15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Ricochet

The leader in consignment software, Ricochet POS was developed specifically for consignment, resale, and retail businesses.

Learn more about Ricochet

Pros:

Plus, my consignors absolutely love being able to easily log in to see their account, watch as items sell, and always know how much money is currently owe do to them.

Cons:

The only "con" would be the inability to customize sales and inventory reports based on timeframes.

Ricochet ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Ricochet has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 115 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ricochet before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (115)

Gary
Gary
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not Just Consignment Software - A solution.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Barcoding, website/storefront sync integration, layaway, reporting, a loyalty program for my customers, auto-discounts, easy access to online vendor sign-in so my consigners can see what is selling, what is owed to them and when contracts are ending, it stops the unnecessary phone calls throughout the day asking if a vendor has money to pick up.

Pros:

It is flexible. I can make this software adapt to my business needs. I can be a consigner, a store shop owner, a flea marketer, ebay consigner, craft store, space rentals, a retail store and so much more. If there is an internet connection I am in business.

Cons:

Ease of posting products on to the website. I am hoping the new app with help out with this. I would like to use one simple method to post a product directly to my website with pictures and all. I can kinda of do it with the mobile browser but would be so much easier with a dedicated app. I think this would help our vendors to add products. Allow for other credit card company choices. I prefer Square as my credit card provider so to process credit cards I need to switch apps to process the transactions. It's a pain but not a deal-breaker. Cost is a bit high at $109 a month and an extra $39 for the website. So the total annual cost to run the software is almost $1,800 a year. You save a some money by paying annually rather than monthly.

Alternatives Considered: Claris FileMaker, BigCommerce and Shopify

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: The consignment and vendor feature is top class. It helps the owners use the software so they understand the needs of the business.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the 5 stars, Gary! We'll keep cranking away at new features that might fit your needs. The good news is that we have a significant update in the works to make the vendor listing process much better!

Athena
Athena
Director of Operations in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very helpful software for consignment tracking

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Up until the format was updated we had a great handle on how to use the system to fit our needs. It has proven to be a great help in that multiple users can have access to the same information. There is however an extreme lack of communication. We were not informed that the entire format was being changed and logged in one day to a new set-up with no option to revert back. Features are also disabled or removed without letting the clients know causing navigation issues.

Pros:

This software is extremely helpful in tracking our consignors, their sales, percentages, and important data such as addresses and phone numbers. The newer format also allows us to add images if inventory items which will be very helpful when we have more staff available to log the inventory. It is also very helpful to be able for all users to see what inventory items are in stock vs paid out to the client as well as notes left by other users.

Cons:

I don't like that the software assigns its own descriptors to each client rather than offering the user an option of using its descriptors or your own. I understand these markers are important for the automation algorithm but not helpful for many. Also, since we do not use bar-code scanning and enter all sales manually, the newer layout DOES NOT ALLOW us to find the inventory by our own parameters in the POS tab (ie. client name or consignor number). This has proven to be a time consuming annoyance.

Alternatives Considered: ConsignPro, SimpleConsign and SixBit Software

Reasons for Choosing Ricochet: Access was using an in-house created database that was more difficult to share among other users with no direct cloud access for changes

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: It fit the bill at the time and was budget friendly.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the review, Athena. Sorry you had trouble migrating to the newer version. We try our best to make sure we modify and keep the most essential functions as the software improves.

Mark
Owner in US
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Could be a lot better

3.0 last year

Comments: If I had my way I would look for an alternative.

Pros:

the inventory management, having the app on the phone and on the computer

Cons:

1. I am a consigner. There are two stores - every time I use the app, I have to select the 'other' store. You should be able to default to a store. This is very anoying as the session times out and switching tabs from Inventory to Payout does not refresh in real time when this happens. 2. The iPhone app needs to allow a constant login and not keep timing out. it refuses to save the username and password and I waste a lot of time typing it in again. 3. The Category/Brand needs to allow for Consignor admin - adding new categories/Brands as needed.4. Should allow for some other fields such as 'Color', 'Size' etc5. Label support is pretty bad, being forced to use expensive DYMO labels. Also the small labels truncate at very few letters without warning. On my MacBook, the large labels took a lot of effort to print properly.

Carina
Founder in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

From entering items manually to full integration!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love being able to serve my consignors and customers using one software.

Pros:

What I like most about this software is the user-friendly interface. As a new business, we needed a software that wasn't going to take months of trial to figure out and that could integrate a lot of the steps to save time. I love that it has been able to accommodate our business needs as we grow and we are excited for new features to release. We also love the team behind the software who is always available to answer any questions or concerns.

Cons:

What I like the least about this software is the limitation on the selection of an integrated payment processor. There is basically no other option. I would love if it could integrate with square so I can take payments on my phone and on the go. Another thing I dislike is the limited information on reports. It would be great to have more bookkeeping/accounting details integrated into them. I also dislike that it doesn't have some basic features I find would be helpful as a business owner.

Alternatives Considered: ConsignPro, Liberty Consignment and Rose for Square

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: I chose Ricochet because it had the most user-friendly interface and the most features for the price.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the 5-stars, Carina! We are working to expand reporting this year. And our payments partner is building a mobile device as well! Hopefully, these will help sort out some of your needs this year.

Kristi
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A User Friendly Software with Exceptional Customer Support

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We always feel heard by the Ricochet team and appreciate their willingness to discuss possible improvements or even explain why a desired feature may not be effective in meeting all their customer's needs. We understand that not every feature we may want is an asset for every store/shop they service. The pros outweigh the cons and we actually value their commitment to delivering a software that works but isn't overwhelmed with "bits and pieces" of features that only meet the needs of some.

Pros:

We began our consignment business with Ricochet and truly believe it played a huge part in our success and is a key to our continued growth. Our team frequently comments on how easy it is to use the software. Many of us have had past experience with systems that were cumbersome and clunky; in comparison Ricochet has an interface that makes it easy to train new staff. Our new staff members quickly get comfortable and confident in using the POS which allows our team to focus our attention on better serving our customers and consignors. As we have grown, Ricochet has evolved along with us. The Ricochet team is constantly working on making the software better and adding features that give us the ability to do business more efficiently. It is important to us to be partnered with service providers who are always looking to enhance their services because it enables us to also always be improving. Their customer support is exceptional. A team member is always readily available to assist and answer questions. We appreciate this level of service because it allows us to offer the same value to our customers and consignors.

Cons:

There are some features and capabilities we hope to see in the future.

Alternatives Considered: ConsignPro, ConsignCloud and Liberty Consignment

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: We felt that most of the interfaces seemed dated and awkward. The few systems that had aesthetics and features that were more comparable to modern retail options seemed to be loaded with irrelevant features that made use cumbersome and a little confusing .* When inquiring on the software and attempting to experience demos and trials, we frequently we're never contacted or had a chance to have a conversation with an actual person. The couple times we did speak with someone they felt very disconnected from the software as if they were just "sales reps." This was one of the biggest reasons we chose Ricochet. We were quickly contacted via phone and the conversation made us feel confident in their knowledge, quality of the software, their commitment to offering value, and the type of customer service we would receive. As a brick and mortar store with some online presence, we're in the business of building relationships with people and creating a value to benefit them -- we want to do business with services providers that have similar mindsets. *Please note we haven't researched any other software recently. We opened our store in 2015 and this was our experience at that time.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Fantastic review, Kristi! Reclamation has been a part of our success too! Thanks for your commitment and thoughtful feedback.

erica
Consignment Store Owneer in US
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Only Software You Need For Your Consignment Shop

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The personal one on one assistance & customer support is unmatchable. Everyone on the Ricochet software team is so genuinely nice & supportive whenever you need customer support. The support team is always available and has been there for me any time that I ever called for help. They help you with any issues within minutes. I love that my consignors can view their accounts so easily & can do so with user-friendly technology. I have never once had a consignor unable to access their accounts or have any trouble using the software. I have managed a consignment store in the past for five years & have now had my own shop for close to three years; so, I am very aware of the consignment business. I am so grateful to Ricochet for meeting all the needs & wants of a consignment shop owner. Thanks to Ricochet, my consignment business is so organized, safe, and user-friendly. I have loved this software since day one of using it & have never had to look elsewhere.

Cons:

Honestly, I really love everything about this software. Perhaps a few features can be perfected...but I know the team will get to any of those imperfections with the next update.

Alternatives Considered: Liberty Consignment

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: Ricochet offered all of the same content as Liberty at a much more affordable cost. It was the best option for my new consignment business.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks so much, Erica! We love hearing such wonderful feedback from fellow experts in the consignment industry! We will keep working on perfecting those features for you.

Heather
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Consignment System Out There!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It makes a HUGE difference to have my consignors have access to their accounts online so they can keep track of their items if they want to. I am more saving time and energy than I realized I would.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use, and all the tutorial videos available so I can spend less time training my staff. I love how available the developers are to help when I have a question or an issue. I love all the stats and data they offer so I can easily track my top customers and consignors and stay on top of sales goals.

Cons:

There are the occasional glitches but the team addresses them right away. It's also a bit expensive with the monthly fees compared to the one time purchasing price of the other consignment software options I have used, but you do get MUCH better service for the price. It would be nice as a small business to have a more affordable option, but I get why it costs what it does and I'm committed now!

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Glad to have Trilogy on board, Heather! We understand that not every store can make monthly payments for software, but it seems that the benefits definitely outweigh the cost. Thanks, for the review!

Capri
Business Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Everyone Loves Ricochet!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I absolutely love this software and my vendors do too. Three years in and I will still receive emails from vendors saying how much they love Ricochet and the convenience it offers them. It has everything we need in one place - point of sale, inventory, and a way for everyone to track what has sold and needs replenished.

Pros:

We love the accessibility of this software. We use it at our shop, at home, when we take our products out on the road, and everyone that sells with us can use it from their homes too. This software is the most important part of running my small business!

Cons:

When they recently redid the interface we lost a couple (menial) features that I used often like sorting the consignors from oldest to newest or from payout large to small within the software. We can totally function without these things, but have missed it a little since the update.

Alternatives Considered: Square Point of Sale

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: We chose Ricochet because vendors would be able to access their accounts from home which saves my staff and I a lot of time counting things and sending emails/making phone calls. We have also been really happy with the credit card processor they hooked us up with (Gravity) the fees so far have been less than using Square.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the 5-stars, Capri! We LOVE LOVE LOVE when our customers use the software to it's fullest! Glad to hear you use the tools in so many different situations, and that your consignors love it too. Thanks for your feedback as well. Definitely noted!

Monica
Monica
owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Choice

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The software overall is amazing! The representatives are extremely professional and helpful. I plan on using Ricochet Consignment Software for many more years.

Pros:

I like the convenience and functionality, Having access to the software anywhere helps eliminate any errors or miscalculations.

Cons:

Cost and ease of use. As a small business owner, it's an investment to maintain. I new updates have helped with making it easier to use. However, there are a few areas of concern like searching.

Alternatives Considered: SimpleConsign

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: The initial cost for a small start-up business and low volume.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thank you, Monica! We'll pass on the love to our support team.

Christina
Christina
owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hands down best consignment software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have been VERY pleased with Ricochet and how it has helped me, my consignors, and my business.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use and track my business. It has really streamlined processes for both me and my consignors. As a result, I have saved myself several hours of work each week. I can't recommend Ricochet enough!

Cons:

Some of the reporting isn't as intuitive as I would like but I can always get help when I need it and figure it out pretty quickly.

Alternatives Considered: Square for Retail and Rose for Square

Reasons for Choosing Ricochet: I didn't have a good way of managing consigned inventory, running sales reports and I had a LOT of hours tied up in manually entering consigned inventory.

Reasons for Switching to Ricochet: Support and customer service along with functionality.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the love, Christina! We have long term plans to build a pretty serious update to the reporting structure. Several new reports, new dashboard widgets, etc. We'll keep you in the loop when things start happening.

Tyrone
Owner in Canada
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not perfect, but it is a great solution.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We needed to streamline the inventory management processes for our store and Ricochet has made a real impact in this area for us. All of our staff really like Ricochet and have learned the new workflows very easily. We'd love to see more reporting/dashboards (or an API so we can do our own analytics).

Pros:

We love that we can access the system from home or anywhere in the world. The system is actively being developed and improved which is great. We are about to expand our use of the system to include online sales, which is very exciting!

Cons:

The tax setup isn't ideal for Canadian customers who have multiple taxes that are applied differently to different categories of items. Defining taxes at the category level would eliminate the potential for error when entering items. No visibility into how the data is being backed up is a concern. We aren't sure if the database is being backed up, or how frequently it is happening. To help deal with that, we can manually export inventory and accounts, but this isn't ideal.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, Tyrone! Constantly improving and releasing new features regularly is a big priority for us. So thanks for recognizing that! As our Canadian market grows, we are working on a tax solution to help you all out. We'll keep you updated as that develops. Also! Good news on backups! Your data is actually processed on multiple servers in real-time and conducts a full backup every 24 hours. We just don't display that anywhere on the software.

Robbie
Gallery Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

What a great program

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I mentioned our overall experience above, but I would like to add that this program has helped us streamline our process' overall. IT has been helpful on many levels. I would recommend it to everyone and if anyone wants to contact me, I'll sing Ricochet's qualities.

Pros:

Our organization looked long and hard for the right program for our busy Arts Gallery. The Ricochet program has all the functions we need plus it is a very intuitive program to learn. We have several seniors that work here and everyone found the program easy to adapt to. The customer service at Ricochet is the best I've ever experienced. Not only are the staff knowledgeable, but they are also warm and friendly and personal. It's a great program and a great company. I am delighted that we switched to Ricochet.

Cons:

I honestly have had no problems at all. The program fits all our needs.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Whoo! Thanks, Robbie! We're so glad Ricochet is working out so perfectly for your gallery!

Reena
Owner/Operator in Canada
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Couldn't live without it!

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Ricochet makes consigning products quick and easy and our consignors love having the ability to go online to check their own inventory and account balances.

Pros:

Ricochet Consignment Software is incredibly user-friendly; everything is easy to find and navigate and the customer service if I ever have any questions or issues is always pleasant and quick.

Cons:

There are a few functions that would be nice to have added (i.e., the ability to duplicate a product and then just change the description for similar items and the ability to automatically send account balances out to consignors via email) but there is really nothing negative that I can say about the software.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, Reena! We actually have "duplicate products" on our shortlist of projects this spring. So hopefully we will be getting that out soon!

Linda
owner in US
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I love this software!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: From day one the Ricochet team has been brilliant.....kind, willing to consider changes when they make sense, available quickly

Pros:

Ricochet is so intuitive...even if there were non instructions I could figure it out. I does everything I need to run my consignment shop in a way that makes sense without a lot of useless features. The support has been fantastic (usually just me having a silly question) the team gets back to me in moments. I have used other consignment software and there is no comparison!

Cons:

Hard to think of anything to complain about!

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Wonderful review, Linda! We take a lot of pride in avoiding "feature bloat" and overcomplicating simple processes. Glad you recognize that.

Christopher
owner in US
Furniture, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of Our Best Assets and Advantages

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Keeps us organized and easy to use- we plan to us other on-line sales features in the future

Pros:

Keeps us on top of our Inventory, Consignments and Daily POS

Cons:

Inability to see a snapshot of inventory for a given period

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Christopher! We have had similar reporting features requested recently. We'll be sure to add your feedback to the list.

Heidi
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Service!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have loved this software. It offers lots of overlap of accounting, sales, website and customer access. It is slick!

Pros:

The customer support is phenomenal. Response to questions is fast and the staff ALWAYS know the answer to my questions. This software, is also easy to use and offers lots of ways to gather data and sort through data.

Cons:

It is missing just a couple features that I would like. For example, you can only look two pages ahead or behind when looking up products.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Heidi! We will be sure to pass on the love to our support team. Thanks for the feedback as well! It's always interesting to hear the different wins and fails people have for their various business needs.

John
Owner in US
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Finding Ricochet was the final piece we need to start our business.

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Finding Ricochet was the final piece we need to start our business. We looked at number of Inventory and POS systems. Ricochet was the only one that checked all of our boxes. Once we decided to test drive the system, the guys at Ricochet were extremely helpful via email and phone.

Cons:

Can't think of any cons. The guys at Ricochet listen to their customers and work to implement any changes that will benefit the system and their customers.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks, John! So, so glad Ricochet was the solution you needed!

Sara
Owner in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Holy cow!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is one of the beat programs around. While looking while opening my consignment store, we came across Ricochet and did the free trail. After hiding the program for 48 hours I knew this was the beat option for us. Easy to use and simple for our consignors to check their inventory and balances.

Pros:

How easy and simplified it is, my customers love being able to check their inventory and balances.

Cons:

Can’t wait for mobile app update, having that to use on my iPads will be great!

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Straight 5-stars! Thanks, Sara! We're excited for the iPadOS release too!

John
Ownder in Canada
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

consignment

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is very easy to use if you want a basic software program to use

Pros:

This software is very easy to use for consignment items which is why we chose it. Reporting for consignor is really good

Cons:

Wish there was more reports available regarding inventory

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the review, John! Reports are definitely a point of feedback we are working carefully on this year. Stay tuned as we keep making updates.

Melinda
Store Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Software with ease

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great, customer service is prompt and polite.

Pros:

This software is user friendly. Ease to learn. Love that you can use it on multiple computers at work and if I need to I can access it from anywhere.

Cons:

I would like it to be more customization, such as being able to flag a consignor or have a consignor drop off screen that you could have notes about the drop off i.e. date time etc. More customize able reports Employee time clock

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the view and feedback, Melinda! Deeper reporting is definitely on our list of features this next development cycle.

Judd
Customer Service in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

This saves my wife and I time and allows more family time.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I do like being told what the software company is working on and what we as users can look forward to. This was a huge reason I convinced my wife to go for it with this company.

Pros:

The face we can enter inventory from home or anywhere we are is amazing. This may open up many possibilities for our small business.

Cons:

I hate change. This software is a little more advanced than my computer skill when you are talking about set up and I was hoping there were going to be more customization allowed for users.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the 5-stars, Judd! Regularly communicating and informing our customers on what we are building and working on is a big goal of ours! Thanks so much for recognizing that!

Kathryn
Owner in US
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The Most Amazing Customer Service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is the first and only software I've used. I did tons of research before I purchased and I have not been disappointed. They have been extremely responsive to my questions and issues (100% of which have been my error).

Pros:

The easy of communicating with the company when I run into a snag.

Cons:

There are a few reports I with that I could generate that don't exist. Example "Average Monday Sales". I also with that there was a way to change the status on products from "expired" to "picked up" in mass. I haven't found a way to do that yet.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the 5 stars, Kathryn! Bulk status updating is very high on our development list and schedule to get built out in Q1 of 2020. So keep an eye out for that!

Brandon
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have loved the software and fu criminality. The Ricochet team are great to work for and very prompt in their responses.

Pros:

The fact that the inventory is easy to use. Also ease and functionality of then POS

Cons:

Not nearly enough customizable reports. Need quite a bit more options there

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, Brandon. One of the largest priorities over the next couple of development cycles is how to improve and overhaul the reporting system. Stay tuned!

Steve
CEO in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Does the job

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We looked at several software options and Ricochet offered the best solution, tech support is outstanding and I like that they have continued to innovate the platform

Pros:

Multi-Level Users Ability to offer vendors there own login Easy reporting East Payment reconsiliation

Cons:

Some inventory adding functions are a little clunky

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the review, Steve! We will pass on the appreciation to our customer support staff!

Gary
Co-owner in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customer of several years

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The new version hasn't really provided any new benefits, just headaches and frustration.

Pros:

I DID like that we could do individual reports for our clients (both inventory and sales).

Cons:

I HATE the new version. A LOT LESS user friendly and not as compatible with our estate sale business now. Looking for other options.

Ricochet Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the honest feedback, Gary. Sorry, you're having a rough time with the latest updates. We'll have to reach out and get more details so we can make sure you're having a better experience.