15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Sage Accounting Reviews

About Sage Accounting

Sage Business Cloud Accounting is a simple yet powerful online accounting solution designed for small business owners.

Learn more about Sage Accounting

Pros:

Nothing, hard to use, does not integrate with other programs.

Cons:

In the end I had to make the decision to let it go or loose my productivity.

Sage Accounting ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Sage Accounting has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 347 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage Accounting before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (347)

Stan
Stan
Owner in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy and Accessible

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Pros:

Ease of use Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Cons:

Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Kevin
Director - Architect in UK
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Accounting

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Works well being an online, cloud based product - like being able to have multiple users (all of the directors) access accounts reports and information from wherever they logon as opposed to having to pay for multiple user accounts or all use a single machine in the office.

Cons:

Lack of budget reporting is frustrating as is not being able to fully interrogate double entry journal records.

Janet
Accounting in Canada
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The sales department will upsell you on features you do not need

2.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: The customer service is terrible. They do not return your call. They also tell untruths. I called them out on it and told them I was a CPA so to "save" their fibs.

Pros:

It's good, but no better than the other softwares on the market. They all do essentially the same.

Cons:

The price. They upsell you on features you do not need.

Michael
Administrator in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Accounting in small Charity

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very good but as described above there is always room for improvement

Pros:

It’s simple and efficient to use. It was also easy to implement and transfer data

Cons:

There are some features which could be improved eg when email invoice out customer the invoice shows as being attached but you have to open the email to find any supporting documentation caused much confusion with customers Another example it would be helpful if documents ie contracts could be attached to customers and suppliers

JOLANDA
Director in South Africa
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage accounting review

4.0 last month New

Comments: All good except Bank feeds on certain banks not working

Pros:

Easy to use and to explain to clients jhow to use

Cons:

Bank feeds that do not work on certain banks

Elizabeth
ACCOUNTS AND BUYING in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple to navigate

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Generally easy to use, customer support is always very good.

Pros:

Generally a very user friendly programme with excellent customer support.

Cons:

No batch invoicing so it is much more time consuming when entering multiple invoices for the same supplier.

Allan
Head of Information Security in Australia
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple to use Finance System

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

My usage was primary the reporting side (expenses were imported automatically) and it was great for tracking our teams spend vs budget each month

Cons:

It took 24 hours to refresh the data, however that wasn't a sage issue, but our intergration

Sandra
Accounts in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage accounting

5.0 last month New

Comments: Love it, it’s helped me loads and so easy to use, need help sage are always there and helps every time,

Pros:

Banking helps so much, reconcile is easy to do. Invoices help keep up to date on payments

Cons:

Having to put all the customers in with all there details,

Thomas
Thomas
Managing Director in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for small and medium businesses

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Always useful and quick to resolve any issues I may have.

Pros:

Allows you to set up accounts at ease with easy to review financial reports allowing users to understand where their business stands at any point in time.

Cons:

Once you have filed your VAT returns you cannot go back and update/edit the previous entry

Kim
Director in Canada
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Terrrible Customer Service

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: Terrible customer service will not help me log on when 2 step verification doesn't work. The worst staff that man the help desk

Pros:

reasonably easy package to use. has all the functionality that I need

Cons:

The customer service is non existent can only use bots which keep you in a loop

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Business Cloud Accounting

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sage Business Cloud Accounting is easy to set up and use. I loved that it easily integrated with our existing business. With internet access, the software is accessible from anywhere and is available on mobile devices. It makes bank reconciliation and invoicing easy.

Pros:

Installation and implementation are easy. I like that the features are easy to use even for non-accounting persons. It enables real time sharing of files with clients and colleagues which saves on time and eliminates the need to direct email invoices. This makes debtor management easy and less costly. Accessibility from a mobile device is a huge plus when one is on the move. The software is also affordable and has a free trial. Sage has good customer support.

Cons:

Since the software can only be accessed online, it is difficult to work with when internet speeds are slow or when there is no connection at all. Sometimes bank sync feed is slow and the handling of foreign currency bank transactions could do with some improvements.

Sheldon
Owner in South Africa
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Online Accounting

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: The software is good and reliable. Very few errors have happened to the software, since we have moved to the cloud. So Good.

Pros:

You can log in from anywhere. Take on is easy. Invoicing is simple to use. Allocating receipts and payments straight from the important bank statements makes processing easy

Cons:

The stock system does not intergrate well between the stock holdings and values and the balance sheet. Extra modules are required for this basic function and this does not always solve the problem. This results in clients needing to continuously reconcile stock to balance the Inventory Valuation to the Inventory Ledger.The project management systems need to be improved so individual and multiple projects can be quickly monitored in an income statement.

Andre
Director in South Africa
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage is a very easy and powerfule accounting tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience is good. They can definitely work on their email support.

Pros:

The ease of the setup and use of the software. It was written so that anyone can use it. Very simple, yet poewerful.

Cons:

Some of the features that were advertised when pitched to us aren't available. The customer and supplier age analysis reports should have totals.

Alan
Web Developer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Possibly the best accounting software we've ever used

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Using Sage One allowed us to combine our Accounts and Payroll systems into one. It makes it easy to manage our accounts from any location and on any device. It also removed the worry of backing up and securing our accounts records.

Pros:

The fact that Sage One is cloud based, is probably the best feature. No more endless backups and annoying updates to perform. Everything is taken care of and the support team are amazing. It's also simple to grant access to your Accountant, who can then do whatever that need to when it's your year end etc. A very clear interface provides an overview of your current situation and makes it easy for you to do your everyday tasks like entering and raising invoices, or checking who owes you money. You can easily produces account statements and everything can be emailed straight to your customers, so far less physical paperwork.

Cons:

The Invoicing template choices are limited, but with a bit of creativity, you can definitely make something you can work with. The thing that needs the most attention is the method by which invoices and statements are emailed out. they appear to be from the email address you give the system, but are sent by Sage. Consequently, some clients weren't receiving their emails. We just turn any invoices into PDF's and email them ourselves. No big deal as we are still paperless, but it would be nice if we didn't have to. hopefully something that will be addressed on a future update.

Cathy
Cathy
Office Manager in US
Mining & Metals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple to learn, gives you great data

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I started a new job and I was up and running on invoicing at the end of the week, by week two I was able to post cash. It did take a little bit of time to familiarize myself the reports and with the general ledger. When I covered accounts payable it was also very intuitive. One of the most intuitive computer systems I have worked with ever.

Pros:

The company I got a job with a few years ago used Sage, I was apprehensive about learning a new computer system but Sage was easy. It was intuitive if you have a little experience and accounting knowledge. It gives very great reports and gives you a lot of basic detail. I like.the fact that you can drill down to give various information.

Cons:

There were a few times that I wish there was an online help to explain a few questions. There are a lot of reports and I feel like you may have to look at several reports to pull some advanced details.

Bettina
MD in South Africa
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Shocking support and behaviour from their new online shop division

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: We had been one of their first online store users when SAGE started with their online store offer. Then the support and customer service was outstanding. Sadly they outsourced their online shop to another company and we needed to move our existing online shop to a new platform. One would think that "SAGE" would facilitate this move for free, as the old platform was discontinued. Well that was not so, we ended up paying a large sum of money for the move. The service level of the new "SAGE" company was horrific, the treatment we received was shocking, everything took weeks and months to finalise. We ended up doing most of the work ourselves and then received a bill for their general set up package and for re-directing the pages to the new site. Unbelievable and shocking! We are also using their accounting software that we like, if we find another way of integrating the accounting part easily with another online shop provider, we will move. They do not deserve our business as they clearly don't appreciate loyal and long standing customers.

Pros:

The online store platform integrates easily with sage cloud accounting. Nevertheless, the customer service is shocking, shocking, shocking!

Cons:

the online store provider have no regard for longstanding and loyal customer - shocking and horrific customer service!

Paul
owner in Canada
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

owner

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My accountant can open a copy and quickly finish the year and tax preparation saving me time and money.

Pros:

I have used it for a very long time and it works very easily for me. It has evolved but never change so much as to make it difficult to keep using using. Sage has much more than I need but is still competitive with price and easy to use what I need.

Cons:

I never got the hang of bank reconciliation to work faster than manually but is me and I do not have a great deal of entries.

Michelle
Michelle
Professional Accountant (SA) in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage Business Cloud Accounting

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage Business Cloud Accounting is easy to use, features are easy to access. Reporting for several different ranges of time-table very handy. No installation, no backup...very nice product to use!

Pros:

Sage Business Cloud Accounting has all the features one would need from Accounting software. Easy to implement, do the setup, and train new Customers on how to use it. The add-on modules adds value to the software. The Accountant's easy access to assist Clients is a wonderful feature!

Cons:

One improvement I would like to see: When adding a new Item from inside the Invoice screen, the new Item screen should include all features (such as selecting the Purchase account). Currently you have to exit the Invoice, create the new Item, and then continue with your Invoice

Martin
Chartered Accountant in UK
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have the full confidence in this product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent - they started a bit behind functionality wise from other products, and are now moving ahead of them, and I like the committment to constant development and the transparancy of their roadmap.

Pros:

It is intuitive, and my non-accountant clients can usually navigate their way around it themselves, and only occassionally require minimal support. My clients who have switch from other software have said that they wouldn't go back.

Cons:

The marketing for this product is not as flashy as competitors, and so sometimes it can be a hard sell to clients who want the one with the big ad campaign. As with most cloud products it is constantly evolving and I am not always aware of the new features which come out.

Johan
Management in South Africa
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very slow system when items is above a 1000. We are on 100meg lines and Sage Accounting is terrible.

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's just a basic accounting software.

Pros:

The software is easy to use. But it it can be 10 times better if the right coders and designers is employed. Price, it is not the cheapest in the market but again African companies like their money and labour is expensive in South Africa. The system is slow as said when when you have more than a 1000 entries or stock items. Export function lacks functionality as only basic stuff can be exported. Compared to other software in the world....There is much better software in the market!

Cons:

Speed, the software is very slow for an online system. It lacks functionality. The price per user is expensive. The software also doesn't have a lot of 3rd party integrations. When it comes to e-commerce it integrates with a few shopping carts but the integration is very basic.

Terry
Terry
Photographer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Photography
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A very simple online accounting system

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: The ability to connect my bank accounts is great and a real time saver.

Pros:

The fact that this is online and can be accessed from any device is a real pleasure. It means as a sole trader that I can enter receipts while I'm on the go or at home when I have a spare few minutes. I know sage was late to the party for online accounting systems but they have managed to make a simple system and one that starts cheaper than the competitors. The second main feature for me was the ability to automatically connect to my bank accounts and match my transactions as this saves no end of time and is all included in the monthly price. They also have a feature which allows you download your transaction in a CSV file as well, if you wanted to move them to another system.

Cons:

It's not as customisable as the desktop version was but once you get over that hurdle and change your way of thinking and acting then you realise they had a reason for making it so simple.

Caroline
Director in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Appalling Customer Service

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: I phoned and chatted online with Sage One (Sage Business Cloud?) customer service technical support 8 days ago over an issue and have also emailed them every working day since and they just keep telling me that they have logged the issue and it has been passed to their Development Team. In the meantime I can't send invoices. What's the point in offering 24/7 customer support if they just log the issue and make you wait over a week for a fix?

Pros:

Good interaction with payroll and Pension software, banking etc. Easy to use. Can use from any pc.

Cons:

Long list of minor but annoying issues, like it does not accommodate UK net monthly account customers/suppliers, the default dates on functions only show the current month. The only way to avoid the contact name appearing on the invoice address is to put a full stop in the contact name box (so the first line of every invoice is a full stop). Product list doesn't section so you can't add a percentage to one customer or one type of product. Appalling customer service for technical problems.

Melanie
Partner in South Africa
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAGE BUSINESS CLOUD ACCOUNTING

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Definitely the way for the future just love to work on this platform. All new clients advised to use Sage Business Cloud Accounting. The package can grow with the company from start up.

Pros:

The fact that is cloud base and accessible from anywhere as long as you have internet access. There are apps available to download onto mobile devices. The product is user friendly with guidance on how to use features. Download bank statements and map the expenses to save lots of time in the future.

Cons:

It is sometimes slow depending on internet speed and take a while to download bank statements.

Tarryn
Owner in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good solution for the small business owner

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is fairly easy to use. It provides the basic needs of small business owners. Helps me with their tax prep needs

Cons:

Navigation through the product isn't seamless

Karen
Managing Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Almost has 100% of what we need as a growing business

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Compliance, ability to integrate different aspects of financial company data.

Pros:

User-friendly interface. Good dashboard view. Collaboration with external agencies - HMRC, our accountant & book-keeper. Functionality has increased alongside our needs as a growing business. Cost-effective Excellent customer support

Cons:

No trace-ability of emails sent - only a Yes or No view of whether emails (invoices) have been sent. Cannot export XL data to our Pension portal (Big booooo for the Sageone!) No auto-generation of a reference number for purchases like there is sales?! This causes us issues!! Only 1 user allowed to access Payroll platform for our subscription