Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Device42

ITAM Software: Track complete hardware & software asset life-cycles, licenses, contracts, certificates, renewal reminders, and more!

Learn more about Device42

Showing 49 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Infrastructure Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best DCIM platforms out there with an API that allows great possibilities

5 4 years ago

Comments: This has become a tool to nearly everyone in the organization. It has allowed us to keep track of a very dynamic environment and ultimately improved user workflows. These types of benefits improve our quality of work and allow us to save time in many ways for other aspects of our business.

Pros:

One of the best things about Device42 is their amazing customer support; they are very quick to address issues and are always implementing feature improvements. Device42 also offers a one-stop-shop for all things DCIM, a robust IPAM, Password management, and additional add-ons such as power monitoring that has ultimately helped improve our workflow and organizational capabilities. Their auto-discovery tools are quite in-depth at pulling information from our devices.

Cons:

With all software, there will be bugs and issues to workout, but Device42's willingness to tackle and improve upon their platform constantly is what keeps us coming back. Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.

Kriss A.
Process developer in Sweden
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Useful, rough and improving

3 3 years ago

Comments: We use it for DCIM and network discovery. Does a good job at both and the value for money is there. Support has been very helpful, development seems overworked - don’t except a quick resolution to the issues that are present. Would definitely recommend the product. As a side note, they are offering cash payouts for five star reviews, so I’d encourage taking any reviews with a grain of salt.

Pros:

The feature set is decently well thought out and it does what it says on the tin. We rolled it out to cover 1200 devices (60 or so models) inside if two months, which is a very good clip - most stuff worked out of the box and we managed to work around annoying (but minor) issues to get workflow integration going.

Cons:

The UI is the weakest point, both in terms of usage and documentation - a good portion of it is undocumented or under documented. The password vault offering may be useful in some scenarios but is insecure by design, would not store anything actually sensitive in it. If you use bonding/port channels, expect that most of the network visualisation breaks down.

Verified Reviewer
Sr. Manager of Open Systems, Mainframe & Network in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Robust product and amazing supprt

5 4 years ago

Pros:

The flexibility of the product overall. It's ability to integrate with so many other products through it's open API was a key reason for purchase. I love the ability to make mass changes to devices by exporting the data out to a spreadsheet format and re-importing versus having to touch each device individually.

Cons:

There are a few limitations to the current version of the product but support has been wonderful to deal with and they truly listen to their customers requests for future functionality. We are still learning the product so I can't speak on all functions as of yet. Building single scan jobs to encompass, SNMP v2/3 as well as SSH would be great versus having to build 3 different scans for the same subnet space. I'd like to see IPAM show all IP addresses for a particular subnet showing both used and unused IP's. Currently it will just show you used so you need to scan through and look for a break in the sequence versus looking for an IP with a green bubble showing it's available. These are small Cons and definitely not a show stopper for us. Just nice to haves.

Matt M.
IT Infrastructure Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Glad we purchased this product.

5 10 months ago

Comments: Love it.

Pros:

Within weeks of deploying and ingesting data we are making smarter IT decisions.

Cons:

Just a small learning curve but better than most.

Satesh P.
Systems Engineer in US
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to keep everything organized in one place.

5 3 years ago

Comments: Each team would maintain multiple spreadsheets for physical inventory, passwords, rack diagrams for each datacenters, warranty information and software licenses. Having one tool to manage all this information simplifies everything and makes it easier to update everything . One pane of glass as they say.

Pros:

When I first started using Device42 I was impressed with how helpful the sales team was in the deployment process. Once deployed I noticed how many tools were included in the base software. In the first few weeks after deployment in our data centers we needed to quickly run an inventory of all of our SSL certificates. Using Device42 we were able to run in an automated scan that gave us a report that we used to update all of our SSL certificates. The more you use the software the more things that can be useful for you company. I can also say that their support is top notch and always willing to help and work with you until your problem is fixed.

Cons:

There is not much to complain about when it comes to this software. If I have to nitpick I would say that it would be the update process. I would prefer for the updates could be directly installed. Other than that its a great product to use.

Verified Reviewer
Integration Lead ESMS in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Discovery Plus

5 3 years ago

Comments: I had a requirement for a quick discovery exercise and Device42 was able to be deployed and start returning results with a minimal setup. More functionality is configurable and will be used in the future to enhance the reporting on the discovered data. This product is able to be deployed in a very secure environment and still be fully functional. I'd highly recommend this to anybody wanting to get a quick discovery and detailed reports.

Pros:

Great support team for help with installation and issues with certain OS discoveries. A lot of information is available without the requirement to deploy agents first. Good on-line documentation that covers off the main uses of the software. Updates every fortnight containing product enhancements and bug fixes.

Cons:

Reporting engine is a little slow when wanting to export the output in csv or excel formats, this is being improved with the recent enhancements for direct database access to enable the creation of bespoke dashboards.

Alex R.
System Architect in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A one stop shop IT Asset Management Software that constantly improves with every iteration

5 10 months ago

Pros:

We currently utilize D42 software as an asset management tool to create a single pane of glass across all our data centers. Although we are not utilizing the software to the fullest is it very instrumental to how we operate. Support is always available and very responsive.

Cons:

At this point i have no qualms with the software and look forward to the upgrades as the d42 have alot in the pipe line.

Yuriy U.
Senior Systems Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pretty much THE best datacenter inventory software

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Easy to find information. Easy to capture information.

Cons:

Appliance can be moody sometimes, with disk space issues and database issues.

Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Did a Proof of Concept; looks pretty good!

4 3 years ago

Pros:

It does a good job of what we want to use it for - discovery, inventory, and with a way to extend it with info from our other systems via REST. The support team is knowledgeable and thorough.

Cons:

Discovery definitely needs better logging.

Verified Reviewer
IT Operations in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Device42 review

5 3 years ago

Comments: The support is great and helps us when we have both large and small questions. The dependency chart is
appreciated by our change manager.

Pros:

Great tool with many features, you can start with one area and populate it and then move on to next area until all is linked together. We started with the IPAM area to get away from our Excel spreadsheets. I realy like the feature that lets me populate something and then export that data into Excel. In Excel I can quickly add more rows of same type of information and then import it back into Device42. We have also started to leverage the welldocumented and powerfull API. The ability to add custom fields helps you to make sure you can add business specific information.

Cons:

The autodiscovery features are really powerfull and sometimes picks up unneaded information. An improvment here would be to bbe able to exclude som information and connections.

Verified Reviewer
Discovery Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !

5 3 years ago

Comments: D42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.

Pros:

D42 support is very quick and to the point. Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily. This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase. This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies. It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.

Cons:

Few reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports. No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite. sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning. No CLI option

Verified Reviewer
Systems administrator in Lithuania
Verified LinkedIn User
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product and excellent support

5 4 years ago

Pros:

We use Device42 to implement our customer environments. It gives us a great overview of the customers IT estate and enables us to track inventory and server layout connections. Their Support is really responsive and helpful and when an issue or feature request is put in support works with development and the customer until the issue is fully resolved and tested

Cons:

This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

Verified Reviewer
Data Center Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good software

5 3 years ago

Comments: We are not utilizing the software to it's fullest, but primarily use it for asset management and data center views. It has been a tremendous tool for us as we have over 7,000 devices, more than 180 Comm rooms and 100 buildings. Hard to imagine tracking all those devices and rooms without this software.

Pros:

Very easy to use, great customer service and great support. Any issues I have had, Device42 has been more than willing to help resolve. In fact on more than one occasion we did a WebEx style meeting and they stayed on the WebEx much longer than I expected, all to make sure I was completely satisfied and the issue was fully resolved.

Cons:

The auto discovery does not automatically discover every device we use, However, when we come across something that is not being autodiscovered, Device42 programmers are more than willing to take a look and make the software as fully functioning as possible

Mark M.
Lead Systems Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Device42 Review

5 3 years ago

Comments: We use Device42 for literally everything: servers, switches, PDUs, secrets, etc. I couldn’t imagine not having it.

Pros:

Device42 has a very comprehensive set of features. All aspects of your inventory can be tracked, most things are first-class citizens, and can be related to one another. I like the fact that it’s an appliance. Their support is excellent — you can tell that they put customers first.

Cons:

I have a few feature requests that I’d like to see some movement on. One of the most important ones, for us, is API tokens (instead of username/password).

John C.
Tools Engineer in US
10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great customer support

5 4 years ago

Comments: We were able to get our CMDB up-to-date very quickly. The asset management team is very happy.

Pros:

Extremely quick responses and resolutions from support team. Auto-discovery features have proven to be very useful for us to quickly gather lots of information regarding our environment. Very granular reporting features keep our users happy.

Cons:

Although I understand why it's this way, it is annoying not having the ability to drop to a command prompt on the main system or the remote collectors. However, I believe they may attempt to engineer a solution for this soon.

Ezra O.
Dir. of Infrastructure in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

D42 Review

5 3 years ago

Comments: We have been using spreadsheets for asset management. We are also spread across multiple Data Centers so it suits us well as far as building organization.

Pros:

It is extremely thorough. It addresses all and more of the needs that I have come up with. It is also very well connected. All devices can be connected from the device down to the switch and router etc.

Cons:

It does not have the flashiest interface I've ever seen, but it makes up for that in content.

Dustin B.
IS Engineer in US
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product and service.

5 3 years ago

Pros:

This product is awesome, and is available to be viewed from anywhere internal information/db can be updated. Absolutely love this product. And it's fast to access. Support team is top-notch!

Cons:

There are no cons on this product other than going to version 15 requires another virtual machine. But that's minor.

Paul P.
IT Help Desk in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great software, amazing support

5 3 years ago

Comments: It's great for keeping track of all inventory. This is exceptionally helpful with the number of leased devices we have as we have custom reporting alerting us when they are about to expire.

Pros:

Very comprehensive software. Easy to run custom reporting that suits our environment. Able to attach documentation to assets. It does it's job exceptionally well. The support for any questions or issues we encounter is exceptionally good. I submitted a simple ticket via email and it was resolved within 10mins. Any ticket I've submitted for assistance was updated very quickly, and if the issue was more substantial, their techs would follow up consistently.

Cons:

Backup options are a bit limited to use what is pre-configured. Would be great to be able to use a backup system like Datto, but we were able to work with the pre-configured solution.

Verified Reviewer
Technical Service Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Value for money

5 3 years ago

Comments: It's a very good software for device discovery. Value for money.

Pros:

The functionality of the software and the various options for discovery

Cons:

Assessment option is not available to migrate the workload on cloud

Hindi - J.
It country head in Jordan
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Device 42

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and have multiple choices for scanning all platforms

Cons:

Application mapping and impact it’s a little complicated tree

Andreas Z.
Network Engineer in Germany
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very Good IPAM solution with lots of future potential

5 4 years ago

Pros:

- Easy to use - Tool aligned to current customer and Business Needs - Open for new customer and Business Needs with quick release cycles (Feature request processing)

Cons:

- Licensing - Full and direct application HA failover missings

Rajesh S.
Network Engineer in India
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Device42 Review

5 3 years ago

Comments: excellent

Pros:

Autodiscovery of devices and simple and intutive user interface

Cons:

No support to auto discover ucs servers

Zack G.
CTO in Serbia
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easiest Data Center Management Software I've Seen

5 5 years ago

Comments: I've used BMC before and I've tested Nlyte, and they are great, but from start to finish this was the easiest one I've seen so far, and from the looks of it, the most comprehensive one. I've yet to discover all of the features, but it looks like it has more to offer than BMC for sure. Loving it so far...

Pros:

Ease of installation and functionality

Cons:

Price

Earl G.
Data Center & Integration Engineer in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Devie42...Making asset management a breeze for our organization!

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Product is easy to learn and put to use We work on a shoestring budget, so cost was a big factor in our decision to use this product Support has been excellent from day one. We have submitted recommendations for the product and actually seen them written into the code. New features being added all the time API's allow us to integrate with VMware vRealize Automation

Cons:

I can't really say that I have a Cons list. We have had some small issues here and there with scans and just things that we would like to see added. But support and development came through and helped us work out those issues! So, this is really a PRO

Kevin P.
Data Center Engineer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Device installation use and troubleshooting

4 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the product is value for money. If you invest the time needed you will be rewarded with a powerful and comprehensive computer resource audit database.

Pros:

Simple, easy to install and scan your network. Helpdesk is excellent when you have issues. Once mastered it is a very powerful auditing tool.

Cons:

Fiddly to set up correctly, a little convoluted, the reports are complicated to set up correctly