15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About VisionVPM

VisionVPM is a full-featured user-friendly veterinary practice management solution designed to turn your practice into a great business

Learn more about VisionVPM

Pros:

The Vision support Team are always friendly, helpful and FAST. Nothing is too much trouble.

Cons:

I would be very weary of any Shein software from this point on in the future.

VisionVPM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

VisionVPM has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 25 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (25)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Countries

Countries

Usage

Sort by

Have you used VisionVPM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (25)

Shelley
Practice Manager in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WT&C Vets Vision VPM Review

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

What we as a business like most about VisionVPM is its ease of use. We can have new staff join us & within a couple of lessons of learning the system, they are having no issues or hassles navigating through the Vision system.

Cons:

What we like least as a business with VisionVPM is not having direct IT support & majority of the time are having to leave messages for someone to contact us back. We are normally only calling when we have major IT/programme concerns & too not have direct access to fix straight away can be a little frustrating.

Covetrus Software Services Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback Shelley, we appreciate it and will flag the note about support.

Cathy
Chief Wellness Officer in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customer Service second to none

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've had no regrets with installing Vision from day 1 at the clinic. I use the full General Ledger capability which essentially saves me from having to buy an entire additional software package. The Team has been responsive to change requests and the customer service has been outstanding. When we had a server disaster I had round the clock help from Vision until we were back up and running. I can't fault their Team.

Pros:

Vision, developed over such a long time, obviously contains the functionality needed to effectively manage a veterinary clinic, but it's the customer service that really makes the difference for me. The Vision support Team are always friendly, helpful and FAST. Nothing is too much trouble. It makes an enormous difference to know that there is someone on the end of the line who will respond immediately and actually solve your problem the first time, whenever needed.

Cons:

There's a few areas where fewer clicks would be useful and there is a lot to learn, so often this is a case of just knowing a better way .... Much of my reporting I do external to Vision, exporting data and then using different tools to present it.

Alternatives Considered: ezyVet

Reasons for Switching to VisionVPM: I knew the customer service would be excellent, the program was comprehensive, the price was good and the purchasing experience was seamless.

Jenny
Clinic Co-cordinator in New Zealand
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jenny Clinic Co-ordinator

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Great, support is great, however sometimes we would like an answer right away rather than waiting for someone to contact us back the next day.

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to fix or change things if necessary.

Cons:

Unfortunately it is hard to know what we "don't know". Not sure how to make this better, training or a list of tips?

Covetrus Software Services Response

last week

Thank you for the feedback Jenny, we appreciate it.

Roberto
IT Administrator in US
Veterinary, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Not to sure how to feel about this one.

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

With all the recent buzz about all this acquisitions by Henry Schein is a bit hard to evaluate their products with an open mind. Software perse this is your typical PIMS system with more or less the same features like any other.

Cons:

I dont like where Shein is heading with their EULA these days seem like they are more keen in what they can use your data for than what their software can help you do with that data. I would be very weary of any Shein software from this point on in the future.

Sally
Owner in New Zealand
Veterinary, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vision VPM

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Fairly easy to use. Intuitive. There are many different ways of achieving the same thing.

Cons:

Can be confusing, especially when generating reports. Also online user manuals not always the easiest to use.

Joshua
Co-owner in Australia
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vision VPM review a clinic owners perspective

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and learn - generally easy to onboard new or temporary staff Stable Support is good - see comment below - some great people on the team - Liz Z and Hayden spring to mind

Cons:

Overall product is great - main concern is the 9-5 M-F customer support which tho standard for IT industry does not reflect the Vet professions business model. As a user since 2012 - response times have become longer over the years - Updates come with a video tutorial which sounds great but the tutorials are so dull (sorry Liz!!) I cant bear to watch them - they would be much better if instead of a single hour long video of which only 5 minutes is applicable to how you use Vision - the video tutorials on updates come as a email with links to short segments so you can dip into the content that's relevant to you - woud be interesting to see how many people view the update tutorials in thier current long form

Covetrus Software Services Response

2 years ago

Hi Joshua, thanks for your review. Your feedback is super valuable to us! These comments will be passed onto the team.

AMber
Practice manager in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and learn, lots of great features.

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall it's great software and mostly hassle-free to use. Their automation services have been great and saved us a lot of time.

Pros:

It's very easy to learn and to onboard new users. Has a lot of useful options. Regular updates that are fairly easy to install. There are lots of great reporting features.

Cons:

When i first started using Vision, over 10 years ago, the customer service was easy to access with a quick phone call at any time of the day but over time it got harder to get someone on the phone and it's common to have to leave an email and wait for someone to get back to you. It seems like they are a little understaffed now in that department. Sometimes the wait times are a little long. It would be great if they were available out of hours for clinics that do after hours. The customer service people are always super helpful and friendly though and always fix my problems quickly.

Trinette
Practice Manager in New Zealand
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

20 years of using and wont change now

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Always get great service from the helpdesk when needed within working hrs - after hrs not so much but hey cant win them all.

Pros:

I have used this for nearly 20 years and when I went to Auckland for 5 years used another system that I found a lot more complicated and had flaws. Im still learning all the things Vision can do

Cons:

The cost of all the extra add on's but it is a far superior product to any on market and guess its because its well developed that it costs.

Covetrus Software Services Response

4 years ago

Thank you Trinette for taking out time to leave your review. We are delighted to hear that you have been using VisionVPM for 20 years. We are thrilled that your practice has received excellent support from our team and that any issues have been resolved quickly and efficiently. We will pass your feedback on regarding after-hours support to our team to ensure we continue to provide the best support. Your feedback and suggestions are vital to the continuous improvement of VisionVPM. Our thanks again, Covetrus Team

Kirsty
Veterinary nurse and admin in New Zealand
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veterinary software with many functions

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

We like that VisionVPM is an all-in-one veterinary software - appointments, patient records, accounting etc

Cons:

Sometimes (as with any software) there are bugs, sometimes found after an update. However, these are usually fixed quite quickly. Sometimes it takes quite a while to get hold of technical support on the phone but if you email them, someone usually calls back within the day.

Covetrus Software Services Response

last week

Thanks for the feedback Kirsty, we appreciate it.

Miranda
Office Manager in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

We have used VisionVPM for 16 years. Great product, easy to learn and has lots of additional feature options. Regular updates and they listen to user suggestions.

Cons:

Although the customer service staff are wonderful (highly recommend Liz and Hayden). It can take a bit to hear from them. I believe they may be a bit understaffed at the moment.

Covetrus Software Services Response

last week

Thanks for your feedback Miranda! We appreciate it.

Carlotta
hEAD NURSE in New Zealand
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great customer service

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Great customer service, fairly quick to get back to us and are very friendly and helpful easy to teach new users to use , the basics are straight forward

Cons:

often some of the handy little features are unknown until you work with someone who knows about them. Can be a little be hard to find the path to make changes to adhocc/email templates

Covetrus Software Services Response

4 months ago

Thanks Carlotta for your review and feedback, we'll pass this on to the Covetrus VisionVPM team.

Reann
Reception in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Customer Service

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The Service we receive from Vision is exceptional. While there can occasionally be a wait on the support line, the staff are worth the time. They're quick with solutions and suggestions, are keen to teach how to rectify issues ourselves, and are able to quickly help with anything we can't fix here. Their dedication to helping us ensure our business has all of the system support it needs is fantastic. They're also really lovely!

Pros:

Vision has myriad useful features to make managing our day simpler. It's customisable, has automation features to take some of the load off, and is clever.

Cons:

There are some ways in which the product isn't very intuitive (no directs links from some windows to others).

Andrew
Office Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great customer support, ongoing improvements

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: We've been using VisionVPM for eight years now.
In that time it has matured into a well-integrated highly functional practice management system.
PROS:
On top of the usual integration of billing and history and automatic diary notes and reminder generation, features include
- automatic import of path results from in-house machines as well as several external pathology services. This works very well, integrates automatically when hospital record reference numbers are added
- SMS integration. Great for reminders and general communication with clients. Emails and SMS are now easily accessed for historical reference. Very handy
- stock control and automated ordering system. Whilst we don't fully utilise this, it is extremely powerful. Most integrated if you're a Provet customer, but still quite good for other suppliers.
- EFTPOS integration. Great for reducing error rate in receiving payments. Uses Tyro who are very competitive with their rates.
- client reminder system can be highly automated to reduce wear and tear on reception staff.
Fantastic customer service, doing well keeping up with the growth of the customer base. Only the odd time when they've been unavailable due to not enough support staff on the day. CONS:
Long promised moving to different platform (from Omnis to .NET) hasn't yet eventuated, leaving only the appointment scheduler looking up to date, and the rest starting to look a little dated. Still fully functional, just a little tired looking.
Reporting is a little clunky, but most popularly required reports are available (this is an issue for much accounting software, btw). With a little MSQUERY and Excel nous, a lot of the gaps can be well filled. SUMMARY:
All in all very satisfied with the product. Matches functionality of main competitor with more modest hardware requirements. Can see it going forward with Henry Schein's input.

Mandy
Practice Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Packed with features yet simple to use.

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: At Kenwick Vet we had been using Viva software for several years and were happy with the program. There came a point where we felt that we had "out grown" Viva and wanted more in a software package. We needed to be able to streamline how we managed our practice and improve our time management yet improve our client communications. After conversations with Kaye Hannah we decided to explore Vision. We soon discovered that Vision provided us with features we were looking for. The ability to be able to SMS reminders for appointments, vaccinations, worming, flea treatments and so much more was a major drawcard for us. Also the ability to send clinical notes with lab results and X-rays to specialists, or to insurance companies, with basically just a click of a button was a huge bonus.
Our transition from Viva to Vision was flawless. All the groundwork is done behind the scenes with no disruption to the hospital. Tracy then came in to train all the staff for 3 days. A roster was set, by Vision and ourselves, to ensure that everyone was available for different aspects of the training which was suited to their roles within the hospital. The training was hands on with Tracy watching to ensure we all understood different aspects of the program. Then came the day we went "live". The feeling in the hospital was borderline panic. Everyone was so nervous. Well, it was a breeze, much to our delight. Tracy stayed on for a few days to assist with any questions which we had and also to make sure that the program was running as it was supposed to.
We have now been using Vision for several months and we are still discovering new features within the program (which we probably forgot that Tracy taught us). All our staff have been fantastic with the transition and are so pleased with the many features which make the day to day jobs more efficient, yet simple.

Alex
Vet in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vision VPM for small animal practice

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Vision VPM has been very useful in standardising our approach to work flow. It has many useful features we are still discovering. We aim to move to paper free by 2023, utilising the Vision App

Pros:

Very easy for new staff to pick up, excellent software support, good features

Cons:

Sometimes the updates throw us out until we're used to the changes. Can be tricky to get the lab connection integrated after an update.

Covetrus Software Services Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for your feedback Alex. This will be shared with the team.

Danielle
Practice Manager in New Zealand
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great user-friendly software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Fantastic

Pros:

Customer service team super helpful and knowledgeable. Very diverse software, that is user friendly

Cons:

Nothing I can think of at this stage, Thanks

Covetrus Software Services Response

4 years ago

Thank you, Danielle, for taking out time to leave us a fantastic review. We are delighted to hear that you find VisionVPM to be an intuitive and user-friendly software. We will also make sure to pass on your compliments to the support team regarding receiving excellent customer support. Regards, Team Covetrus

Joan
Office Manager in New Zealand
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

xxx

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great - been using for 22 years.

Pros:

Fully inegrated with inventory, payroll & general ledger

Cons:

some staff disliked the inflexibilty. I am happy with software

Covetrus Software Services Response

3 years ago

Thank you, Joan, for taking out time to leave your review. We are delighted to hear that you have been using VisionVPM for 22 years. Your feedback and suggestions are vital to the continuous improvement of VisionVPM and we appreciate your honest feedback.

Jess
CA Clinic Coordinator in New Zealand
Veterinary, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vision VPM Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Fantastic!

Pros:

Very easy to use. Not made too complicated. Changes are made often to keep up to date. Very easy to learn when we changed over from our old system

Cons:

Remembering where to access everything because there are so many great things you can do with this program!

Covetrus Software Services Response

2 years ago

Hi Jess, thanks so much for your feedback. This will be passed onto the team.

David
Owner (Director) in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Vision VPM user for 9 years with excellent customer support

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: The customer and stock modules work well, although it does take some time for new staff to master some of the data entry processes - particularly with multiple animal appointments. Clinical records, reminders, and client information is easily recorded and accessed.
Updating to recent versions of the software is very easy.
The Controlled drug report is extremely useful - allowing precise reconciliation with the drug register.
Integration with Vetscan machines for recording pathology has been a great help.
Fully integrating purchases from multiple suppliers into the stock file remains problematic.
The inability of Vision software to fully integrate with bank files is an ongoing drawback. This can partly be resolved by using "Tyro" for eftpos integration, however this comes at some cost. The advantages of using Bpay are significantly reduced as the bank payment files cannot be integrated. We are looking to try the Direct Debit payment function soon.
Various face-to-face training opportunities are provided, while the overall customer support is very prompt and efficient.
Moving to electronic client communication for invoicing and reminders will be our next project.

James
Principal Veterinarian in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Installed Vision with the development of a new practice 5 years ago

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pros:
* In built general ledger negates the need for entering data into another bookkeeping software. Also allows financials to be accessed immediately with many reporting features
*New appointment book very efficient and easy to use
*Powerful ability to generate marketing lists
*Integration with Provet Connect ordering allows invoices to be downloaded with auto updating of stock levels
*Strong text messaging ability for reminders and client communication
*Strong stock control ability
*Ability to add stock message on invoice makes it easy for clients to understand what each item is for.
*Excellent customer service and support. This is important especially after installation
*Updates and improvements regularly come out.
*System stable rarely requiring restarts
Cons
*No payroll component activated for Australia. Would be complete package if this was provided.
*Can be called 'clicky' -> multiple clicks to get to one area. This has improved lately with the addition of shortcut toolbars
*Email system inbuilt is a bit cumbersome to use and needs updating. Do have option of using MS Outlook to email clients
*No ipad/touchscreen variant available

Don
Director in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Overall Good, Has some very good components when you know how to use them.

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Overall I am happy with Vision and it has help our business to grow. Support is up and down. Sometimes support staff will contradict each other with what they tell us or train us to do, support information provided needs to be more consistent across the board.
Vision needs to move to a cloud based product or Vet Businesses will look to move to Vet Software that has this option.
Integration with Xero would be a huge step in the right direction.
Stock control systems need to improve. Using the ipod to order stock but also to do stocktake would be great and needs to happen to make stock control much more quick and efficient. Diary integrated with the appointment book (.net) would be good.
I think the overall appearance of the visions screens, tabs etc.. needs a face lift to look more modern, upgrade needed.

Deborah
Director, Veterinarian in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Vision VPM Veterinary Software

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have used Vision VPM since 2006, having previously used other veterinary software including RxWorks. The VISION product is intuitive and easy to use, and is continually being updated and improved. The support staff are courteous and helpful, and the entire team are open to comments and suggestions if there are features that would be useful to add. The process for updating is very simple. The new website portal makes change requests and communication even easier. We have been fortunate enough to participate in some beta testing of new modules, and find the VISION response to problems to be very rapid. I would definitely recommend this product.

Felicity
Managing Nurse in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Generally Very Good & Easy to Use

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pro's: Easy to make appointments, general day-to-day stuff, new appointment scheduler. Cons: Lack of spell check, report designer, marketing, current balance on general client search. If Brad's away we struggle to get help.

Covetrus Software Services Response

9 years ago

After discussion with WestVETS we discovered they haven't used the free updates to more recent versions that include: Marketing, Spell Checker, Report Designer and that due to the relationship with their implementation team member Brad ("He knows how we work") they prefer to contact him.

Vicky
Director in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Vision VPM

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: We have been using the program for over 6 years and have found it to be very user friendly.
The program has regular upgrades so we are always updating our system to get the most out of it. The supplier integration is a real time saver and keeps our pricing correct which is so important to us

Barbara
Practice Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Tarwin Veterinary Group

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Excellent service, helpful, efficient, prompt, good follow-up, prepared to consider programme changes.