Sage Business Cloud Accounting Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.8 /5

About Sage Business Cloud Accounting

Sage | Accounting is a simple yet powerful online accounting solution designed for small business owners.

Learn more about Sage Business Cloud Accounting

Showing 181 reviews

Magdalene V.
Director
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2019

"Sage Business Cloud - Cannot Do Business Without It"

Pros: I love the fact that my clients and I can share the same system in different locations. It also has an app that I can use on the go for invoicing and quotes.

Cons: Currently, I don't have any grips with the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2019
Diane A.
Bookkeeper
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2021

"Sage Business Accounting Software Ease of Use"

Comments: I really liked this software. I have used Procerium, Munis and Smart Fusion and did not like them.
This software is very easy to use and easy to get support.
It takes you through the steps and if you haven't done what needs to be done it will tell you.
Very good and easy software.
Reports are easy to read and understand.
Very user friendly.

Pros: Very easy to use and always asks if you are sure you want to do something.
The steps are very easy to follow.

Cons: I personally really like this software and did not have any problems. I would highly recommend for beginner users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2021
Paul S.
Managing Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2018

"A solid accounts package. Many useful features allowing simple accounting for small businesses."

Pros: It is relatively intuitive for people with only a basic knowledge of business accounting. It allows easy manipulation of accounting data and you are able to provide periodical reports which means you always know the state of your companies finances. It can be accessed from anywhere and at any time and allows you to restrict certain users to particular areas. You are able to give your accountant a direct log in to your accounts which makes annual tax accounting very quick and simple.
Sage One can be tied to your bank accounts so that all items that pass through your accounts can be automatically uploaded into sage saving lots of time on entering data.
VAT filing and reports can be done instantly and sent directly to HMRC.
Can also be used directly with Sage Payroll meaning all information from payroll is automatically added to Sage One accounts.

Cons: If you're internet connection is weak this can slow things down a bit though on the whole it is a very stable and trustworthy platform.
The only thing I find a little bit weak is the inability to create direct backups of your accounts either your computer desktop or external drives. The only method of backing up the information is to print reports of all ledgers, invoices, receipts and audit trail. This means you will always have the information but in the event of a catastrophic failure it would be highly time consuming to re-input all the details. There would be no obvious method of doing this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2018
Alan H.
Web Developer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2017

"Possibly the best accounting software we've ever used"

Comments: Using Sage One allowed us to combine our Accounts and Payroll systems into one. It makes it easy to manage our accounts from any location and on any device. It also removed the worry of backing up and securing our accounts records.

Pros: The fact that Sage One is cloud based, is probably the best feature. No more endless backups and annoying updates to perform. Everything is taken care of and the support team are amazing. It's also simple to grant access to your Accountant, who can then do whatever that need to when it's your year end etc. A very clear interface provides an overview of your current situation and makes it easy for you to do your everyday tasks like entering and raising invoices, or checking who owes you money. You can easily produces account statements and everything can be emailed straight to your customers, so far less physical paperwork.

Cons: The Invoicing template choices are limited, but with a bit of creativity, you can definitely make something you can work with. The thing that needs the most attention is the method by which invoices and statements are emailed out. they appear to be from the email address you give the system, but are sent by Sage. Consequently, some clients weren't receiving their emails. We just turn any invoices into PDF's and email them ourselves. No big deal as we are still paperless, but it would be nice if we didn't have to. hopefully something that will be addressed on a future update.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2017
Cathy J.
Office Manager
Mining & Metals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2020

"Simple to learn, gives you great data"

Comments: I started a new job and I was up and running on invoicing at the end of the week, by week two I was able to post cash. It did take a little bit of time to familiarize myself the reports and with the general ledger. When I covered accounts payable it was also very intuitive. One of the most intuitive computer systems I have worked with ever.

Pros: The company I got a job with a few years ago used Sage, I was apprehensive about learning a new computer system but Sage was easy. It was intuitive if you have a little experience and accounting knowledge. It gives very great reports and gives you a lot of basic detail. I like.the fact that you can drill down to give various information.

Cons: There were a few times that I wish there was an online help to explain a few questions. There are a lot of reports and I feel like you may have to look at several reports to pull some advanced details.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2020
Verified Reviewer
Finance
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019

"Sage Business Cloud accounting the accounting solution for growing businesses"

Pros: Sage Business Cloud accounting is the ideal solution for any growing small business. You have all the information available to you on your cellphone if you so require. You can invoice clients as you do the job no matter what your industry. A great full function accounting system

Cons: The number of columns you are allowed when importing bank csv information is limited. Otherwise the import function serves its function.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Karl B.
Operations Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019

"Sage business cloud accounting"

Comments: Sage business cloud accounting isn't free but nesscecary and tailored for small businesses. It brings ease and practicalcality when organizing clients and accounts. There are many bisinesses using sage business cloud accounting, so there is no doubt that the software has been designed to cator for the tasks at hand.

Pros: The software is simple to setup from entering in the user's company details and client details.
Menus are easy to navigate.
Requires basic accounting knowledge.
It is cloud based, bringing convenience in and out of the office.
The software handles all the nesscecary transactions regarding accounting for small businesses.

Cons: The software can be slow at times.
Lacks customization features in areas.
A break in an Internet connection can cause a loss in work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019
Dave D.
MD
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017

"The Best Accounting Software For Non-Accountants"

Comments: As someone who is more interested in running my business than getting kinky with red tape, Sage one was the best of all the accounting packages for me. Automated VAT returns as well as bank feeds were my two big requirements and Sage One fulfilled this perfectly. That it doesn't have a mobile app is an absolute travesty but that none of it's competitors with the same feature set do either means I'm sticking with it for now. As soon as another accounting software company comes along with Bank Feeds, Automated VAT returns (for Ireland without a hack) and a mobile app for receipts (currently, I use receipt bank with Sage), then I'll switch.

Pros: Easy to use. Irish VAT returns. Missing features are mostly filled with third party integrations.

Cons: No mobile app. Super annoying when trying to get info or input anything on the go.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017
Bettina B.
MD
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Shocking support and behaviour from their new online shop division"

Comments: We had been one of their first online store users when SAGE started with their online store offer. Then the support and customer service was outstanding. Sadly they outsourced their online shop to another company and we needed to move our existing online shop to a new platform. One would think that "SAGE" would facilitate this move for free, as the old platform was discontinued. Well that was not so, we ended up paying a large sum of money for the move. The service level of the new "SAGE" company was horrific, the treatment we received was shocking, everything took weeks and months to finalise. We ended up doing most of the work ourselves and then received a bill for their general set up package and for re-directing the pages to the new site. Unbelievable and shocking! We are also using their accounting software that we like, if we find another way of integrating the accounting part easily with another online shop provider, we will move. They do not deserve our business as they clearly don't appreciate loyal and long standing customers.

Pros: The online store platform integrates easily with sage cloud accounting. Nevertheless, the customer service is shocking, shocking, shocking!

Cons: the online store provider have no regard for longstanding and loyal customer - shocking and horrific customer service!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Chloe M.
Accountant
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/11/2020

"Great software"

Pros: The bank feed works really well and saves a lot of time. There are a lot of reports available and the new adjustments option is a real time saver.

Cons: Some clients find it difficult to navigate the software so it would be great to see more training solutions for them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/11/2020
Frank W.
ICT Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2017

"I find it very easy to use and navigate through the menus"

Comments: Ability to respond quicker to client and supplier needs through easy way of turning one document in to the next process e.g. Quotation to Invoice to a customer etc.

Pros: - Ease of use
- Little or no accounting knowledge required to use Sage
- Very friendly GUI
- Availability of Mobile App ensures I can use it on the go very efficiently

Cons: - In the absence of an internet connection you are stuck

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2017
Johan W.
Management
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018

"Very slow system when items is above a 1000. We are on 100meg lines and Sage Accounting is terrible."

Comments: It's just a basic accounting software.

Pros: The software is easy to use. But it it can be 10 times better if the right coders and designers is employed. Price, it is not the cheapest in the market but again African companies like their money and labour is expensive in South Africa. The system is slow as said when when you have more than a 1000 entries or stock items. Export function lacks functionality as only basic stuff can be exported. Compared to other software in the world....There is much better software in the market!

Cons: Speed, the software is very slow for an online system. It lacks functionality. The price per user is expensive. The software also doesn't have a lot of 3rd party integrations. When it comes to e-commerce it integrates with a few shopping carts but the integration is very basic.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Anige G.
Bookkeeper
Utilities, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019

"Sage is easy to use"

Pros: Sage is user friendly and able to do any of our accounting needs.

Cons: I would like to control more on the screen functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Shiawtian C.
Junior Accountant
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2019

"Your Accounting System In One View"

Pros: I like how there is a dashboard that lets me visualize transactions and entries of the business. We're able to import information like bank statements, contracts, sales history into the cloud for access and reference.

Cons: It has limited features and the mobile app crashes and is limited in functionality. For the price, it still can't be beat cause there are little instances on which you want to access the accounting cloud through mobile.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2019
Richard D.
owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018

"slick and easy to use software"

Pros: Allows me to see, within a few clicks, everyone that owes me money, and everyone I owe money to. Simple reporting for profit and loss and year end tax reports

Cons: Can't think of any right now. I'm a one-man-band, and this does exactly what I need it to do... Possibly, bring the self-assessment form more into line with there HMRC website requirements, this would make life a bit easier and quicker for end of year reporting

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018
Heather S.
Secretary / Manager
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2018

"Sage one is a dream to use."

Comments: easy to use concise software

Pros: Accessible anywhere any time. Very easy to operate. The appearance of the screens is great and very easy to read.

Cons: The only thing I can think of is the reports - our finance convenor has advised that they don't really suit our requirements

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2018
Marc B.
Co-propriétaire
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018

"Answers my needs but would like more integration"

Pros: Used here in Canada by a lot a small accounting firms, it's versatile enough for my needs.

Cons: Would like an app for Android to do the day to day stuff. The interface looks dated compared to it's compétition.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Vince york
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2012

"The #First for SME's - Pastel My Business Online"

Comments: This Pastel My Business Online is definitely the best user friendly most cost effective comprehensive online package for nearly all Small Businesses or individuals anywhere.
Even includes 'Fixed Assets Register" apart from 'Income Statement' or 'Assets and Liabilities' Balance Sheet, Customers Statements and Supplier with inventory controls !
It is virtually instant, and reports so professionally that I have even moved many of my clients from conventional stand-alone packages to this online version with excellent satisfaction and maximum cost saving, with hassle free IT and no backup requirement - simply logon to the internet. Africa has improved low cost broadband where even rural entities and individuals, no longer only those in Metropolitan areas can now quickly set themselves up and "talk the same language" as their bank managers. In short, Pastel My Business Online is always there for you!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2012
Janene B.
Personal Assistant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2019

"Sage Business Cloud Accounting"

Comments: The software has helped me keep control of accounting in a small business in an effective efficient way, specially being cloud software. So being at the office or at home to catch up on work has never been an issue.

Pros: Great software for handling clients account information from Quoting, Invoicing, payment tracking. You don't have to be a rocket scientist to use this software. Everything is under one roof.

Cons: Data capturing has to be done carefully. Sometimes the program encounters errors that aren't easy to overcome. The Internet connection needs to be stable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2019
Qiang M.
Sales Engineer
Chemicals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2021

"An excellent accounting tool for small businesses"

Comments: Overall speaking, this is an excellent accounting software for small businesses.

Pros: This software is user friendly and doesn't take much training before you can get started. And also automatic bank feed is a very useful feature for us.

Cons: The software doesn't give you warnings when there are duplicate bank transactions. Other than that, the software works pretty good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2021
Lucia R.
Payroll Adminstrator
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2018

"Great all round product."

Comments: Ease of use and quick administration of the payroll

Pros: Relatively easy to use with a good support network. Very pleased that I can speak to someone if necessary and find that they are always very helpful and knowledgeable. I prefer to deal with a person than use the help pages.

Cons: Sometimes not so easy to navigate the help pages - I cannot always find the information required. However I do prefer to speak to a person.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2018
Veronica C.
director
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018

"easy straightforward system"

Pros: The basic system itself is straightforward easy to use and ideally suited to my needs. All templates required for invoices receipts etc are easy to find and set up.

Cons: sometimes I feel that certain questions i have are not fully answered on the FAQ or help page. I am not 100% confident on bookkeeping but I have basic skills but some things need a bit more information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018
Wilford C.
Network Administrator
Computer Hardware, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018

"Wilford"

Pros: This cloud based package allows us to check our current business status online at anytime. All the company financial data is at your fingertips to check

Cons: We have had a few problems sometimes with customers not getting invoices. This may be something that needs to be worked on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018
Danielle B.
office admin / bookkeeper
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017

"Good for basic accounting."

Pros: Fairly easy to use and navigate.
Good reporting features.
Clean and simple dashboard.
Connecting to your bank option is very helpful.

Cons: Limited in format, not a lot of freedom to customize.
Online help seemed not that informed - I found a way to do something they said wasn't possible.
Slow to refresh and change pages.
Going back a page erases the previous search.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017
Richard H.
Director / Partner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018

"Support is very good, always sorted my issues promptly. Long wait times at times is negative"

Comments: Made accountancy records easier to keep track of.

Pros: Once set up, easy to use and can customise invoices etc. Link to accountant is a good addition and use on different pc's has been handy for our usage.

Cons: Need to have book keeping experience or higher to understand fully, online help doesn't always understand your query.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018