15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About TrackingTime

Project tracker software. Online timesheets. Employee attendance. Reporting. +40 integrations.

Learn more about TrackingTime

Pros:

It was easy to use and integrated with google chrome, super easy.

Cons:

I switched to a different time tracker when I needed to only track the hours spent for billing at another job. I only really needed a phone app with a stop watch at the time.

TrackingTime ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

TrackingTime has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 40 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used TrackingTime before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (40)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great time tracking tool on the go

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The experience was good, it was particularly useful to have reports issued in excel format.

Pros:

I really like that you can track time spent on tasks in real-time by hitting the 'play' button on a particular task in a project and then pressing 'stop' to stop tracking.

Cons:

When forgetting to hit 'stop' the time would continue to accumulate so sometimes it would go on over the weekend. Perhaps it could have some sort of timeout or a notification to flag such occasions.

Reginald
Creative Designer in US
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's awesome!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love TrackingTime! It always saves me from pulling out a watch and manually creating a spreadsheet in order to track everything!

Pros:

I love how easy it is to track/adjust time per task.

Cons:

It may have been a bit of a challenge to reopen archived projects.

Dustin
Instrument Maker in US
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Multiple Job Organization

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, in a basic sense it works well but wish the functionality for our particular situation was better. It's time consuming to fill out time sheets when we have to enter multiple 18-25 digit numbers in the comments for multiple jobs per day.

Pros:

The interface is relatively self explanatory and easy to use in a basic sense.

Cons:

We work on multiple jobs per day that need to be charged to multiple accounts. The issue that that we can't figure out is how to setup the software so that it's possible add job #'s to the pay categories to select from, like the "Reg Pay" selection. We currently work around it by entering our time as "Regular" but then we have to enter the account numbers and a brief description of what we did on that account in the comments section. It would be nice if under "pay category" that we could have it setup with a job number, like #8508, and then the software automatically applies the account information to the job # in the background. It seems like this is how the software is setup but it seems to be non-functional on our end.

Tracking Time Response

3 years ago

Hi Dustin, thank you for your review! Regarding the issues you explain, we recommend that you contact our support team to find a solution. Thanks!

Ciro
Procurement Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unmatched Tool for Time and Task Progress Tracking

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: It really came in handy in solving team time management more so when a team has on ongoing project that has strict deadlines.

Pros:

It has a reporting capabilities coupled with task progress tracking using time-sheet workflow that enables our firm to stay compliant with all the internal processes.

Cons:

I have no dislikes since we received the best customer support and the tool worked effectively for us.

Monika
Revenue Manager in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Time Tracking App

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's affordable software compare to other ones.

Cons:

Only one issue I had is that customer service is not very friendly and helpful. Besides that, everything is excellent.

Richard
Audio/Video/TV Producer in US
Online Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

On Track - On Time!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I know where to pull my resources of time, energy and management and use them effectively for every unique project that comes across my desk.

Pros:

I have many aspects in projects going on at the same time. For example: Audio Production, Video Production, Research and general touching base with all those involved on our end and the client's. I have accountability data....THIS is of great value!

Cons:

I have no problems with the standard features. A timer of proposed and projected time of what a possible part of a project may be estimated. That could come in handy.

Yaroslav
system administrator, developer in Ukraine
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's awesome daily analytics

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

- setting the goals, ie you have achievements for each day. For example," more than xxx hours of Software development" etc - access for the analytics on both desktop and mobile - reasonable small memory footprint, you keep doing great! No builky and heavy windows, this program not even noticeable in background.

Cons:

Not particullary, everything working as expected.

Robert Jose
Robert Jose
Diseñador gráfico in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Record your work hours

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This application has many advantages when working with freelance clients or with remote companies. You can calculate your hours worked with just start the tracker, if you forgot to start it you just have to start a new time log and edit the start time at which you started. You can also indicate in detail what you did during that period of time, have a record of hours worked per day, week or month, and an average of days worked in the week. Actually this app has made me manage my time and labor cost.

Cons:

It can be improved in many aspects, such as taking screen capture while you work, connecting with a payment gateway to send a receipt with your summary of hours attached.

Nathan
Web Designer in US
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Use the software every day!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Its been great, I've tried many other programs and this one just works and just keeps working.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to track my time and add new projects. I also love that I can get a overview of my week and how many hours a day I've worked. As a freelancer this is extremely helpful information. Also being able to sync with my phone is a God Sent!

Cons:

I don't love that its a subscription. Much rather have a one time cost.

Emmanuella
Emmanuella
Sonographer in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good app for tracking time!

4.0 last year

Pros:

TrackingTime was incredibly convenient to use; its simple design made it accessible to anyone, regardless of their technical expertise. Furthermore, the features were outstanding and the generated reports provided invaluable insights into my own productivity.

Cons:

There is nothing to dislike about TrackingTime

Lily
Graphic Designer in US
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I love Tracking Time for my freelance business

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Tracking time makes it super easy to track hours for different projects in a day or even the same time. It's a great addition you can have it as an extension on google chrome if you need to quickly clock in. I also find the reports and manage projects tab so helpful when creating invoices and ability to track what I worked on and when in a week.

Cons:

I don't have any cons about the software for the moment.

Roget
Principal Engineer in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A lightweight, full featured time tracking service that gets the job done.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: The ability to report on project timeline performance with traceable, direct metrics was immensely helpful in justifying the business case for increased personnel and additional budgetary resources.

Pros:

The ability to get instantaneous metrics on hours tracked, performance targets, and overall usage without having to spend time creating or reviewing complex reports. The dashboard view alone is virtually everything a Project Manager needs to be able to proactively adjust resources and priorities.

Cons:

The inability to have two users contribute to a common task is a SERIOUS deterrent to wider rollout and adoption within our organization. That, combined with the limited access control features and lack of flexibility in input methods is what reduces this from the best in class application to merely an excellent entry in an already crowded field.

Julie
self employed in US
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Free or Paid it is worth it and reasonable.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I would recommend this to anyone. It works well and keeps track of everything wonderfully

Pros:

It is so easy and straight forward to use. I have been using it for years and never had a complaint. When I decide to actually go for the monthly payment version, it got even better and is very reasonably priced.

Cons:

There really isn't anything I can say that is bad about this item. It works as advertised and a great producte.

Justin
Creative Director in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Time Tracker with a Great Free Version

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to learn. Tracks projects with multiple elements.

Cons:

The free version limits the number of tasks you can have active. Honestly, I've been using TrackingTime for a couple years and have only ran into this a few times.

Ted
Associate in US
Law Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product that you can use for free

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Are use tracking time to track all my Billable hours that and then transfer into our internal system. Overall tracking time it’s been a year to use and well designed product

Pros:

What is views and what you can get for free is a great value

Cons:

It is pretty expensive for what it offers. There are a ton of extra incentives to go behind the free product

Danielle
Photographer & Graphic designer in US
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This product is easy to integrate into project management platforms, which I loved very much. And it was easy to use! And allowed me to track time spent on different aspects of a task or project.

Cons:

I would love for there to be reminders. Sometimes I forgot to start and end tracking, so had to go back in and manually edit the time. I like that I can go back and fix times. But really wish there was a way there could be a start and end button always on top of whatever I'm doing. Or at least reminders.

Mary
Graduate Student in US
Research, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Free Version

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use this for my own personal planning and only use the free version because I am not convinced that the paid version would be much better for what I need (at the moment).

Pros:

I have used the free version to keep track of my time on projects, and it seems to be pretty good. I like that it reminds me of an ongoing activity as well as being able to backtrack to fill in my time.

Cons:

I wish it was available to use on a phone application. Additionally, I wish that you could set the time you want to spend on each task and it would notify you when you should switch and ask you if you have switched.

Jayne
Owner in US
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Time Tracking Software I've Tried

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The tool is super easy to use, they have a desktop version that tracks automatically, making edits is a breeze as well. And as a designer, it's aesthetically appealing compared to others that I've tried.

Cons:

I'm actually really pleased with this software and I've tried many out there. This one is by far the easiest to use with the features that I need.

Robin
Unemployed in US
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

TrackingTime was very easy to use and quick to setup. I used this for short-term projects with a lot of pieces to manage. For example, it was a great help as a graduate student tracking the time spent on different elements in my thesis. I could look back at the end of the week and see how much I got done.

Cons:

I switched to a different time tracker when I needed to only track the hours spent for billing at another job. I only really needed a phone app with a stop watch at the time. Would try TrackingTime again in the future.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Efficient Tracking Software for my Small Business

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It helps me accurately bill my clients using the time tracker apps

Pros:

Its simple to use, with mobile apps and integrations with other tools I can customise projects and tasks and get detailed reports of projects I'm working on

Cons:

Its fairly reasonable nothing overly wrong with it

Alexandru Cristian
Alexandru Cristian
QA Engineer in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Using TrackingTime to track my time on multiple projects, insividual

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am using the application as individual, to track my time that I spend on multiple products.

Pros:

The ease of use of the application and the fact that multiple projects can be added and integrated. A very cool feature that I like is that you can integrate calendars so the time will be easier to be tracked amongst meetings / other activities.

Cons:

I don’t have any cons at the time, really enjoying the app, even on the free tier plan.

Flavio
Video Editor in Argentina
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall very good.

Pros:

That it has a bar measuring the time you spent on a project within the budget assigned to each

Cons:

There are sometimes where I'm not tracking time and the ball on Chrome (the chrome extension) still shows red as if I was. That confuses me. Also, to start tracking time you need to create a task, that should be optional, I would want to start tracking time just by the project. There are sometime where I go and forget to set the timer off. I read somewhere that there was a new update that detected this and stopped to tracking? But it's not working for me. So I have to edit the time. Abd to get to the time log, it's not that easy. I wish it was easier.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good software, difficult to understand at first

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used the free trial to track the hours for my freelance services. I loved the PDF reports, it's a pity they are gone after the free trial.

Pros:

I love the features and the look of it, you can track your hours easily

Cons:

It takes a while getting used to it, wasn't easy to find everything at the beginning. Not very user-friendly

Anna
Anna
Account Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great For Motivation + Project Tracking!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This is a life-saver for me!

Pros:

I use this software to track how much time I spend on hourly projects as well as keep myself motivated and focused! I love that you can assign dates to pieces of the projects as well as urgency marks!

Cons:

The support for TrackingTime is really slow.

Seontaik
Professor in US
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Simple & powerful task manager

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Great way to keep track of how much time I spend on my tasks. Also, this app is cloud-based and syncs well with the desktop app

Cons:

The only thing lacking is the ability to change the hourly rate to a project rate.