Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Ellucian

Deliver the tech-savvy school experience today's students expect. Empower their future and yours.

Learn more about Ellucian

Showing 66 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Analyst II, Operations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Industry Standard but why?

3 last year

Comments: This product is very commonly used and it feels like they rely on this fact to put in minimal efforts towards innovation. If you have a different option, I would recommend investigating that.

Pros:

This product is very commonly used in industry. The online support community around this product is very active and is very helpful when you encounter issues, bugs, odd behavior, etc. (which is often). It is based on a relational database so query writing is easy enough.

Cons:

Software patches and updates from Ellucian are notorious for breaking various modules, connections between modules, etc. The UI is a very outdated model and tends to be very unfriendly for those who are not tech savvy. Customer service from Ellucian leaves a lot to be desired.

Jennifer R.
Jennifer R.
Banner Business Systems Analyst in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's hard to be vanilla

4 4 years ago

Comments: We were in desperate need of an SIS and for the most part, it does serve our needs.

Pros:

I like that we have a consortium we can share ideas and code with and have a single voice to Ellucian.

Cons:

Banner INB is very clunky to use - even if you are good at using software in general. It is not a very intuitive product; however, the company is moving in the right direction.

Caroline S.
Caroline S.
Reigstration Specialist II in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ellucian review

4 3 years ago

Pros:

It’s fairly easy to use but you do need some training on learning all the acronyms they use.

Cons:

Every time they do an update to the product it seems to disrupt the flow of our production because every one is so thrown off the changes.

Cyrus C.
Application Developer/Analyst in US
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Higher Ed and Ellucian

4 5 years ago

Comments: As for an ERP it works they continually develop products that do well but then should have been tested or better yet more thought should have been thought through before deploying to customers.

Pros:

offers multiple products gives great support

Cons:

Cost: is more costly than some of its competitors Deployment of newer products to end users could be smoother

Verified Reviewer
Clerical/Graphic Designer/Website Admin in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Consolidates all of my educational needs in one place

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Ellucian has made it easy to consolidate all of our educational needs and resources, from billing to grades, in one easy to navigate space. Students are able to find what they need with ease.

Cons:

It is beginning to look a little dated in comparison to other sites in general, but as a tool for higher ed it is still fully functional and acceptable.

Verified Reviewer
Technology Support in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ellucians

4 2 years ago

Comments: The ability to update our Customer Relationship Management system with exported data-sets.

Pros:

Since this uses Oracle and SQL, I like having the ability to write reports for assistance in extracting data from the data tables we use.

Cons:

The software has many different modules and the last version of software released helped out with a more intuitive interface.

Verified Reviewer
Career Counselor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Decent, but like use improvement.

4 last year

Comments: I think it could be a great software for higher education/universities. However, there are flaws and it’s not the most user friendly.

Pros:

Ellucian has a lot of different capabilities and options for multiple departments to use. I like that all offices across campus can see the same information for students once it is updated by another user. It’s a one stop shop for those who work at the university, instead of each department using their own software system.

Cons:

Very complicated codes to search for pages, it takes a long time to memorize them and the training for ellucian wasn’t the greatest. We struggled to get questions answered in a timely manner or correctly.

Verified Reviewer
Accountant and Travel Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

University Integration

4 3 years ago

Comments: The integration and partnership of Ellucian and Chrome River has been much needed.

Pros:

Ellucian continues to find new ways to assist the universities with the many needs of the ever increasing technology needs.

Cons:

Not always do you get the best "training" support, but they will always find a solution.

Jeneshia H.
Service Desk Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Colleague by Ellucian (Student)

5 3 years ago

Pros:

As a Colleague Support and User, the number one thing I loke about this particular software was the ease of use. It flowed easy for both users and students.

Cons:

As an Admin using this software, I found that the update process was very complex and time-consuming.

Trisha M.
Trisha M.
FA Advisor in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software!!! Easy to use and always updating?

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Lots of stuff! Love the new self service!! The innovation of Ellucian is amazing!!! They are helpful !!

Cons:

Sometimes the cost are high for new products and innovations, but I understand they allot of work is done on their behalf.

Rik T.
Server Manager in US
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ellucian Colleague

3 3 years ago

Comments: All Student Information and tracking, payments, HR, etc.

Pros:

It did pull several systems together under one umbrella

Cons:

Every time I turn around, they want more resources over and above the original specs

Verified Reviewer
Non-Federal Resource Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Started out as a great idea, but functionality is horrible.

3 3 years ago

Pros:

Visually appealing and the user interface is easy to use and navigate through tabs. A nice face lift from the older interface.

Cons:

The program is so slow. When you're trying to do multiple processes a day, the waiting adds up. Sometimes I will wait a whole minute to wait for a process to execute, very frustrating.

Jessica D.
Sr admin in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Recruit

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Implementation of Recruit allowed us to upload applications from a csv file. Our previous software did not have this capability.

Cons:

It doesn't work as well as ellucian told us it would. The functionality and communication to our CMS does not work well. The implementation also took much longer than expected.

Ginger A.
Teacher in US
E-Learning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Taking Online Classes

4 2 years ago

Comments: Over all it's convenient to check up on your basic information for college.

Pros:

I love how it has most College Institutes available you can sign into your see your classes you are registered for how much you owe and order your your books from it. You can get phone number of your student advisor or anyone you might need to contact in regards to school.

Cons:

It's pretty much limited it don't have as many useful tools like your schools main website so you you do have to use both.

Verified Reviewer
Assistant Director of Housing and Residence Life for Marketing and Communications and Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Went through a trial phase with Ellucian

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Ellucian had more robust features and handled our campus environment better than the other solutions explored.

Cons:

It was cumbersome to go through the implementation process

Verified Reviewer
Chief Operating Officer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Its one of the unique software and services to higher education colleges, Institutions.

4 4 years ago

Pros:

A Very unique software used to higher education institutions. A lot of data management from Human Resources, Student records, Accounts Receivable & Payable. Very easy to handle the software.

Cons:

Too much to learn about this software and some times runs very slowly as per system configuration. .

Verified Reviewer
Student in Hungary
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Access your university from your pc

3 3 years ago

Comments: I have used this system when I was a professor assistant and student

Pros:

This product provides a learning management system which makes the jobs easier for students and the professors. Students can easly check their duties and see their activities on this system and professors can easily manage their classes easily.

Cons:

If there are a lot of students dont buy this software, during the peak times it makes lots of bottleneck and managing the problem is not that easy always some problem appears if some administrative user did something wrong. The money you pay and the service you have dont compensate each other

Cyrus C.
Application Analyst/Developer in US
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mixed Reviews

4 3 years ago

Comments: They are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what they offer. The partnerships they offer with vendors seems to fall short in some cases. The support they offer for the products is generally good. But depending on the application may depend on how quickly they respond to support questions/issues.

Pros:

Offers a variety of different software solutions that integrates with its ERP (Banner or Colleague). Along with a variety of ancillary applications that integrate with the ERP.

Cons:

Cost would be by far the biggest issue. The second would be that as of late the company has a tendency to tout its upcoming or just released products will work but in reality it is being built and developed as the sales people speak. To be fair their established software generally works well and no complaints.

Connie T.
Prospect Research Coordinator in US
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4 3 years ago

Comments: We use this as our database for all alumni and friends.

Pros:

It's easy to use and my favorite thing about this software is that I can enter very little info to do a search to find who I'm looking for. The possibilities are endless!

Cons:

When it shows a listing of all the proposals a person has received, I have to pull each one up because there isn't anything about the listing that identifies specific ones. It's a minor irritation

Sarah T.
Accounts Payable Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ellucian

5 3 years ago

Pros:

I like that you can see a lot of different types of information and don't necessarily need additional software to get the job done.

Cons:

It can be difficult to navigate through the different windows until you are really well versed.

Verified Reviewer
Babysitter in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Improves education experience

4 4 years ago

Pros:

I like how it allows users to view academic information easily. For higher education this software is greatly beneficial.

Cons:

I do not like how there are times where the software is glitchy or will sign out if inactive for too long.

Verified Reviewer
Accounts Receivable Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Use this for University student records, receiving payments, accounts Payables, P/R and financials.

2 4 years ago

Comments: With angst and time we get what we need from it.

Pros:

Contains a lot of integrated and complex data. From Human Resources, Student Records and Services, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable all in one softward

Cons:

so NOT intuitive or user friendly. We have to have a whole IT department just overseeing the functionality of this software. Users are frustrated in each area - Payroll, Accounts Payables, Student Services... no one seems to feel the software was created for their unique purposes. We keep trying to find the department that loves it...

Verified Reviewer
Assessment Center Proctor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Quality Updates with Ellucian

4 3 years ago

Pros:

I like the user interface of Ellucian! It's easily navigable and very functional in every way. I work in Education and Ellucian is really helpful when inputting various forms of information into the system. It's quick and easy to use with every click you make.

Cons:

I wish the keyboard shortcuts for Ellucian were easy to find.

Iris S.
UX Architect in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Can't begin to describe how horrible

1 2 years ago

Comments: The navigation makes absolutely no sense, it's is extremely hard to just register for classes and find your way to the proper information. Absolutely unintuitive and simply extremely ugly. It looks like it's built in the 90ies.

Pros:

Absolutely nothing, besides it just being horribly ugly the UX and Usability is utterly terrible.

Cons:

As professional in tech I decided to enroll in some part time college classes for enrichment and I was appalled at the software system both schools had for students. Both systems for some reason look and navigate completely different but I found out are still made by the same company. Both is so complicated to use (again both totally different though students need to perform the same tasks) and I'm not sure why people (both school but especially the software company) think this acceptable is beyond me.

Timothy S.
Timothy S.
IT Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes

5 3 years ago

Comments: Ellucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status.
Single sign on module was extremely helpful

Pros:

It is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.

Cons:

Managing it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.