Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About EmailOctopus

Easy-to-use, affordable email marketing tool for businesses and individual creators wanting to grow and engage an audience.

Learn more about EmailOctopus

Showing 119 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Manager
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019

"Fantastic low-cost email host"

Comments: I needed an easy and inexpensive way to host email. This has done the trick and then some! Really pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Very easy to use, inexpensive. Great deliverability!

Cons: Doesn't have an easy way to segment your subscribers.

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 24/04/2020

Hi there,

We have some good news on segmentation - we've just launched this as a feature so you can now segment your mailing list based on custom fields and the data that's most important to your business.

Let us know how it works for you.

Thanks,

Tom

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019
Teresa F.
Service Designer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/08/2020

"Solid free option for creating campaigns and sending newsletters"

Comments: It was easy to start using EmailOctopus, create and send newsletters, and keep track of their stats. Wound up switching back to MailChimp because newsletters often did not reach many of the recipients with EmailOctupus.

Pros: - The free version is good enough for use in a small company
- Campaigns are easy to create, start, and track
- Mailing lists are easy to create, import, export and edit
- Easy to use, even for new users

Cons: - Emails often did not reach their target recipients
- Editor could have more features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/08/2020
Jacques-louis K.
Marketer
Media Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2019

"I tried many Email services and EmailOctopus is my favorite"

Pros: - Very low cost: EmailOctopus uses Amazon Simple Mail Service to send emails, for a fraction of the cost of other email platforms - Integrated API: I automate my list building using EmailOctopus full featured API. I can connect EmailOctopus to my workflow - Real-time statistics: watch in real time how your campaigns perform - Outstanding support: I needed support to use the API and got great help from them

Cons: It lacks a list segmentation feature and the list contacts editing could be more user friendly.

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 24/04/2020

Hi Jacques-Louis,

We have some good news on segmentation - we've just launched this as a feature so you can now segment your mailing list based on custom fields and the data that's most important to your business.

Let us know how it works for you.

Thanks,

Tom

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2019
Phillip C.
owner
Consumer Electronics, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2020

"CEO"

Pros: not as expensive! it's easy to use and works great! Never had a problem with it and always have had good success with it.

Cons: I'd like some more functionality but I understand if I need to pay to get those things.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2020
Tj M.
owner
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019

"Breaking up with ML was the best thing I did"

Comments: I can't say enough good things about them. From the moment I decided to use their service and ongoing. When I have had a question or issue, they respond almost immediately (time zones:). They listen and respond directly. My email open and click rates have improved SIGNIFICANTLY since changing providers and my SPAM complaints have dropped as well.

Pros: I like that this service is easy to use, intuitive, and comes with a great cost in comparison to other providers. Every feature has clear guidelines and tutorials if you don't already understand how it works. My emails are clean, responsive and attractive without being garish or too cluttered.

Cons: There are some features that it would be good to have, such as list-scrubbing features to prevent adding members who are already subscribed, and to resend to people who did not open an email. BUT- the company is very responsive and has been developing new features that they have been implementing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Christopher M.
Director
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2020

"Using Email octopus for newletters for my customers"

Comments: Brilliant. The user interface is easy to use. It is clear what to do with little or no training and pretty straight forward.

Pros: I like how easy it is to drag and drop images onto newsletters. The templates are really good too.

Cons: The restrictions to the number of emails being sent can make it hard to balance my prices accordingly. I use it to put newsletters together for my clients. Effectivly i am a middle man, a one of mayment per x number of emails would be a good feature rather than a monthly subscription.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
Affiliate Manager and Digital Marketing Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2019

"A simple bulk emailing software for basic needs"

Pros: I had first used EmailOctopus a while earlier. Until then and now, the software has grown to the point that it allows you to create beautiful and responsive email templates and send them with Amazon SES.
Amazon SES is known to offer the best inboxing rates but the thing I liked the most was its real-time analytics. The integrations offered are also satisfactory.

Cons: This software is just for basic email sending. There is very limited opportunity to create a complete email marketing automation with it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2019
Tanya K.
Principal Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2018

"Fabulous email marketing service! Easy to use with great features."

Comments: Great email marketing.

Pros: The cost you can't beat anywhere! It's very easy to use, has loads of features and is comparable to most of the other "usual suspects" in the email marketing world. I love love love Email Octopus!

Cons: The only con that I can think of is that for a non-techie like me, it was a bit difficult to connect with Amazon SES but once the connection was made, its been all uphill.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2018
Graeme F.
Founder
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2020

"10 mins to send an entire campaign"

Pros: The ease of setting up Email Octopus meant I could sign up send a new campaign to 15k ppl within 10 mins.
It's very simple and easy to get started - email can be stressful, but Email Octopus makes it 100x better!

Cons: Maybe there could be API options to send email.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2020
Brando R.
CEO
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2018

"Decent. On the way, but waiting for upgrades"

Pros: We like the fact that it works with AWS servers to help keep costs down and only pay for what you send. Although, we are still paying a decent monthly fee for the service on top.

Cons: - Can't duplicate a campaign once its been sent. This is a pain to have to recreate campaigns that you may just want to tweak a bit and resend to a new list.
- No API to send mail. Big bummer.
- More template options

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 16/02/2018

Thanks for your review Brando. You can definitely duplicate campaigns, I've sent instructions on how to do this to your email address.

As for your other feedback, we take it on board and appreciate it. We have a couple of things coming later in the year which may make you very happy, namely a new version of the API and a new editor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2018
Ian L.
Sales Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019

"Great tool for email marketing"

Pros: Ease of set up and clear instructions for AWS.

Cons: Lack features of some other competitors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Robert N.
Owner
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019

"A Huge Value for Anyone With a Large List"

Pros: The best thing about EmailOctopus is honestly the price. Compared to other options, the cost savings are astronomical.

Cons: I think the only real drawback to EmailOctopus is how limited the features are. Having a sparse feature set is good to some extent because it limits what can be done and lets us focus on just getting emails sent out. That said, having almost no real automation at all and not even things like being able to segment our list based on what a given subscriber has purchased or when they have purchased feels a bit too limited.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Chris S.
Lead System Engineer
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/12/2018

"A Good Email Campaign Platform"

Comments: Simple to get started, integrates with many other applications/platforms, a good competitor to MailChimp.

Pros: Its has many of the same features and functions that the big email campaign platforms have, but at a percentage of the costs. Unless you have some particular need you're solving with MailChimp or CampaignMonitor, EmailOctopus will deliver mail reliably at a lower cost. Uses Amazon SES, which should be fairly reliable.

Cons: I haven't used every feature, but what I have used so far (simple mail lists, campaigns, etc.), I do not see any cons.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/12/2018
Monica C.
Author
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"When I went looking EO was there!"

Comments: I've been using EO for over a year and I love it. They keep improving and I'll stick with them to the end.

Pros: I love the price first off. I also love the easy of set up and the quick and efficient home dashboard.

Cons: I need a link, like a landing page, or a functionality to easily copy paste HTML to make one on my website. I haven't seen that yet.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Tina S.
Author
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/01/2021

"Good but not open to everyone"

Comments: So and so.

Pros: The free plan is pretty generous and it offers the complete array of features for email marketing.

Cons: The sign-up process. They require you to answer a number of questions before they activate your account, and the way they ask those questions make you feel like you're an imposter.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/01/2021
Verified Reviewer
Author
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Excellent Value."

Comments: Excellent. The support here is terrific. Once I figured out a template that would work for me, it became very easy. I do have trouble with the line spacing though. It does show in the final NL the way it shows in the template.

Pros: The Cost. It really is excellent value for the money.

Cons: Getting started was complicated, and the line spacing doesn't show in the template the way it does in the final product. I have to double space everything or it looks cramped.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Dean D.
Founder/Owner
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2019

"2019 EmailOctopus Review"

Comments: My experience with EmailOctopus was a little frustrating trying to get things set up properly

Pros: What I like most about EmailOctopus is the price. Thousands of emails can be sent for a fraction of the price compared to the more typical cost structure of email services

Cons: What I like the least about EmailOctopus software is the learning curve it takes to properly connect to AWS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2019
Kevin W.
Principle
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2018

"Can an Octopus beat up a Chimp?"

Pros: EmailOctopus is going up against some pretty big incumbents (ie MailChimp). They offer the same great features to help you automate and track your email blast campaigns. Even though they're relatively small by comparison, they're built on top of the Amazon Cloud, so you're guaranteed rock-solid reliability.

Cons: It seems like the analytics offered aren't quite to the same caliber as the bigger guys. They're usable and adequate, but you can't dig into the numbers very deep.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2018
Mike S.
Founder / SEO Specialist
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019

"Best tool for email marketing!"

Comments: We have multiple startups and we mainly use EmailOctopus for our email marketing across all startups.

Pros: Clean UI, easy to use, fair prices and great support!

Cons: Nothing at the moment. Would love to see an app for iPhone (and Android) though. Would be great to see reports on the go.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Software engineer
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Good value for money"

Pros: Report for sent campaigns has many details.

Cons: Email builder is not powerful enough. More templates would be useful too.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Loreta B.
Marketing Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019

"Great value for money"

Pros: Amazing support team, very responsive and kind. The tool is on a very reasonable price and being continuously developed!

Cons: lacks some features like a/b testing but they will be ready soon

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Editor
Writing & Editing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Low Cost Email Marketing"

Comments: I see good delivery rate for my mails and the ROI is also very good.

Pros: Low cost, Easy of use, reports and very effective.

Cons: You need an functional AWS account to use this platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Aniket G.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2018
Jan sigetty B.
CEO
Publishing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Unfair comparison with Mailchimp"

Comments: I like it, but that's because I found workarounds. Fx. I design the NewsLetter in MailChimp and copy/paste the HTML. It works fine that way.

Pros: I moved from MailChimp, because of the price tag. Octopus is way cheaper, but it's still possible to send the same quality emails and that's​ great.

Cons: 1. A better interface to make your own template/design. Limitations in fonts, sizes, etc 2. List features are limited. No way to create segments or groups based on subscriber data. 3. Regarding reports: A graphic overview of where the clicks are placed.

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 04/10/2018

Hi Jan,

Thanks for the feedback. We have some good news on the campaign editor- we've just launched our new drag & drop email builder.

It's only in Beta at the moment, however I've added it to your account and you'll be able to use it in your next campaign.

More updates to come based on your feedback, too.

Thanks again,

Tom

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Mikey C.
Author
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2020

"Reliable and cost-effective"

Comments: Overall I've been very pleased. I have tried several other providers and found that this service is excellent and compares well with other providers who charge a lot more for similar features.

Pros: EmailOctopus offers a reliable platform at an excellent price, and the level of customer support is particularly good. Questions are answered promptly and efficiently. The platform is easy to use and has a good range of features.

Cons: I'd like to see the drag and drop email editor improved. It works well enough and the emails look good, but it is not as slick as other editors I've used.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2020