Australia Local product

About Safety Champion

Smart, affordable work health and safety software, streamlining all your safety tasks and duties into one central location.

Learn more about Safety Champion

Pros:

Very friendly customer support who help when I don't understand how features work.

Cons:

App - Records of Inspections, Incidents cannot be accessed using the App. Notifications - Hard to set up.

Safety Champion ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Safety Champion has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 14 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Safety Champion before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14)

Costa V.
Costa V.
CEO in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Translation & Localization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Brilliant OH&S Software

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Very friendly customer support who help when I don't understand how features work.

Cons:

Hard to say. I really enjoy using the software.

Craig S.
Director in Australia
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A class above other Safety and Compliance Solutions

5 5 years ago

Comments: As a safety consultancy, I wanted to establish a best-practice solution to support and drive our internal health and safety program. In our role as a consultancy, we have had exposure to a number of safety systems. Most often, the safety systems we have been exposed to required a stakeholder to manage the implementation of the software solution, and/or spend significant time using the solution to understand where things are and how the software works. Safety Champion, is different - it has been developed with the observations we made in mind. It is easy to set up and allows all of our consultants with ready access to our safety program. Since we implemented Safety Champion, both incident and hazard reporting has increased. Workers advise that it is due to them being able to enter this information directly into the app, without having to look for "the form" that they previously used and then "sending the form on". Safety Champion is worth a close look if you are looking for a solution that is simple to use. I have enjoyed the transition across to Safety Champion from paper, as it has been a very visible way for Action OHS Consulting to demonstrate to our workers, sub-contractors and suppliers that we have adopted a best practice approach with our safety management. If these people are confident that we are serious about safety, then our workplace will be a safer environment for our workers, or those involved with our workplace.

Pros:

I love how simple Safety Champion is to use. The direction we need is located on the dashboard. As a manager, I have visibility of our overall performance and importantly now have confidence in the reports that we run. Previously, we would save data in Excel, our registers were often riddled with errors from either data entry or people not saving/adding data as required. Significant time was wasted in cross-checking data.

Cons:

There are no negatives from our experience so far.

Marcelo N.
HSEQ Specialist in Australia
Maritime, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Harvest - 3 months Feedback

2 last year

Comments: Excellent customer service provided. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] are exceptional professionals and provided an outstanding service. The software has some opportunities for improvement. The reporting module cannot be tailored to our needs and end up with charts that are not as relevant for a report to upper management for example. Inspections using the App are really good and allow a quick paperless inspection report with possibility to add photos. This was a game changer for us. The Dashboard shows all chemicals and certificates even that they are not close to expire. These could be on their own modules. On Report module, the pizza type charts only show the value if you hover the mouse over the chart. It does not show the value when printed (pdf). The inspection templates are always associated to a grade system. There should be an option not to use grades. The incident investigation report shows Safety Champion logo instead of Harvest's when printed (pdf).

Pros:

The support team is extremely professional and helpful.

Cons:

Dashboard - The Dashboard cannot be tailored. I had the impression we could customise the Dashboard during the presentations. I'd rather see other HSE indicators on the dashboard such as Incidents and Inspections. Actions - Actions should be closed out by an approver, specially related to audits. The system doesn't allow to have the action closed by a person and approved by another person. Same for Incidents. Compliance - The Compliance Module doesn’t allow us to include a name or title when adding to the system. We are using the “Reference No.” space to inform the certificate’s name. In the Compliance Module is Ok to find the Certificate as you can see the title on the reference, but the task cannot be signed-off on the Compliance Module. On the dashboard the item can be signed-off and the name or title is visible, however the “Name” relates to the Classification and Sub-Classification. The “Reference No.” where the Certificate’s name is, it is not visible, so I can’t find the right certificate as they all look similar. We could add the title to the space “Detail”, but it wouldn’t’ be visible on the Compliance Module. App - Records of Inspections, Incidents cannot be accessed using the App. Notifications - Hard to set up. Notifications are sent to people with the same profile but from different workplaces. Difficult to tailor the notifications. Too many set ups - worker user, user, worker group user, organisational user, super user... No more space to write here...

Alternatives Considered: Capptions, myosh Safety Management Software, Integrum, Protecht.ERM, Online Induction Software and Cority

Reasons for Switching to Safety Champion: I thought it would suit our needs.

Safety Champion Response

last year

Hi Marcelo, Thanks so much for your valued feedback. Whilst we're disappointed to hear some of your feedback, we're happy to let you know that some of these items mentioned are enhancements that will be deployed in releases in the near future. We'll reach out to you to run through the details.

Paul K.
General Manager in Australia
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple to use software, that allows our workers access OHS documents when working at client sites.

5 5 years ago

Comments: We were looking for a web solution that would allow our tradesmen and women to access safety documents such as SWMSs and Operating Procedures when working at client sites. In addition, we wanted a system to ensure that there was a simple way workers could report incidents and hazards, to allow these to be tracked by management. When looking at web software, Safety Champion had the modules that we required and was identified by our team as the simplest solution to navigate.

Pros:

It's simplicity. We are able to upload documents and these documents are controlled. When looking for a solution, we did not consider how obsolete documents would be managed. Safety Champion saves all historical versions when a document is superseded, however it also allows us to archive documents that are no longer used within our workplace.

Cons:

Maybe not a "con", however, there have been some difficulties with workers remembering their password. Computer literacy is high at our workplace so we are currently looking at ways to support this!

Tom H.
HSE Manager in Australia
Renewables & Environment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent product

5 2 years ago

Pros:

When we investigated the options for an online safety system for our people, we specifically looked for power at the management level and ease of use for the frontline to encourage uptake. This has been achieved and more with Safety Champion. It also helps that it is at a reasonable price point and local customer backup is all in place.

Cons:

There are features that are yet to be offered, but we can definitely see the improvements coming through at a good pace.

Alternatives Considered: HammerTech and myosh Safety Management Software

Reasons for Switching to Safety Champion: Cost, local support and simplicity.

David P.
business Improvement manager in Australia
Warehousing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Safety Champion

5 2 years ago

Pros:

We really like the visibility you get with Safety Champion it helps with focusing on our safety and ease of setting up regular checks , it also has some standard templates that can be used The mobile phone app is great

Cons:

The reporting is very basic and user friendly

David V.
EHS Manager in Belgium
Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

How to become champion in safety using Safety Champion software

5 2 years ago

Comments: I use the trial version and it helps me a lot to follow our incidents / accidents and the following action plans and to report the EHS results to the board of directors

Pros:

Easy to use Reporting tool (graphical views)

Cons:

One option is missing in "Type of Incident": hazard / dangerous situation

Safety Champion Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for your review! It means a lot to us and we're very happy to see you are enjoying our free product. We hope it can help more organisations with their health and safety management!

Malissa P.
Director in Australia
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple Planning and Tracking Software

5 5 years ago

Comments: We are an independent bottle shop that was looking for a computer solution that would allow our business to track and manage ongoing tasks, and plan for future tasks to ensure that every person across every shift has visibility of what activity is occurring across our workplace. The advantage of Safety Champion is that it also allows us to maintain a register of our Suppliers.

Pros:

Very simple to use. All tasks are listed on the front page and emails are sent as tasks approach completion. Our workers have picked up how to use the program very easily.

Cons:

We have been using Safety Champion for a month, there are no cons that we have observed.

Matt N.
Owner in Australia
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software - happy with it for sure

5 2 years ago

Pros:

It was the only product we found that gave us the full package we were after, at a price that we were comfortable with. Love it.

Cons:

Can't really think of anything. It's all pretty good.

Safety Champion Response

2 years ago

Thanks Matt - really appreciate the review! Glad it's working for you.

Seamus L.
Director in Australia
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple OHS Software that supports Lyke Transport to easily manage its safety program.

5 5 years ago

Comments: Safety Champion OHS Software has helped our business (Lyke Transport) to manage our fleet of trucks and ensure all inspections and checks are completed and evidence is captured. It has allowed our drivers who are often on the road report hazards using their phone and access our insurance information and swms when requested at a client site.
The Safety Champion team have been very helpful with the questions that we have had. They have looked to sure feedback we have provided to continue to develop their offering.

Pros:

Simple to use. The modules are very intuitive. Commissioning was 2 hours in duration and following this, we were ready to used the OHS software. The product has helped our admin team and management monitor safety performance.

Cons:

Does not have an audit/inspection module - however this is in development. Either way, our drivers currently find it easier to complete paper-based inspection checks.

Brett F.
National HSE manager in Australia
Staffing & Recruiting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Effective Safety Management System

4 last year

Pros:

The introduction of the system into our operations provided a user friendly platform which in itself is a major win for our organisation. Encouraging all staff to actively participate in enhancing the safety performance of the organisation.

Cons:

Although very satisfied with the modules within the system that we are currently utilising, I believe the platform would be enhanced by linking the Chemical module directly to a SDS database such as Chemwatch or similar.

Andrina S.
Director in Australia
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Safety Champion support and service has been nothing short of remarkable

5 last year

Comments: Safety Champion support and service has been nothing short of remarkable, and people like us (very small business owners who are slogging it out!!) truly appreciate all you have done throughout 2020, and the continued support as we speak. Cannot speak highly enough of the care and support we have received, so please pass on my thanks to everyone!

Pros:

Customer support and service - 6 out of 5 stars!

Cons:

Ease of use is rated at 3 out of 5 stars.

Angela S.
Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Highly functional with a great user experience.

5 5 years ago

Comments: We are a boutique multi-disciplinary creative studio, specialising in the design of furniture, wayfinding and customer experience strategies. As a growing consultancy, software functionality was our initial consideration as we were looking to establish efficiency in how we work. This said, a lot of the software options we looked at provided the functionality that we needed. The primary reason we selected Safety Champion, was because of the clean and easy to use dashboard - it made training our staff simple. Importantly for us, Safety Champion's User Interface is more modern and also looked nicer, when compared to many of the other compliance and reminder solutions we looked at. A couple of months in and we have had no problems at all.

Zarah M.
Owner in Australia
Hospital & Health Care, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy reminder system

5 5 years ago

Comments: I am a sole practitioner dietetics consultant. Safety Champion has provided me with a simple way of generating reminders for repeat tasks + it has allowed me to maintain patient records in a format that is simple and secure, which allows me to access the records anywhere and at anytime.

Pros:

Allows me to access records on my phone anywhere and anytime I need.

Cons:

None at this stage.