15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Capptions

Capptions Direct is an EHS software with an online marketplace that connects companies seeking compliance with industry experts.

Learn more about Capptions

Pros:

Easy to use, able to built templates, assign action holder while reporting.

Cons:

Limited dashboard functionality, but most of all the fact that although limited we sometimes loose our valuable work due to unclear problems in the system.

Capptions ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Capptions has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 28 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Capptions before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (28)

Geertje
Geertje
Compliance-coördinator in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Capptions helps us build and maintain a single source of truth for our compliance management system

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am certainly satisfied with Capptions, and the ROI is positive. In the run-up to the re-inspection, we started working intensively with Capptions,and the auditors are very pleased with the way we now keep a grip on our safety management system.

Pros:

No more data gets lost, everything is captured using the user friendly app and stored in a powerful dashboard

Cons:

I am currently missing reminders on the deadline of actions due, but got convinced that this is will be rolled out soon

Capptions Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your kind words Geertje. Working with AFS is a pleasure. We are indeed working on reminders for actions. As soon as it's ready, you'll be the first to know!

Clei
Product Manager in Spain
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use and intuitive

5.0 last year

Comments: Excelente, due the pricing + product + support. Im more than happy!

Pros:

Easy to use, mobile friendly, reports... Capptions its the one stop shop for compliance

Cons:

The customization right now doesnt give you that much of flexibility (forms)

Tom
Software Developer in Netherlands
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

For our application, capptions is quite easy to use.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It helps us monitor trees in a more efficient way.

Pros:

Except for connecting our QR-scanner to a phone, the part of our monitoring process for which Capptions is used is easy and intuitive. Also, support service is fast and adequate.

Cons:

It is slightly outrageous to me that Capptions charges per monitoring. Unless there is manual labor involved in each monitoring we do, this does not make any sense. Also, the amount charged per monitoring limits scalability of the whole process.

Capptions Response

6 years ago

Hi Tom, Thank you for your review! We understand your point with regards to the pricing as we also spoke about today. We will discuss it internally and consider it for future reference. Happy to know that you are satisfied with our solution! Kind regards, Anje from Capptions

Krissi
HSE Engineer in Netherlands
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Managing safety processes with Capptions

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Generally, I find Capptions a very easy-to-use tool and I enjoy its features both as a user and as administrator. Furthermore, I have a very positive experience with the Capptions Support Team who are always ready to listen to the needs of the Client, discuss and create solutions.

Pros:

Capptions is a great tool and platform to monitor, manage and work on safety related processes. It is very handy that we can have safety reports, incidents, inspections, audits, and other forms digitalized. On the one hand, we are saving on a lot of paperwork (sustainability). On the other hand, we have a central location where all forms and actions are organized and easily accessible. The third thing I enjoy most about Capptions is the phone app. When you have logged in and you are somewhere without internet connections, you can complete and save forms offline, and submit them when internet is available again.

Cons:

The one thing that can use improvement is when a form (case file) is/can be completed by 2 persons at the same time. In that case either person receives a notification that a change was made in their form but the change cannot be directly spotted unless the person reads through the complete form.

Capptions Response

3 years ago

Hi Krissi, We really appreciate your positive and extensive review! Thank you for the feedback. We are constantly busy with bettering our platform so everyone can get the best use out of it. - Nora

Johan
Interim Information Manager AEB Amsterdam in Netherlands
Renewables & Environment, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Waste Sampling at your fingertips, intuitive and easy to use !

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The Capptions platform can be rolled out on a use case by use case basis, this makes it easy to calculate ROI's and demonstrate to senior management the added value. We consider this for now a gem in our applications portfolio.

Pros:

The structured way we can capture data in the operational environment and seamless integration in the management dashboard. The easyness by which completely different use cases can be implemented using the same platform makes the adoption process smooth.

Cons:

I would like to see the roll out for the complete HSEQ life cycle to take place. The size of this project has sofar limited the organization to do so sofar however the software is ready to go.

Capptions Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your review Johan! Glad to hear you're satisfied with the platform. We look forward to a further roll out.

Ilja
HSEQ manager in Netherlands
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Replace paper registrations

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have almost totally digitalized all paper registrations on the HSEQ department.
Saves time, real-time al information available and more inside in trends and root cause of findings.

Pros:

Possibility to adjust to your own preference Template building for all registrations can be done by costumer. Real time inside in observation, trends and status of actions to be taken.

Cons:

internal Notifications to users on status casefiles can be improved.

Geertje
Compliance coordinator in Netherlands
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My experience is very good, AFS mainly use the action part of the program

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: the government was very satisfied with the guarantee of following up of actions

Pros:

Especially the personal that help you when you have any questions, they respond is very quickly and they take the time to help you out. The software is very easy to work with for the administrator and user. The government was during an inspection very pleased about the way that we can garanty the following up of actions from audits, inspections, safety walks, etc. The people of Capptions are listen at your questions about what your company needs to make it work for them

Cons:

I miss a manual to create templates, especially because you don't do this every day. No reminder mail will be sent to the owner of the action when the due date is exceeded.

Capptions Response

6 years ago

Hi Geertje, Thank you for your review! The team is thrilled to hear such good feedback. We're also working on new support articles, and I appreciate your feedback regarding the need for a manual. We will definitely take this into account! I will also look into the reminders, perhaps this is something that we can add. Kind regards, Anje de Jager

Thaddeus
QC Manager in Netherlands
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy interface, easy to use and good app

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Good. We have been using this software for a few years now and are happy with it.

Pros:

Easy interface, easy to use and good app

Cons:

No easy customization of the output and sometimes the pictures do not sync properly. This is not reported by the software and can only be seen when the reports are made.

Capptions Response

4 years ago

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, Thaddeus. I know the issue with the pictures is under investigation, apologies for the inconvenience. We hope to get back to you with a solution as soon as possible.

Henrik
Henrik
After Sales Manager in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Industrial Automation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A little helper with big results

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

We are able to create personalized reports to our needs. The program helps to create standard reports for customers as well internal reports for our service engineers. The possibility to write reports via desktop PC, laptop, phone or tablet is much appreciated and gives us plenty of alternative ways to create the information for our customers and colleagues quick and clean. We've been able to reduce the time for report creation between 50% - 70%.

Cons:

In our case we double check reports before sending them out to customers. If we see mistakes there is no good process in place how to inform the creator of the report and to follow-up the corrections. Today we have created a little work around.

Vaibhav
Sr. Digital Marketing Executive in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome Document Management Software

5.0 last year

Comments: Capptions is best cloud-based document management platform that helps all the organizations and businesses to manage their document processes. We are using this software for Document Management and It works Smoothly for us.

Pros:

It's offers wide range of features like Document Management, Risk Management, Quality Control and Real Time Reporting to improve your work quality. The Software is very easy to use and affordable for all.

Cons:

I didn't face any issue with the software. It will be great if they improve their features that helps more than now.

Ron
Coordinator Improvement Projects in Netherlands
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The voice of the operator has been mobilized with Capptions-> a breakthrough for our bussiness

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, plug and play inspections, Engaging everyone in the organization to contribute to continuous improvement.

Cons:

Limited dashboard functionality, but most of all the fact that although limited we sometimes loose our valuable work due to unclear problems in the system

Capptions Response

6 years ago

Hi Ron, Thank you for your review! Ardagh is a valued customer and we very much enjoyed working with you on the recent case study. As for the bug you mentioned, I understand our team is working very hard to get to the bottom of this. Our CTO will be in touch today. Hopefully we will be able to find a solution quickly and continue our shared road to continuous improvement. Kind regards, Anje

Pim
Service Manager in Netherlands
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Paperless administration for field engineers

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Elimination of paper flow, thus increasing speed and accuracy of processes Implementation of different procedures for different departments in 1 application High level of customization included automated e-mailing (in/outside the company) Wide range of devices and browser support After initial setup high range of customization possible (DIY)

Cons:

Limited possibility of customization of dashboard (reporting) Overengineered use of labels, escalations and files. Too complex compared to the ease of use of the app!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ampelmann experience

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very good experience, easy to implement, Capptions people are proactive and provide prompt assistance to remedy any problems as they arise

Pros:

Easy to use, problems are fixed easily, cost effective, easy to create and publish forms, training requirements are minimal for administrators as well as users, whole process of entering a Capption report through to investigation and closure is smooth, easily adaptable to work with other systems for reporting

Cons:

some managers would like have easier overview of their Capptions - need an extra layer of supervision from the present one layer. Reminders for when Capptions or Case files are overdue (plus an escalation process) is not available at this stage.

Capptions Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback. Glad to hear Capptions is working so well for you guys, we're happy to have you on board. The reminders have been added to the roadmap, we'll let you know as soon as we have that available for you.

withu
Director in Zambia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly Recommend

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great customer service, I'm still learning to use it and it's going very well

Pros:

Template builder is amazing, very friendly and easy to use interface

Cons:

The phone app sometimes takes about a minute to open, that can be mildly inconveniencing

Jakob
Quality Inspector in Denmark
Machinery, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Inspections

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great overall experience.

Pros:

It is very easy to use and works like a charm

Cons:

There is nothing bad to say. We are all very happy with the software.

Margarita
HSE Specialist in Netherlands
Farming, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very good software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sutisfied with the platform.

Pros:

Easy to use, able to built templates, assign action holder while reporting.

Cons:

That it doesnt have live charts for safety trends.

tarlan
HSE in Azerbaijan
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

HSE Manager Safety Manager

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

To understand and prevent serious incidents, organization admins can determine which incident categories are those and create a suitable process to assess the root causes.

Cons:

Record inspections of PPE , lifting equipment, staff records or any other important documents on your iPad, iPhone or any mobile device.

Capptions Response

5 years ago

Thank you Tarlan. Glad to hear our platform is making a real contribution in understanding and preventing incidents.

David
UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Safety Changer review

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Having worked closely with the Safety Changer platform over the past 12 months we have found both the product and service very good. With a global sales force the need to have a reporting solution which is efficient and accessible is essential for us to deliver world class safety. We continue to see great engagement from our users both in UK and overseas.

Capptions Response

7 years ago

David has shown to be a true @safetychanger in his drive and commitment to deliver world class safety to both his colleagues at the sharp end and the HQ management team. Working with David is a great pleasure and rewarding in achieving impressive results in quantity and quality of safety information captured, analysed and improved upon.

Vladyslav
Consultant in Czechia
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great functionality and support

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Preset templates helped to build an application meeting our needs, very user friendly and intuitive, easy to implement and train users.

Cons:

From our experience and based on our needs we did not have major dislikes.

Capptions Response

4 years ago

Dear Vladyslav, thank you for your kind review! We'll be keeping up the good work. Let us know how we can be of further assistance!

Svetlana
UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Use of Safety Changer App

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The App is very friendly, easy to use. It creates a logical approach to completing the inspection. Following the App during the inspection process facilitates a great coaching conversation with the driver. Automatic report upload is a useful feature. I also like the feature that allows attaching any supporting documents, pictures or videos as evidence. Overall it's a huge improvement on paper checklists for our organisation.

Capptions Response

7 years ago

Working together wit Svetlana is a real pleasure, she¿s dedicated to improve the process within BP and she gets it done! Helping to improve driver safety on such a big scale is a great and rewarding project to work on together!

Arjun
Sr. Digital Marketer in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Really loved the software.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It helps in building great workplace as well as managing the all my important documents. On time alerts with no data loss.

Cons:

Still I am unable to find some notifications.

Capptions Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for the review Arjun. We're glad you enjoy using Capptions.

Kevin
SHEQ manager in Netherlands
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Safety First

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Health and safety is a fundamental right of all people. Safety Changer empowers you to make health and safety a number one priority. Herewith saving lives, money on claims and creating a safety culture in which we all coexist as a result.

Capptions Response

7 years ago

It is great to have Kevin as a client. As a person he is driven to excellence and zero harm. As a client, he is driven to leverage the Safety Changer to the maximum, and while doing discovering new use cases everytime!

Aldo
Aldo
Senior Producer in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great for making sure nobody gets hurt during filming.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's a great platform for bigger companies to keep everything in order safetywise.

Pros:

It's easy to generate reports, which are complete and easy to understand by our clients and to integrate their own platforms while on their premises.

Cons:

The cost is quite high for our use case.

Ronald
KVGM-functionaris in Netherlands
Chemicals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Prima software toepassing voor meldsysteem

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Eevaring is goed. We werken sinds januari 2016 met het programma en Capptions zorgde in deze periode voor goede ondersteuning en doorontwikkeling van het product.

Pros:

Het systeem is gebruiksvriendelijk en geeft een goed overzicht van meldingen. Trendanalyse zijn goed uitvoerbaar door toedoen van de custom made dossier opbouw. Het Capptions team denk mee en is erg prettig in contact.

Cons:

Wanneer er minpunten zijn kunnen deze in goed overleg worden weggenomen. Lastig is wel de automatische aanmaak van observaties bij escaleren uit een inspectie formulier. Echter is dit niet problematisch omdat in ons geval trends uit de dossiers gehaald worden, niet uit de observaties.

Capptions Response

3 years ago

Hi Ronald, Enorm bedankt voor je positieve review! Wij zijn altijd bezig met het verbeteren van het platform, dus we zijn enorm blij met je feedback en het fijne contact. - Nora

Nancy
Kam coordinator in Netherlands
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fijn programma, erg gebruikersvriendelijk!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Erg positief, bij storingen / problemen iedere keer goed geholpen door Nora.

Pros:

Gebruikersvriendelijk, simpel opgesteld, ik kan makkelijk zelf templates aanpassen.

Cons:

Ik weet niet of het nog zo is, maar foto's die staand genomen worden komen erg rommelig in het rapport.