Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About ISL Light

ISL Light remote support software lets you control a remote computer or mobile device. It's cross-platform, secure, fast, customizable.

Learn more about ISL Light

Showing 274 reviews

Christian M.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019

"Solid alternative to Teamviewer"

Comments: It was a positive experience for us so far. The software allows us to provide a professionally looking remote support service to mostly new and unknown users.

Pros: We've just renewed our license for the third year. We're using it to provide remote tech support for our customers and it never let us down so far. Our support staff likes working with it. Certainly not looking back to Teamviewer again.

Cons: Two relatively small issues with it, last time we checked:
1. The chat identifies our staff as "Desk" and there is no way to change this. In TeamViewer we could set our identification to whatever we wanted (We had it set to "Firstname Lastname - Company" for clarity and personal touch).
2. It uses the chat like a log, so everything that happens while we're connected gets logged in the chat, and we feel it's difficult to carry on a conversation with someone with log output cluttering the chat.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019
Michele A.
CTO
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2020

"Easy and effective"

Comments: We use ISL to give technical support on customer's machines. It is super easy to install, since the executable files come already setup to connect to company account. Connection is reliable and fast.

Pros: Lightweight executable, can be used in all platforms.
User management interface very effective.

Cons: Some issues in RDP tunnelling on MacOs.
Tricky to set-up on auto-scaling cloud machines (not critical at the moment).
It would be great to be able to ask for help by raising a flag on AlwaysOn (so that at operator side we know which machine raised it).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2020
Jandirk V.
IT Consultant
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019

"Excelent product for remote support"

Pros: I like the Cost- and the ease of use of this tool.
I started with using the prepaid version and later on used the subscription, the change to the latter product was seamless, Excellent.

Cons: I could not find a way to create useage reports, to be able to easily create the bills to my endcustomers for the support they got

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019
Bruce C.
President
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2020

"The right product at the right time"

Comments: Very helpful customer service people. I wish I remembered the name of the first guy I spoke with.

Pros: I find it's easy for my usually-non-computer-literate clients to connect to me when needed. They can follow the directions and get me connected. I discovered this just as COVID was causing my business to switch to a remote-support model. I was not happy with the alternatives. I like that there's a big blinking arrow telling the client where to click.

Cons: I got a bit confused about how to make the unattended-access feature work, but I'll get back to that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2020
Dave H.
Partner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2019

"Reliability Every Time"

Pros: Cross platform connection to provide remote support, easily, quickly and reliably every time we need it. Always on option out performs other remote support options and offers good value for money.

Cons: It's difficult to think of many if any Cons for ISL.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2019
Silvester M.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2019

"Review"

Pros: We like Always on option. Good licensing model for us.

Cons: We have problems with some client computers, which doesn't connect. Screen is blank specialy tablet, mac. When we need admin rights we have sometimes dificulties.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2019
Dario P.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020

"Probably the best remote support software around"

Comments: It just works very well and it has made our support experience painless

Pros: The possibility to self-host the server and to customize the product.
It is really easy to use even for "difficult customers".

Cons: It is not cheap, but it is even not too much expensive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020
Frank D.
Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Good competitor to Teamviewer"

Comments: Always working. I have never seen an issue With the software for all the years we have been using it.

Pros: Stable and very fast. Easy to provide support for Our Clients.

Cons: I wish the software was a little cheaper but its Worth the Money.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Tommy andre B.
PN
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2019

"Happy customer"

Comments: Good company and reliable products I can recommend it and haw used it sins 2010

Pros: It's working with my customers and has everything I need

Cons: It's working on both platforms windows Mac

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2019
Aksel R.
Manager
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2019

"Good software"

Pros: Easy to download and install for back end users. Easy to build in and call directly from other software. Fairly cheap

Cons: It would be an improvement if it said 'Enter 8 digits here' in the field where users enter them. Some users press enter after I have said the first 4 digits. It could also be an improvement if users only should enter 6 digits and not eight. Why so many digits? There can't be more than 999.999 users at any time anyway. If the download and upload of files function could be replaced by copy / paste it would also be an improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2019
Peter S.
CEO
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020

"professional IT Support with ISL"

Pros: Easy to use
easy implementation
own communication server

Cons: complicated apple first time support - but I think it's due to Apples security features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020
Eric T.
CEO
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019

"Easy to use"

Pros: The product is very easy to use. I have used it for many years and prefer it to other products I have used for a similar purpose.

Cons: Sometimes the user interface can be counterintuitive such as the chat window being the session window instead of the remote desktop window. There is no way to configure it so closing the remote desktop view terminates the session. Especially if one is on a pay per use coupon, the purchased 500 minutes can accudentally get used up by forgetting to close the chat window.

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 28/02/2019

Hello,

thank you for your review!

The behaviour you described with the interface being counterintuitive is similar to the behaviour of ISL Light Desk, which is an older version of ISL Light. In the older versions, the chat was indeed the main window, but this has since been improved and in the newest versions of ISL Light, the session window is now the main window.

I suggest testing out the newest version and seeing if this does indeed improve the interface: https://www.islonline.net/download/ISLLight

Let us know if you will have any additional questions or issues!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019
Lars henrik M.
CEO
Program Development, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2019

"Great software"

Comments: Its works stabile when you remote-control a customer even if customers got 2 or more screens.

Pros: When you remote control a customer the mouse movement is shown to him. Not all vendors are doing that. :-)

Cons: It seems difficult to redirect download / upload to the path you like.

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 12/02/2021

Hi Lars, just to let you know that the newest ISL Light version added support for our new File Manager functionality. This functionality will allow you to simply transfer files between the local and remote computer by drag and dropping files in a simple-to-use graphical interface. Currently, the File Manager functionality is available for ISL AlwaysOn connections, as well as on-demand sessions where the remote client is a Linux or macOS machine. For on-demand connections with Windows remote machines, by default, this functionality is not available. However, if you would require this functionality in such a session, it is possible to instruct the client to download the ISL Light application instead of the ISL Light Client, then in the ISL Light application choose Options -> Join and join the session this way. Then, the File Manager functionality will be available in this session as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2019
Vesna P.
director
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2019

"Easy and quick"

Pros: Our entire team use it as remote desktop access for straight support to our customers. It simple, quick and very user-friendly tool. I would highly recommend it!

Cons: can't remember any real cons right now :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2019
Alejandro D.
Systems Technician
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2020

"Almost perfect."

Comments: Using ISL daily to help my work colleagues is easy and funny. I like making groups of computers and getting all organizated.

Pros: Easy use, groups, good organization. Good support team in every language.

Cons: Connections of users sometimes are late and don't detect internet connection. There should be a button to manually connect to ISL servers. To force that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2020
Létitia R.
Winbiz Teacher
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2019

"Great programm!"

Pros: The possibility to open a session from any any computer. The easy use of it for me and the client. Also the transfert of files is very easy.

Cons: The resolution of screen is not optimal , especially when the client has 2 screens. What would be great would be the possibility to see the two screens of the client on two screens and not only two in one.
Otherwise, a little othger negative point is the chat that is not optimal. The Windows should be shown on screen as soon as we send a message and not only blink.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2019
Taufique A.
Senior solutions manager
Government Relations, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020

"Isl feedback"

Comments: Overall this is a great product
Easy to install, white label and support our clients

Pros: Overall great product for what you get in the price I really like the live chat and Remote Desktop

Cons: Screen recording
It works but for some reason you’ve chosen to have the video in a format that only isl software can view
We can’t even convert the file to a different format It would be much more useful if the video was In mp4 so it can be played or hosted online

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020
Christopher A.
Director of IT
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"ISL is one of the best"

Pros: Ease of use along with a fluid transition within the application. We recently switched to the hosted version and love it. We have an alternate remote client if we ever have issues and i can say we do not use the other.

Cons: Drawing tool used to be a big feature i used but had issues with it recently. I have not reached out to support to find out why but i know they would be on it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Dave S.
Consultant / Partner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"Great Support Tool"

Comments: We use ISL to support our contracted clients, we find it reliable to use and our clients like it as well

Pros: We like the ease of use for both the clients and ourselves, we also like the easy file transfer feature and the ability to give easy Ad Hoc support

Cons: No downside really, we transitioned fronm LogMeIn which had a slightly higher feature set but that was coupled to a higher priceing model !

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Leonard L.
Service Managament Technician
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/09/2019

"Great product"

Comments: This is a go to product for supporting all ours customer, wherever they may be. The logging of session is very usefully for any billing queries or for auditing purposes.

Pros: Easy to use and time saving features. The recording of session is also very useful for training or knowledge base for solving issues.

Cons: No cons that I can think of. Really a great product!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Andy G.
Director
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019

"Great Software"

Comments: Use this software all the time when my clients have computer and network problems.

Pros: Very easy to use, never fails, lots of functions.

Cons: There is nothing I dont like about, perfect bit of software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Barbara V.
Support
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2019

"ISL Light makes support much easier"

Comments: We use ISL Light daily to support our clients and troubleshoot whatever issue they might have. It's an indispensable tool.

Pros: the software is very easy to use and it always works. we haven't yet experienced a downtime. and it's fast, the delay is close to none.

Cons: user management could be done better. can't think of any other cons.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2019
Agostinho F.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2020

"Excelent Software and Easy to Use"

Pros: Is a software easy to use and very fast to connect to my computers.

Cons: In this software the only feature that can be improved is the connection (allow to control) all Android and IOS terminals

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2020
Mark M.
Big Cheese
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2021

"Does what it says on the tin"

Comments: our engineers find the simplicity hard to beat when comparing with other products

Pros: Simple for non-tech individuals to use and download

Cons: Integration into Microsoft Dynamics would be superb

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2021
Urs F.
Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2021

"ISL online is great!"

Pros: - Easy to use
- Possibility to have our own server

Cons: Black-Screen function is not working on every windows constellation

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2021