Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.8 /5

About Engage

The best in class employee engagement and feedback platform, Betterworks Engage enables leaders to build trust and drive engagement.

Learn more about Engage

Showing 39 reviews

Aleta M.
CHRO
Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"Excellent Platform"

Comments: Loved how helpful customer support was, and how willing the company was to modify for what we were looking for. The team at Hyphen really want to deliver a product that is easy to use and they are willing to talk through any issue to find a resolution that works.

Pros: Hyphen is super easy to use for all of our employees. Text surveys that all can answer in less than 2 minutes from the ease of their phone. Clean display of information for admin is also amazing.

Cons: Takes a bit to learn how to navigate back end, however once you get it, super easy to launch surveys.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 16/12/2019

Hi Aleta, thanks for the review, we're glad the platform has been a benefit to you all. As for the back end navigation, we tagged that as an item to make more user-friendly for the future. Thanks again, we appreciate it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Executive
Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018

"Hyphen User Experience"

Pros: Hyphen, with its AI technology is extremely user-friendly and has given me the ease of access to understand the employee's voice as well as the sentiment about existing topics of discussion. The deployment of surveys and the analysis of the surveys are extremely easy and the scope it has for modifications and customization

Cons: The fact that the app and insights app are two different things becomes a little bit of a concern as having two separate formats can become confusing for users

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018
Jeff K.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Simplicity, speed... and great outcomes"

Comments: Really friendly company interested in meeting our needs and making the workplace more human. Excellent mobile and web product for company-wide or more targeted engagement surveys. And cool analytics and alerts for top management but also middle management subreports (love that!). Minimal effort to get started and get to know top areas to work on on an ongoing basis.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Pankaj G.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Powerful hub for feedback throughout the company"

Comments: "While listed in the Employee Engagement category, it is interesting that Hyphen can be used for soo much more than Employee Engagement Surveys or Pulse Surveys! For instance it's very relevant for Diversity and Inclusion, Event Preparation, Change Management, Idea Generation, etc. Try it for one use can and you'll start wanting to use it for more stuff!
"

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Alex S.
CEO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2016

"Easy and useful"

Comments: We started to use Hyphen a few months ago. It is an amazing tool to get an overall view of our employee satisfaction which is crucial to our business considering the high turnover in our industry.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2016
Stefen P.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Five star employee engagement + great app!"

Comments: The Hyphen team has a true passion for people and the employee experience. The app is great, super intuitive, responsive and easy to navigate! Thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Anastasia B.
Talent Development Lead EU
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"restrictive for the fast-pace growing organization"

Comments: see above

Pros: I like the insights function - this makes eNPS analysis easier for the team leaders

Cons: Some of the things in the tool set up are quite confusing: there are 3 ways of checking participation and users have a lot of questions about that.
As we have a lot of changes in the org structure, every time we need to update the database, which is cumbersome and full of errors - I have a feeling that data isn't overwritten. And sometimes our Success Manager disappears without absence notes or doesn't follow up on the tickets, created. This makes it challenging for me to "sell" the tool internally.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 16/12/2019

Hi Anastasia, thanks for taking some time to share your thoughts with us, this kind of feedback is really helpful for our development and CSM team. We, too, want to help you "sell" this internally and make this an impactful tool for the business. I met with the team this morning to go over your comments and identify issues we can fast-track to get resolved (and resolve for future users as well). Thanks again for your honesty, it's sometimes hard to hear for us, but this is how we get better and better day by day, with good feedback like this. Take care!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Diane S.
CHRO
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020

"Great product but need more reporting capabilities"

Comments: Positive!

Pros: Setting up was easy and having templates was great!

Cons: When going through the data at the end, I can’t Let each leader into the system easily to see their results. I have to do the reporting and capture it elsewhere in order to share it by each leader.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 07/01/2020

Hey Diane, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We share each review with our Customer Success team as well as Product team and its valuable intel for us to get better at what we do :)

Dustin tells me he's meeting with you in 20 minutes so I'll let you two cover the reporting capabilities comment more then, its a very valid point of improvement. Thanks again Diane!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020
Malaika N.
Senior Executive - Human Resources
Sports, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2018

"Good"

Comments: We use it so that our employees speak their mind

Pros: Its user friendly. Wide range of surveys.

Cons: The scales cannot be reversed while making a survey.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2018
Sarah M.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Hyphen helps listen more, understand better, act faster"

Comments: Before Hyphen, we were knee deep in comments with no additional insight; which put us in a terrible place. We'd given our employees a voice, but we didn't know who was speaking. Hyphen allows us to not only identity our issues, but who is being affected. Issues are raised- all while allowing our employees to remain totally anonymous.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Karthik J.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2017

"Big thumbs up!"

Comments: Hyphen is not only an excellent pulse survey system (engagement, diversity, change management, etc), but it has a ton of value in encouraging employees to express themselves without fear of judgement, start topics that they think are important, and comment on topics created by others.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2017
Bernard H.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2017

"Moves culture forward"

Comments: I have not stopped raving about Hyphen since we started using it nearly a year ago. I love how incredibly easy it is to use. The robust reporting allows us to view our data in every way imaginable and managers have easy access.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2017
Debra K.
SVP, People Success Lead
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2016

"Great way to engage employees and build connection"

Comments: Hyphen is a fun, easy to use app that enables organizations to quickly measure employee engagement. It also provides a vehicle to surface ideas and concerns and to build connection among employees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2016
Marco A.
VP, Client Service and Strategy
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2016

"Easy and engaging way to communicate with co-workers and share ideas."

Comments: Pros ease of use, fun way to communicate, love to move up in the "rankings" Cons not really any, since it is easy to turn off channels that are not relevant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2016
Johanna H.
Administrator, Office of Innovation & Strategy
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2019

"Hyphen Review"

Comments: We are working on improving our organizational culture, achieving alignment in our vision, mission, and priorities, and improving recruitment & retention of specific segments. Hyphen helped us identify the specific areas we need to focus on, the needs of the specific segments, and the areas where are efforts are either working well or not working. This will allow us to be more strategic in our efforts, instead of disparate efforts that we hope have the desired effect.

Pros: The software gave us this amazing way to reconnect with our employees after a long time of no engagement. It was completely configurable and very flexible to our needs. It provided insights into our employees perspectives we've never had. The sentiment score helped quantify the open text responses, the demographics along with the anonymity threshold gave us the ability to tie answers to groups of people without identifying any one person, and the system is easy and intuitive to use and navigate.

Cons: For many good reasons, it's not possible to export all of your data at once, however, the customer service team worked with me to get just what I needed. There was an overly ambitios anonymity filter that was removing a lot of my responses, but again, as soon as I reported the issue, the team immediately fixed the problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2019
Merwan B.
VP engineering
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017

"Great UI, powerful analytics, useful insights"

Comments: Love Hyphen - easy to use for one-time and recurring polls, as well as hear what's really going on in the company. Great improvement lately on visualizations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Associate Manager
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2018

"Hyphen Feedback"

Comments: Overall experience has been good. They have listened to customer feedback and brought product improvements which has helped us a lot.

Pros: It is easy to use and mobile friendly
Customer Support

Cons: Insights need to be further improved in terms of speed and analytics

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2018
Kevin F.
Director - HR
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2016

"Great platform for open conversations, ideas, feedback and actionable insights."

Comments: Simple to use
Simple to implement
Great engagement and reengagement
Always on and on mobile
Improves management and leader visibility to address issues
Employees love the transparency of ideas and comments and the anonymity
Execs love how it separates the signal from the noise in the company
This oughta be a platform that companies cannot do without

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2016
Celine L.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2017

"Impactful Conversations and Data"

Comments: The Hyphen platform lets our employees do the talking, and analyzes the text for sentiment and topic. Really cutting-edge, powerful stuff that's helping our organization pinpoint cultural challenges and successes at every level and facet of the organization

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2017
Guillaume J.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2017

"Much more than just surveys"

Comments: I have found Hyphen to be more than just a great product. While it is easy to use and keeps improving, what I love is the focus on customer success. I will be faitfhul!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2017
Thien T.
CTO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016

"Helps get feedback from new employees"

Comments: Has helped us get open and honest feedback from some of our new employees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016
Carrie G.
HR Specialist
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019

"Great tool for geographically separated companies!"

Comments: We partnered with Hyphen to begin an overhaul on our employee engagement and our initial survey was a great success! We've been able to use the data collected through the Hyphen system to create true actionable items to improve our engagement. Our managers are coming up with new ideas of where survey data could be useful to gauge the pulse of their employees and we plan on distributing regular pulse surveys through the coming year.

Pros: The software is so easy to use by everyone and easily customizable for whatever kind of survey you want to create. I also liked the ability to reach employees via text as well as email. We have many employees who are limited on the content that is allowed through email so having that ability is crucial.

Cons: There is nothing that stands out in my mind that I didn't like.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 19/12/2019

Hey Carrie, thanks for the review and for the business! Clients like you give me a paying job, so I for one are pretty grateful :)

For sure let us know whenever you have any ideas or big goals, we're adding staff to our CSM team and pushing to really roadmap our clients to better data, more insights and measureable change as a result. Its great to hear its working well, let's keep it going! Take care! And happy holidays, too :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019
David A.
VP Finance
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"Hyphen adds value"

Comments: Hyphen provides a mechanism to capture, analyze and act on information related to employee sentiment and engagement. While there are no perfect solutions when trying to assess human behavior, we appreciate the accessibility our employees have to the platform and the way it can quantify different parameters related to the culture and experience at our company. It has added some structure to what was previously quite a grey area.

Pros: The accessibility across multiple platforms and anonymity for the users.

Cons: The requirement of an e-mail account to use the program can be a barrier to use as the company does not provide e-mails for production line workers and some are resistant to using their personal accounts.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 16/12/2019

Hey David, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, especially around the email account creation for line workers. Our CSM team says they may have a solution for that one, so they'll reach out shortly to talk it out. Otherwise, thank you again for taking time out of your day...if there is ever anything else you'd like to see or have questions on please do let us know, we're happy to help!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Lisa C.
Director of Human Resources
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020

"Product is a solid performer; setup and use could be more functional"

Comments: Positive. I would feel confident recommending the product as long as any new users understand the pros and cons of it's capabilities.

Pros: Super easy to use. It was easy to set up my questions (including custom questions) and it's been really easy to navigate through to see results. The webpage that hosts the actual survey was easy for my EE's to use and they appreciated the Eng/Spn options. The results are easy to filter through so you can review data sets in various ways.

Cons: Exporting the results should be easier; instead of just having an Excel option, it would be great to have a PDF option so you can print various reports in different ways and still have the formatting look good for presentation purposes. The software itself worked well but, at times, the rep didn't follow through on something that needed to be done so it required a bit of effort on my end to get the survey up and running the way I wanted/needed it to.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 07/01/2020

Hey Lisa, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I'll pass this on to the CSM and product teams for them to review your commentary. This is the kind of feedback we rely on to make our product even better :)

I'll also let the CSM team know about some of the PDF issues that are there as well. Thanks again for sharing Lisa :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020
Daniel T.
Business Intelligence Analyst
Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019

"Tons of potential!"

Pros: I love how automated this software is when it works. It can take out many manual tasks for a company.

Cons: The setup for uploading data using the Hyphen API has been a bit more difficult than it should be. This could be streamlined using different integrations.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 19/12/2019

Hey Daniel, thanks for sharing your thoughts with us, we appreciate the honesty. For sure that SFTP issue is a knotty one...dealing with data from HRIS systems can be a real headache and a timesuck. I pinged Dustin internally to let him know this is a clear area of improvement and keep you guys top of mind on that data formatting. He also sent a note to product about it, too. When the customer speaks we listen :)

Thanks again for taking the time, we've got a new year coming up, we'll keep focused on making this easier and easier to use for you guys. Take care!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019