serious writers.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ghost gave us an extremely easy and quick way to set up a blogging site. And it's a joy to use.

Pros:

Ghost was quite easy to set up and extremely easy to use. For a content producer and blogger, this is the best CMS I've used this far, and way better than Wordpress in usability. This is really a software for writers. Excellent desktop app, too!

Cons:

You need some IT savviness if you want to manage Ghost yourself and not host it on their platform (which is quite expensive). It's maybe not the most versatile CMS and if you need a big e-commerce site this probably isn't for you.

John
technical support specialist in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ghost

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: UEFI has been an issue at times when using Ghost.

Pros:

Ghost offers a simplified way of imaging and has been reliable.

Cons:

I don't have the option to take snap-shots.