15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About VirtualPBX

Power your business with the award-winning Talk and Text service by VirtualPBX. Save up to 80% off VoIP today! Starting at $9/mo!

Learn more about VirtualPBX

Pros:

The ease of use and how cheap it is so you did not lose your phone numbers from business accounts.

Cons:

Using the app on my android phone was slightly confusing, but customer service walked me through setting it up on the system.

VirtualPBX ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

VirtualPBX has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 33 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used VirtualPBX before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (33)

Christopher
Christopher
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A simple way to get a professional phone system for your business

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We have been VirtualPBX customers for years. When our small business outgrew something like Google Voice, we needed something that had robust calling features that matched our business model. We also needed something modern, and VirtualPBX hit the right price point for us. We are a web development company of about half a dozen people, who each need their own extension and routing rules, forwarding to their cell phone, and SIP softphone capability since we're frequently on the move. VirtualPBX provides all these "level up" advanced features of a traditional PBX or in-house system, without all the overhead or tech know-how. Their concierge service translated all our requirements into the configuration and setup, trained us, and then we were off and running.

Cons:

The new "Dash" experience is modern and makes mostly intuitive sense, but isn't perfect. But online chat is very responsive to help you get through any issues you have, and it's right there, which I love. Less so with the software, but I wish the SIP licenses weren't an add-on cost.

Jeff
owner in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

THE SUPPORT STAFFS WERE RELENTLESS

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: AMAZINGLY WONDERFUL- I believe, she has a sixth sense on support. she tagged the problem, hunted down the right solution and now i get no more calls from one of the biggest scammers in US and no more robo calls.i can actually sleep at night. Other support staff has a personal touch and applies first aid along the way while working on support problems. True front line phone warriors.

Pros:

sometimes technical problems can be overwhelming, however i found them to not only offer refreshing approach to problem solving support but also incredibly professional patient and just never ever gave up on getting my problem resolved. AND IT WAS A BIG ONE.

Cons:

there was absolutely nothing i did not like.

VirtualPBX Response

5 years ago

Thanks for this great review! It made our day! We are very lucky to have such an exceptional support and services staff. If you have any further feedback or questions for our team please reach out to [email protected].

Carlos
Owner in US
Insurance, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sole Practitioner

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I enjoy the convenience. As long as I have my cell and my laptop, I have my office.

Pros:

No infrastructure needed. I enjoy the convenience. As long as I have my cell and my laptop, I have my office.

Cons:

I do not have any complaints about the service.

Steve
Steve
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Support was not up to todays norms.

1.0 5 months ago

Comments: Wasted about three weeks trying to get my SMS account set up. They have not clue what they were doing and would do nothing to help me.

Pros:

Nothing, could not get help with problems I was having from any department, all were just passing the buck.

Cons:

Support from their onboarding department.

VirtualPBX Response

3 months ago

Hello Steve, we understand your frustration with not having your texting campaign approved by the FCC. Although our team did our best to guide you through the process, unfortunately, your denied registration was based on criteria set by the FCC.

Monique
General Manager in US
Alternative Medicine, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love our phone system

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: It has been a great experience working with our phone system through VirtualPBX. We have always had our questions answered quickly and thoroughly and feel comfortable with the product.

Pros:

The ease of use and your staff, they are always there to help when I have questions or need to make changes.

Cons:

There is no least about this service, it has always performed well

Andrew
CEO in Portugal
Insurance, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Years of outstanding service

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: 9 years using them and only good things to report.

Pros:

The products and services are great but the level of service is exemplary.

Cons:

Some international numbers (few) are not available through them but are available elsewhere.

Crystal
Office Administrator in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

VirtualPBX has made my job easier!

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: I have a very positive experience using VirtualPBS

Pros:

Being able to access my voice messages from my email.

Cons:

Recording the greetings was a bit confusing for me

Joshua
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Service!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using VirtualPBX for almost 10 years. I was a little confused at first being new to this type of service but the customer service is amazing and one call gets you all set up!

Pros:

Customer Service is top notch. Feature rich platform

Cons:

nothing really. it was a little confusing getting things ported at first but customer service helps get it figured out

Tom
Owner in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I really like VirtualPBX and Virtual Text

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

How it goes everywhere with us and is accessible on all our devices

Cons:

We didn't like working out all the bugs to start with

Joshua
Plumbing Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product & Great Customer Service

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: So far, our experience has been great. The transition to VOIP from landline phones happened seamlessly and we had great service getting setup.

Pros:

The two best things about VirtualPBX is (1) the ease of use, and (2) they're top notch customer support.

Cons:

I miss the ability (that was in a previous generation of VirtualPBX) for the auto attendant to listen for faxes on every line. That is a great tool that is no longer offered, but needs to be re-implemented.

Daniel
Daniel
President & CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Forced 300% Increase for 17 year customer - Only 30 day notice.

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Their management won't directly work with you to resolve and issue that they have themselves brought on.

Pros:

It was a stable platform until their upgrade over the last few years. We worked with them until they got most of their issues resolved.

Cons:

What has become the major issue with VirtualPBX is the cost.We have been a customer of VirtualPBX for 17 years. We have been with them through their technical transition over the last several years costing us thousands in human resources to adjust/fix our implementation so that our system would work correctly. Now they have come after their long standing customers with a FORCED switch over to a NEW pricing plan scheme. We were given only a 30 day notice that we were going to be switched to a NEW plan. No where did it state the pricing difference. Upon several calls/emails with them it became apparent that our NEW plan was going up 300%. They have been unwilling to discount it back down to our previous plan pricing. We haven't changed anything it is their company greed and culture of their management team to force this on their customers. The very best their management team could do was to offer an 80% increase IF we signed a 2 year binding contract. We have never had or needed a contract with them until now.This behavior is borderline criminal to do to customers that have an implemented / integrated system that they know you can't easily switch in a few days.Now we can spend several man weeks of time implementing a new solution that wasn't planned. In the meantime they will be gouging us the FULL 300% increase starting tomorrow.Awful company culture. VirtualPBX management should be ashamed of themselves.

Dany
Dany
Pastor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Started using a VoiP system a few years ago and we've been very happy with it.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Probably my favorite thing about Virtual PBX is the ability to place and receive calls from "the office" from just about anywhere. Their "follow me" features are very convenient. I also love they they are saving us a considerable amount of money on a monthly basis compare to the local phone company.

Cons:

As always, setting things up can be a bit challenging the first time and it's not the most user friendly UI. However they customer support has always been top notch.

VirtualPBX Response

5 years ago

Hi Dany, your review made our day! We love hearing that Dash Plans allows you to turn any location into your "virtual office". If you have any further feedback or questions for our team please reach out to [email protected].

Dan
Sales and Marketing in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Technology no small business should be without!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: 24 hour availability has allowed our business to grow almost 20% each year. Being accessible to our clients has benefited them and their overall experience.

Pros:

It literally allows me to run my business anywhere my cell phone works! Also being able to sort through calls and direct calls to different employees on the weekends have allowed us to capture more work and grow our moving business.

Cons:

Very infrequently, the calls we need to be recorded don't not work

DAN
Office administrator in US
Security & Investigations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Needed help with phone

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like that you can receive on-line help and more often then not they'll be able to guide you to fix the issue.

Cons:

Some of the settings aren't user friendly unless your very computer savvy.

VirtualPBX Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review! We're happy to hear that you receive timely online help from our support team. We are always committed to improving the user-friendliness of our products. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our team.

Ken
National sales manager in US
Facilities Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great way to handle phones

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I had to keep my number as well as numbers of companies we bought and transferring them to out main number has been the best thing we have done. Years you can keep old numbers and cost you 50 a year approx wow!!

Pros:

The ease of use and how cheap it is so you did not lose your phone numbers from business accounts

Cons:

There was nothing I could like least about software it has done everything we need it to and more !

James
James
Solutions Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

VirtualPBX makes my job easier

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am in sales and VirtualPBX works well with my crm. I use the softphone and just click the phone number and it dials.

Pros:

Set up is quick and easy; Call quality is excellent

Cons:

Customer service is overseas and while everyone is nice and tries to be helpful, sometimes it takes a couple calls to find someone who knows how to solve an issue.

Charlie
Broker in US
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Total Freedom

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very pleased. Don't have to think about the phone system and can concentrate on my business .

Pros:

Don't need to hassle with configuration changes once the system is setup.

Cons:

Settled with the console over dash software because I Iike the announcement I receive telling me which of my 2 companies the call is originating from before I take the call. Wish this was offered on the dash plan.

VirtualPBX Response

5 years ago

Thanks for reviewing VirtualPBX. Your feedback is very important to us. We love hearing that our product allows you to focus on what matters most ¿ your business. In regards to call screening on Dash, you can enable Number Prepend Setup to attribute the call to company A or company B. If you have any further questions or feedback please contact [email protected].

JON
OWNER in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

800 VIRTUAL PHONE SERVICE

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH ALL SERVICES AVAILABLE INCLUDING CUSTOMER SERVICE THANKS!!!!

Pros:

THE EASE OF USE IS FANTASTIC AND IF THERE EVER IS A PROBLEM IT'S A SIMPLE CALL TO CUSTOMER SERVICE TO BE FIXED.

Cons:

NOTHING IT'S SO EASY TO USE.SIMPLE AND TO THE POINT.

Mercedes
Administrative Manager in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Customer Service and Tech Support

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Every experience with VirtualPBX has always been incredible.

Pros:

Any issues are resolved immediately. I have always had professional service and follow-up.

Cons:

It is always dependent on our internet service providers quality.

jamieal
owner in Belize
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

VirtualPBX review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Software is great and could bring great success to call centers that are just developing love it

Cons:

Nothing bad about this software it is excellent and has a lot to offer

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Stellar Customer Service

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Port in Toll free number to existing account.

Pros:

Ease of use, working with customer service.

Cons:

A tad confusing but, VPBX offers excellent support/explanations

VirtualPBX Response

5 years ago

Thanks for reviewing VirtualPBX! We really appreciate your positive feedback on our 24/7 customer support and the user-friendliness of Dash. We are always here if you need us to clarify anything. Feel free to contact [email protected] if you have any further feedback or questions for our team.

Christi
Owner in Canada
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

So Far....So Good

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I used their service for a more economical option for a business line and service. I had an issue getting the webphone to work. The customer service/technical support team were awesome. It had to get fixed by the engineering team but the next day they had a fix, and then followed up with me to make sure it was working.

Pros:

- fairly easy to set up - lots of features, even with the most basic plan - tech support has been very responsive!!! - received an email from customer service/support to arrange a tutorial if I needed help setting up the system - very helpful to make sure I set it up correctly

Cons:

- in the future, I will likely need more minutes than the basic plan offers & the next pricing tier is more expensive than their competitors

Touta
Touta
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best customer service

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Overall it’s the only one I can use as wish before I find them I did try many others.

Cons:

The customer service is impeccable and knowledgeable

Cory
Sr. IT Business Analyst in US
Real Estate, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Manage your phone system with ease!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I can't say enough about this tool! So easy to setup your ACD Queues and decide what phone is being recorded or not.

Cons:

NOTHING! So many features at your fingertips and really has made managing a call center rotation so easy!

Joshua
Joshua
Co-Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Terrific SMB Solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were using a GVoice line that forwarded to a cell as our main business line. As you can imagine, that got old quickly. So we started looking for a solution and found VirtualPBX. It was exactly what we were looking for. They made it incredibly easy to build out a Virtual Receptionist, build multiple custom mailboxes, and forward voicemail emails to the right people internally.

Pros:

The team at VirtualPBX made it incredibly easy to add much needed functionality to a phone solution for our small business.

Cons:

I'm finding it difficult to identify something I don't like about the software...