15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Appian

A comprehensive and integrated low-code platform that enables digital transformation.

Learn more about Appian

Pros:

Appian's rapid application development capabilities allow you to quickly standup a production ready application with a user interface and business workflows.

Cons:

May have difficult learning curve for some users.

Appian ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Appian has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 74 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Appian before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (74)

Wayne
Wayne
Manager, Architecture Strategy in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Business Process Management Suite - Appian

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The most powerful feature of this platform for us was the ability to integrate seamlessly into quite a number of upstream and downstream systems using a variety of integration methods (connected systems, pub/sub methods, web services of various types and shared data among others). With thousands of users working across complex, often long-running business processes, this was a key enabler.

Cons:

Recent releases have added capabilities only to the Appian Cloud based product, would like these also available to on-premise installations.

Varnika
Senior Associate in US
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best software ever to build and design business workflows

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It releases new features and functionality in every quarter of the year to keep up with the cutting edge technology.

Pros:

Low code platform so minimum coding is needed and turn around time to build and design workflows, user interfaces, reports, and dashboards is low.

Cons:

Appian is inefficient to handle enormous amount of data.

Parag
Development director in US
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Appian feedback 2017

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Good workflow, Still to mature into a robust tool with better ui capabilities + performance monitoring and debugging capabilities

Pros:

Good workflow capabilities

Cons:

Very basic ui Immature deployment and monitoring capabilities

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for rapid application development

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I was able to quickly standup useful business applications with Appian that has helped my department become more productive in day to day tasks.

Pros:

Appian's rapid application development capabilities allow you to quickly standup a production ready application with a user interface and business workflows.

Cons:

Some of the things involved in application development are not standards based. It feels like I have to learn a new programming language, although it is quite simple to learn.

Sudharshan
Ceo in India
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Appiam alow code no code great tool

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Excellent, but requires more tools to model data flows.

Pros:

Excellent administration dashboards.user setup was very easy.

Cons:

Single instance setup is tpugh takes 40 minutes to update a patch in windows.

Danielle
Recruitment Advisor in UK
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Appian Review

4.0 5 months ago

Pros:

I use Appian most days for my job - easy to use and navigate.

Cons:

I dont have any negative feedback specific to Appian.

Gabriele
Head of BPM CoE in US
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great support and services

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Adopting Appian was a fairly long affair for us, but I firmly believe, as I did then, that the opportunities for business transformation are huge. The software itself is still being honed and there are some aspects of usability that could use improvement. The user provisioning capabilities could be improved as well. The services offered by Appian PS are superior and the prod support experience is impeccable.

Pros:

Flexibility and applicability. Multiuser and multi developer features. Technical support is outstanding.

Cons:

The UI model could use more sophistication. The delivery model could use some simplification, especially the unification of design and designer. Provisioning users for complex apps with a large number of groups can be cumbersome.

Nathan
Head of Technology & Operations in US
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Financial Services Review

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are using Appian as a core system as part of our wider transformational program. Changing the way we engage with customers and speed to innovate.

Pros:

Speed to use and deploy functionality. Overall customer support and service. The Appian Labs offering is great to better know the solution.

Cons:

Nothing really

Omkar
Appian lead in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent BPM platform

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It's a great platform to develop and deploy application in a faster way. Continuous delivery and deployment can be easily achieved with Appian platform.

Pros:

Continuous delivery and deployment, easy development

Cons:

Process model design and implementation is not that easy, Reporting for huge data affects the performance

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Appian User

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: BPM tool is nice to use , RPA and other features are available in the tool and i have not used it yet.

Pros:

Installation and configuration is easy. Maintenance is easy and upgrades are easy. Platform contains latest technologies.

Cons:

Expression builder is a tough debugging ask. Design considerations are to run deep. Database design considerations are also to run deep to maintain developers ease to debug and update.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hugely Effective BPM Tool with Ever-growing features!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been working as a developer on Appian for almost 2 years. This tools has been there in my organization for around 5 years now.
We have replaced so many tools in BPM but this has always remained intact solely because of it's user-friendly approach, easy to learn and build and it's huge market dominance.
I picked up the tool and got going with it in a week's time. It's so easy to learn it. Also, the kind of capabilities and features it provides and the overall UI has kept customer satisfaction levels in my organization at an all time high!

Pros:

This is the best BPM tool I have ever worked on. We are using it in our organization for 5+ years now. Features I like the most are : -Easy to learn and use. -Deployment suite is super nice and easy. -UI is very user-friendly and even a beginner will not have much difficulty in understanding and hovering around the tool a little bit. It's that easy! I was able to learn it in a week's time. -They are now also adding RPA features in the tool which makes us remain on the same tool skill set yet move around other BPM related industry capabilities like RPA and AI.

Cons:

It might be a little costly for small and medium enterprises. I can't think of anything else.

Khemraj
Khemraj
Sr Consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best lowcode app development platform in the market!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Banking sector projects, healthcare projects

Pros:

It’s easy to setup integrations with 3rd party systems, prebuilt standard layouts and UI components & powerful process model capabilities are excellent.

Cons:

UI customisation should be improved, as we can use only standard components with standard functionality.

Peter
Project Manager and DBA in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bc teachers federation Appian systems

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have managed the Appian systems through 5 versions and many application implementations. It is an excellent producer for application development, support no workflow. I thoroughly enjoy supporting the various servers and systems

Pros:

Ease of enhancement, application and social media development

Cons:

Complexity of some of the process models, difficult system to res,tart.

Vijay
Lead Recruiter in India
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Appian - the perfect BPM tool that has Agile in mind

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Its low code platform allows for rapid development, which fits well with the Agile framework. The user experience is enhanced with standard interfaces that are familiar throughout the Appian package. Appian has covered all the bases with all the plugins you could possibly need. From web APIs to SQL integration.

Cons:

Appian lacks in on-premise support for high availability requirements. Appian training is linear and does not cater for real life problems. On-premise organisations suffer from the multiple releases/updates throughout the year. It seems every release has major updates.

Amir
Developer in US
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Appian Developer

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Appian is very great platform to build a wide range of application. It features many integration points with other platform and rapid user interface development

Pros:

Multiple integration points and easy to use interface, multiple browser support and rapid user interface development

Cons:

No much customization for user interface

Frederic
It team manager in US
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Grdf appreciation

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: A lot of features for the next release. We are waiting for since few months, it's why we are developing custom api and too much custom plug in.

Pros:

Easy to create custom development. Easy to understand. Enable to do everything

Cons:

Tempo, so poor and non flexible. Process Testing tool where are you ?

Ivan
Assistant Diretor in US
Education Management, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Incredible fast to create business process and integrate with your systems

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The full power of Appian for us has been its capability to integrate all the different systems and provide a seamlessly interface extremely easy for end users. You'll need to train your teams till you get proficiency.

Pros:

Integration and interoperability

Cons:

Require heavy training to reach expertise.

Brenton
KYC Architect in US
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Appian a platform with tremendous benefits

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: With Appian we were able to build a KYC solution quickly and roll it into production in no time. It provided great flexibility in making workflow changes to meet new requirements without having to make too many changes to existing applications

Pros:

Ease of use Allows for making quick workflow changes

Marianne
Sr. PM in US
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Creating great enterprise solutions

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are using Appian from r our most mission critical systems within the enterprise. It offers many of the benefits we are looking for and we will move additional applications into Appian.

Pros:

The UI and ease of use

Cons:

The fact that there cannot be multiple work streams in development

AKHIL KUMAR
Sr. Appian Developer in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Designer interface

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Appian 17.1 designer interface is awesome but there should be a version history need to be maintained for the record as well, as this should be more helpful for developers. Otherwise all other things are awesome.

Pros:

Designer interface

Cons:

Nothing

Karen
Project Manager in US
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Getting greater

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Appian is really helping us automate our processes. If we could export reports and move portal apps to Tempo easily, it would be amazing.

Pros:

Intuitive

Cons:

Need more assistance transferring to new software functionality

Ankush
Technology architect in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Appian review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I m working with Appian from last three years now. It's awesome product with much friendly with developers

Pros:

Easy designing and development

Cons:

Some time maintaining web service cut become difficult to export

Sunil
Sr. Tech leader in US
Information Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Appian experience

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Very process driven, quick app option for pic and then to the full development cycle is very helpful.

Pros:

Easy to develop a quick app. Well documented

Cons:

Expensive, Report need more options

Vaibhav
Architect in US
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BPM Leader

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Overall very good & exciting to use Appian for all BPM needs & automate the complex processes with good user experience

Pros:

User Friendly Easy to maintain

Cons:

How Versioning of objects is maintained

Piyush
Solutions Design in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to learn and use on a daily basis

Cons:

It could have more features to create maps which are more presentable