Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.4/5
  • Customer Service
    4.2/5

About Mandrill

Send transactional emails via API or SMTP, with best in class deliverability, conditional templating, and analytics.

Learn more about Mandrill

Showing 53 reviews

Joshua H.
Software Engineer
Furniture, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2018

"An excellent, if costly, transactional email service"

Comments: We were experiencing spikes in bounce and spam rates with AWS's SES. We were able to switch to Mandrill in a single day and immediately saw dramatic improvement. As necessary, we later built out support for bulk sends and black list checking and scrubbing. All in all it was an easy process and a good product.

Pros: Mandrill provides a simple and well documented API and has libraries and integrations available for many major web frameworks and languages. Making use of it for simple email sends is a fast and easy process, and it provides additional functionality for black lists, white lists, bulk sends, static IPs, etc. Their dashboard makes it extremely simple to see all the emails sent to a given address along with full content and reasons why sends failed or were delayed, which is a great for debugging and testing. They also provide analytics and send, receive, open, click, and bounce rates.

Cons: The service used to be much cheaper, but costs went up sharply when it was reabsorbed back into Mailchimp. Still an excellent service, but harder to recommend without reservation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2018
Gedson S.
Senior Production Engineer
Telecommunications, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019

"Reliable transactional email"

Comments: We're using Mandrill for all our transactional email needs, as and endpoint in our API concentrator. It's proven to be very robust and reliable over the years.

Pros: Mandrill (now interated inside Mailchimp) has been a solid and reliable transactional email provider, with great delivery rates, very slow spam scores and ultra-fast reception speed. It provides useful and flexible reports and great dashboards too.

Cons: In order to keep it's spam reputation high it takes some effort to set up a new email domain in Mandrill. You have to prove you own the DNS and configure a SPF/DKIM record.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019
George K.
SDM
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2020

"Reliable service for emails"

Comments: Send emails reliably and cheaply to users upon transcation

Pros: Transactional emails made easy. Emails are cheap, and a good admin interface to have visibility in to what has been sent or blocked

Cons: More robust block rules would be nice. Blocked emails need to be manually removed. I understand why mandrill does this, but would be easier if there could be custom rules

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Senior Developer
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2019

"Very easy mail management for developers"

Comments: Setting up mail services for applications we developed for clients.

Pros: Very easy to setup and use. If you need to send mail with your application this is one of the best and quickest ways to do it.

Cons: I have used it before they required a MailChimp account and that is too bad that you need a MailChimp account to use Mandrill now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2018

"Great, while we had it!"

Pros: I run a busy social network. Around 6,000 users total, and 300-400 online at any given time. Due to this, I needed a transactional email service that had great deliver-ability for invitations, verifications, password changes, etc. Mandrill was recommended to me, and we were completely happy with the service. Unfortunately, when they bundled Mandrill into Mailchimp, we couldn't afford it anymore.

Cons: Unfortunately, bundling services did no favors. What previously was affordable for us no longer was. While the service is great, the way the change was implemented was sudden, leaving companies little time or recourse to find other options quickly. That solidified my decision to leave- most companies would grandfather in existing members, offer a lower rate, something. They simply provided us with addresses for other services, losing customers in the process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2018
Jorge M.
Telecommunications Engineer
Telecommunications, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2019

"Amazing transactional email relay"

Comments: We've been using Mandrill as our email relay of choice for all our applications and APIs, and it has been working great in every aspect.

Pros: Very fast delivery with exceptional delivery rates;
Does a great job keeping reputation high;
Very nice dashboards and reporting;
Ability to segregate into sub-accounts;
Very easy to integrate with MTA's and API clients;
Great documentation;

Cons: Domain validation could be made simpler;
Roles and permissions should be more flexible;
Once Mandrill got integrated with Mailchimp the pricing model became less attractive;

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Client Success Advisor
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019

"Mandrill"

Comments: Mandrill has been great to help reduce the amount of time I spend on each client of ours. I have the ability to check email faster and help more people.

Pros: Mandrill is great to backtrack on emails that my company has sent out. We have the ability to view if the email was delivered, bounced, and how many times it has been sent + opened and clicked on. The features of mandrill are great for the company because we rely heavily on mandrill in order to see that.

Cons: At this moment, I can't think of a negative effect of mandrill. It is very easy to use and easy to maneuver around.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2020

"An email sending API with stats"

Comments: We liked using Mandrill. We appreciate the clear documentation.

Pros: It is not so frequent to see and API focused on statistics. I liked the dashboard of the email campaign filled with stats.

Cons: There is so much competition with email sending API and large player are in the game. But I liked the add-ons compared to other API which most of the time only focus on sending emails, and nothing more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Co-Founder & CTO
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2019

"Did Mailchimp stop maintaining Mandrill?"

Comments: The API is easy to use and the templates and versatile, but it doesn't seem that the product is making any new developments

Pros: Templating system is quite versatile with the ability to send parameters with the emails using the API

Cons: - Mandrill doesn't store past emails for backup, even as a paid option
- the UI seems 10 years old, and not user friendly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2019
Kristen Z.
project manager
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2020

"Super important for sending transactional emails"

Comments: Overall Mandrill is a system we couldn't do without. I would recommend it.

Pros: I like that my developers can take care of it and it doesn't have issues like other systems might. It's nice to have peace of mind with my emails.

Cons: It's confusing that it's tied to a MailChimp account, so on our credit card statement, it says MailChimp instead of Mandrill. It would be nice to have it labeled more specifically so I can sort out my bills more easily.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2020
Dan O.
Managing Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018

"Cost effective transactional email"

Pros: A transactional email server is setup within minutes and available for you to send out content to your distribution list. The application provides - Graphs to show how many emails you're sending each day
- What countries your sending the emails to
- Open rates
- Mail clients used (useful to optimise content)
- Spam rates/unsubscribe rates
- Great delivery rates
Very cost effective.

Cons: A couple of years ago, Mandrill made it a requirement for you to have a Mailchimp subscription in order to use Mandrill. It would have been better in my opinion to keep the two applications independent, just like Sendgrid. Whilst it doesn't make the cost materially more expensive, it does mean that you have to log into Mandrill via Mailchimp which is annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018
Dylan E.
Software Programmer and Security Officer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2018

"Perfect client for managing and sending transactional emails"

Comments: It allows us to maintain perfect email delivery for all our companies' transactional emails and easily troubleshoot instances where emails were not delivered.

Pros: This application is an addon of MailChimp and is best suited for transactional emails (automated emails, think 'forgot my password' type emails). It allows you to easily manage your sending domains , although you have to verify these before you can send emails. The best feature by far is the ability to view all emails that were sent or failed to arrive, including the contents of the emails and the reason it bounced. This allows us to quickly troubleshoot whenever we get a support ticket regarding an email that did not arrive. During our 6 months of using this feature, there has been zero downtime.

Cons: It is more expensive than some competitors, but its pricing model is very fair and easy to interpret. It does require you to have at least a monthly subscription with Mailchimp, and if you are not using this it is more expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Software Developer
Printing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2018

"Trustworthy tool for delivering emails to your customers"

Pros: Works well, haven't experienced any problems. Has an online GUI where you can easily find emails that were sent, easy to see blacklisted emails. Has a nice statistics page to see how your emails are doing overall. We've been delivering millions of emails in past year without a problem.

Cons: The PHP SDK I used was kinda outdated and it had little options to change the behaviour without manually changing the source. They should update the library to standards that are more current. GUI where you can view emails, etc. sometimes is a but slow. The search filters could use a face-lift.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2018
Brandon S.
President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2018

"Mr"

Pros: Mandrill is a powerful application that has proven useful for transactional email. They offer an API, decent reporting and storage of track/click data for 30 days.

Cons: As part of Mailchimp they now require both a Mailchimp and Mandrill subscription. I have no problem paying for Mandrill but I'm not a fan of this billing requirement as I don't need Mailchimp. Secondly, in the 2-3 years that I have been using Mandrill I have not seen a single feature release. I find this unusual. True, it works great as-is, but there are definitely areas that can be improved or features that can be added.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Co-Founder & CTO
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018

"Very good transactional email API"

Pros: The API is easy to use and the setup is fast. Rather cheap plans when you get started (but gets expensive soon)

Cons: The archive of messages is way too limited! I don't require to keep track of the message content of all our messages, but for our business we must keep track of whether the emails have been sent/read/rejected or not, and there is no way to achieve this even on a higher plan. We'll have to build a workaround with webhooks or find another tool that offers it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Ginger J.
Co-owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018

"I wish it were more like MailChimp"

Pros: The pricing is good. We have been using it for years and the only reason we are keeping it is because we don't the pain of switching over to another vendor.

Cons: The reporting features are very weak and we don't like that we have to access MailChimp to get over into the Mandrill dashboard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018
Steve E.
CEO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018

"Great programmatic emails "

Pros: It's got a terrific api that can send programmatic emails (like transactional emails) with ease. Great deliverability.

Cons: The UI is incredibly dated. It doesn't look like it's had any love in 5 years. Still, it works and that's what counts.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Credentialing specialist
Consumer Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2018

"Take email to the next level "

Pros: Customizable templates allow fields to be populated automatically base on predetermined algorithm. Set it up and the rest is a breeze.

Cons: Spam is always an issue. Mailing lists get old. People get annoyed. It's a tough business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2018
Bishal G.
Email Marketing Expert & Qualified Lead Generation.
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018

"Powerful Transactional Email Service"

Pros: We were using our local vendor for Transactional Email Services there was inbox email delivery issue mostly I was getting complain from my users that there invoice through emails is not reaching on time and sometime it's in spam. One of my friends recommended Mandrill and it's really amazing. Great IP Pool with a high inbox delivery reputation flexible API for integration and real-time email delivery.

Cons: First of all I need to login in Mailchimp account to access Mandrill which is very irritating and secondly there pricing is very high.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Lisa K.
Client Success Advisor
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019

"Mandrill <3"

Pros: I like the ease of Mandrill, there isn't anything to complicated. Type , search , done!!

Cons: I don't think there are any issues I have ever had with Mandrill in the 3.5 years that I have been using it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
VP Development
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"Simple way to send email with good reputation"

Pros: Easy to use dashboard for administration
Easy to integrate with any existing code
Straight forward implementation

Cons: Logs are only kept for a few weeks
The dashboard looks outdated
Hard to perform advance searches over logs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Quality Assurance Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2018

"Very convenient tool for mail management"

Pros: - Very user-friendly interface
- Analytics is great to track customers activities on emails.
- Good Dashboards

Cons: - it can be confusing to manage emails from different domains. This could be clearer in the application UI/UX.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2018
Joe G.
Church Communications Training
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018

"User friendly transactional email - but not the cheapest"

Comments: Mandrill is a great, flexible transactional email service provider. Compared to others, it is very user friendly. My one reservation is the cost, which may be too steep for some, especially when needing to pay for features which are completely separate to the transactional service.

Pros: Almost all of the functionality can be controlled through the dashboard, as opposed to some of Mandrill's competitors which require use of the API for configuration.

Cons: The price - Mandrill used to be free, but has since moved to a model which requires a pro subscription to Mailchimp (even if it's not going to be used) plus a cost based on the amount of emails needed each month.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Product Manager
Food & Beverages, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018

"SUPER EASY TO USE!"

Pros: I love the software because it's sooooo straight forward to use. I can basically send the link to anyone on my team and I need very minimal time to train them and they can jump right into to troubleshoot what they need. My customer happiness team loves it.

Cons: No complaints about this software at this time. With that being said, I'm not on the team who manages it financially so unsure of investment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Razvan G.
Founder & CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019

"Using it for my business"

Pros: I have chosen Mandrill over other solutions because it does very good what it does with great reports.

Cons: Old user interface, but you can find any information you need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019