15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement Reviews

About Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Pardot's lead management features CRM integration, email marketing, lead nurturing, lead scoring, and ROI reporting.

Learn more about Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Pros:

There is a huge community that's eager to collaborate and assist (local user groups, blogs, the Dreamforce conference, the connections conference, twitter, slack groups, linkedin groups, etc).

Cons:

Pardot allows you to create multiple leads with the same email address. This is a compulsory feature and causes issues with duplicate and bad data.

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 647 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (647)

Kate
Kate
Marketing & Account Management in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pardot delivers on promises

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Pardot has made it easy to understand how our marketing is working, know who is a hot lead versus a disengaged one, and to create content that is easy to share and delivers good ROI. It’s built in many safeguards to keep you from getting in trouble with spam rules and avoid sending emails multiple times.

Pros:

The software is great for staying in touch with prospects and clients. It makes it easy to set up emails, create content, measure and report on results, and build stronger relationships. It’s fun to use, once you understand how it works.

Cons:

There’s a long learning curve for adopting Pardot, and if I hadn’t had a consultant to hold my hand through the integration and kick off, I’d be struggling. I find Pardot and Salesforce training to be overly confusing and it’s really hard to find what you’re looking for. It’s a knowledge based system and continually adds more and more information, and it’s not always clear if the instructions apply to you or apply to a different level of service. Other than that I highly recommend it because of all the functionality and way it can dramatically improve your digital marketing.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Only for big companies

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

You can build everything you dream of in Salesforce Marketing Cloud. The Journey module is amazing and Automation Studio is very powerful. Rest assure, you will be able to build any user story.

Cons:

Ver expensive. It's not just the tool, but the launch, implementation, and Salesforce partner (or an in-house team of 4-5 experts) to get the most of the tool. Not for new or small companies that can't afford a learning curve of 4-6 months to launch and keep the Salesforce partner or dedicated in-house team to implementation and maintenance.

Andreas
Marketing Director in Canada
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very disappointed

3.0 2 months ago

Comments: Massive post-sale cognitive dissonance - not saying Hubspot is better, but I'm really regretting this purchase

Pros:

Robust, customizable system with many features

Cons:

Byzantine and near to no onboarding - we have had it for 3 months with no clear onboarding process - all we get area bunch of random links from our sales executives and sale support - They do a great with their Sales CRM , but fail miserably with their Pardot/Account Engagement

Yurii
Marketing Director in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The tool you have to choose if you work in Salesforce infrastructure

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Smooth integration with Salesforce. Works fast enough

Cons:

Pricing is not competitive when you look at other options available on the market (not SF appexchange) The other things might be solved with other more expensive packages, but Pardot is already expensive) Not possible to set local time of receiver when you send emails. All of them go out at once Not possible to send emails based on user behavior (also the time when they are sent) No tracking of email forwards Poor responsiveness of pages you can create through internal tools (for example to track unsubscribe reasons)

Melanie
Business development manager in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

You will never go back to any other email marketing software

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Very positive we have encouraged other offices to adopt this platform

Pros:

For a company that communicates with clients and leads primarily via email this platform has changed the game for productivity and delivering personalized emails

Cons:

Always a learning curve when adapting to new software programs but saleforce team was hands on to smooth the transition

Ethan
PMO in UK
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Salesforce

4.0 last month New

Pros:

The contacts and customer database personally is a very valuable tool for us for client outreach and pipeline management.

Cons:

Requires a decent level f training for new starters as some parts of the system are not the most intuitive to use.

Marco
IT Expert in US
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It Is Easy to Deploy this Email Marketing and Management Solution

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement gives us value for money because it has impressive capabilities. I like the ease of use of Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement is simple to deploy.

Cons:

No cons for Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement meets our expectations.

Viktor
Viktor
Marketing specialist in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Pardot/marketing Cloud Marketing Review

4.0 last month New

Pros:

workflow of pardot and marketing cloud is very simple and easy to understand after figuring it out. Would love to see more features.

Cons:

Structure and organization of tools is okay, could be more user friendly and easier to navigate

Ipek Nil
Ipek Nil
Sales Marketing Specialist in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing Features

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

I really like the ability to have a granular data for each and every customer we have.

Cons:

I do not like the complexit of the interface which leads to different unintended sections.

Jennifer
Event specilaist in US
Events Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Marekt

3.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It was great fining it to a easey way to find want u needed

Cons:

Sometimes it was hard for y get in touch with customer serivce

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Not the easiest to implement or maintain for startups, not worth the high cost

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, we didn't get the most use out of it mainly because its ease-of-use didn't turn out to be as advertised and sold. When you buy salesforce and pardot together, you're sold on the premise that it's 'one system', but at the end of the day they're still two separate systems that sync back and forth just like any other marketing automation tool. It just didn't turn out to be worth the heavy cost.

Pros:

Form handlers, automation/workflow builder, not much else.

Cons:

The need to pay extra for detailed add-ons, particularly a dedicated IP (a basic need for email marketing), is really annoying (only available in their higher tiers). We didn't like not being able to relate marketing email activity to einstein activity sync. User interface could use some work as well; just not there yet overall.

Christopher
Christopher
Digital Demand Generation Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

If you are using Salesforce then this tool is great!!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Pardot has fit our needs especially in working with Salesforce. However, if I had an option I would use a different tool (such as Hubspot). It feels like a dated product that needs some updates to the user experience. Keep in mind it is VERY powerful (a ton of features) but finding them is irritating. For example, you have email templates and email drafts. The differentiation is not clear and you have to look through their knowledge base to figure that out.

Pros:

Pardot has a huge number of features that allow you to control, split and quickly view your customer lists. It is also awesome being able to get this information into Salesforce. Another feature I love is the customer behavior tracking. It makes it simple to get an understanding of what a prospect is interested in. We can then tailor our message to this prospect. For example, if we identify someone is from a specific State (in the U.S.A) then we can share a link in an email that is information only about that State. The scoring feature is also great because you can quickly see the interest of a current prospect and then notify the correct sales agent to reach out.

Cons:

There are 2 things that frustrate me about Pardot. The learning curve and intuitiveness is very poor. It takes a long time to figure out what pieces are where. On top of that, I have used Pardot for almost 2 years and I still figuring stuff out. It has a ton of features but figuring them all out is mind-boggling. The other thing that is irritating is the email builder. It just isn't intuitive. You have a tiny screen to make any edits and adding things (like custom information) is hard to find most times. Then you have to sync this email to the HTML version. Every time I have clicked that button the email syncs but I have to spend 5-10 extra minutes fixing the syntax issues that come about from the sync. I feel that process should work much more seamlessly.

Neil
Marketing Operations Manager
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Marketing Automation for price conscious organizations

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Pardot has a lot of base functionality that sets it apart from email platforms like Mailchimp and the like. It also provides better integration with Salesforce than hubspot and other less expensive CRMs to give your organization with a complete picture of the sales funnel. Pardot provides email templates upon sign-up that are easily customizable for specific needs. You can test this emails to internal lists and with its integration with Litmus you can view how different clients and platforms will render you email before sends. Landing pages and form are an easy way to collect leads, track conversion points, and keep the source of a lead. Forms enable you to send auto-response emails, notify teams or sales reps, and assign leads to the correct person. The can also send leads to a Salesforce campaign with detailed member statuses to provide for multi-touch attribution. Landing pages are easy to build, add Google analytics or any other tracking code and deploy. Automation rules allow you to keep your database clean and ensure that all prospects are going to the right place, tagged correctly, and scored appropriately. Dynamic content is an excellent investment as an add on to allow you to use one template but change messaging based on known prospect information. No need to create 5 different emails or landing pages for industry segments, just create on template and use the dynamic content feature to show messaging that applies to them.

Pros:

Intuitive UI, great functionality for the price, native integration with Salesforce, dynamic content add-on. Automation rules that can help keep the system clean and prospects updated.

Cons:

Limitations within automation rules for mutli-variable updates. For example - Loading a tradeshow list with campaign member statuses in SFDC. I would like to upload in one automation rule to say if X campaign status, update to this campaign in SFDC for X status, within the same rule I would like to add all of the other statuses with specific completion actions instead of having to run 1 rule for each status. Dynamic content should be able to trigger via a URL parameter and not just a known prospect field.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pardot is somewhat sophisticated

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great tool - has more sophisticated features than less expensive tools, but is more complex to use.

Pros:

Easy to build and send emails, manage contacts, track lists/segmentation, and built automation. You can also setup scoring/grading to see your interest/lead interest.

Cons:

The integration with Salesforce is a bit confusing, and they change the way it's implemented with every release. This causes issues with clients trying to launch all users at once on Pardot, and ensuring they have the right licensing.

Leon
Leon
IT Recruiter in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing tools.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: My experience was for the most part positive. Pardot is powerful and reliable, I found it to be useful for the most part, they just need to revise the e-mail marketing tools and it will surely become a market standard.

Pros:

Even though it might seem a little bit complex to use, Pardot gets easier as you learn how to use it, it has a very intuitive structure that anyone can learn on the fly, with a clean dashboard and well -labeled banners/icons combined with a sleek graphic interface. The automation efectiveness is impressive and compelling, and its multi-platforms capabilites are beyond any other competing alternative, specially how it connects with Social Media and Salesforce. You can instinctively customize how it manages the data feed, giving away a set of rules that Pardot follows beautifully, filtering everything at your command with great results. It is probably the most complete and fully integrated Marketing Automation software in the market, with the nicest set of tools necessary to supply all your necessities and more.

Cons:

Pardot is rather expensive and probably not suitable for small enterprises. The e-mail managing/creation/customization interface needs to be worked out, even though it works great most of the times, it tends to have issues with Gmail servers. Sending e-mail templates gets complicated, specially because it has a tendency to crash when some custom coding is involved; this usually forces you to adapt to something that does not bug the system instead of doing what you are actually adapted to. Even though mostly everything is user friendly, the e-mail marketing tools are over complicated, it might deliver the results you're looking for but it will cost you a lot of toggling.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Gets the job done

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Pardot gets the job done, but it could definitely be better. I would recommend Pardot for smaller businesses that may just be starting out. If you are a larger company, I recommend either Marketo or Pardot.

Pros:

Creating emails and landing pages are easy once you have templates that are built out. If you are not familiar with how to build templates, it may be difficult for you to use Pardot, as there is no drag and drop feature. The automation rules make it really easy for us to integrate into Salesforce, which we love. It's also very simple to create custom fields, which was important for us.

Cons:

The reporting feature in Pardot is subpar. It is extremely difficult to report on our marketing activities with their current reporting structure. There is no way to create a custom report, making it very difficult for our team to track ROI. Probably the biggest downside to using this platform.

Eric
Director of Global Marketing and Sales Operations in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pardot - Ease of Use

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Dissatisfied. I have worked with other systems as a sales person but as an administrator it could certainly use some enhancing and development to make it better. Unfortunately being under the umbrella of Salesforce will set that back for a while. They are just satisfied it works and you can ultimately get the job done. Unfortunately, not caring about their customers frustration level will get them one day.

Pros:

Ability to segment your prospects into silos that can help determine which direction will bring the best return on our investment of time. I also like the ability to add photos of our work. We offer a very visual product that clients need to see which will help with their buying decision. Finally, the ability to schedule email drops which allows me to not consume network speed since I can do it after business hours.

Cons:

Workflows are not well established. It took me a while to learn them because they do not flow logically. A training documentation does not outline any type of logical flow for some of the common ways people work. Secondly, support is lacking. I do think this is a Pardot issue directly but a Salesforce issue. Your best support person is Mr. Google since he knows everything and you do not have to fill out multiple screens hoping you get to the right person.

Anna
Anna
Marketing Automation Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Quality Marketing Automation System for B2B Marketers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Pardot is by far my favorite Marketing Automation system I've used. They have great support articles, a large user community that you can utilize, and you can trust that the software will actually work.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to start automated workflows, send autoresponders based on contact engagement and do all around data tracking. The integration with Salesforce allows for easy data maintenance and gives a high quality hand off between marketing and sales. The engagement and information on all campaigns your leads and contacts are apart of can easily be viewed on the Salesforce records for quick access for Sales to see. Custom redirects are also one of the best features that Pardot has because you can utilize them on all SoMe platforms for prospect tracking and provide more quality on certain links on your website.

Cons:

The customer support team for Salesforce and Pardot is not great. It can take months for them to get back to you. Which, could highly impact your automations if you can't solve a problem. You're better off asking the Pardot community via Twitter or a Salesforce Community for any questions you have.

Dan
Dan
Digital Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool, especially for B2b Marketers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am Pardot certified and it has been an extremely helpful tool in my Marketing career. It can do very complex marketing tasks but is a great entry point.

Pros:

Powerful marketing automation tool that integrates extremely well with the Salesforce platform. Easy to learn, hard to master.

Cons:

Things have improved, but considering it's under the same roof as Salesforce, the integration is clearly an afterthought. I think it does it better than other tools, but not as well as it could have been.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use CRM

4.0 last year

Comments: We used it for lead management snd monitoring and Salesforce's easy UI and short learni g curve made that convenient

Pros:

User friendly interfaceMultiple lead management optionsReports were easily generated and saved without any issues

Cons:

If the information was captured wrong due to some reason, debugging took timeInitially learning curve difficult

Lisa
Lisa
Senior Data Analyst in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Has potential but very complex to set up and manage

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

This can be a good tool to use for automation as you can import contacts and add them to lists and drips fairly easily. It's also good for integrating with custom forms and landing pages and you can create custom campaigns, links etc. High level, it really helps connect everything together from the first visit (including the pages they viewed) and every subsequent touchpoint from then on (but reporting on this falls into the "Cons").

Cons:

Pardot is a difficult tool to set up and manage and their support through the process is quite limited. Their chat seems to fill up by 9 am, and although they offer courses to train you how to use their product, they charge for it. Although it is a powerful tool, their reporting capabilities are very behind, and while they capture every touchpoint, there is no way to roll up that data to gather insights or report on it.

Shankar
Manager in India
Real Estate, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Know about - Sales Force

5.0 last year

Comments: Marketing campaign Dashboards and New modules can be created on salesforce as per our requirement.

Pros:

User friendly for form Integration. Multiple Dashboards and Reports Available for business review. View and Notification for users. API integration with multiple websites and Applications. Easy setup to create new fields and data management module. Log history to identify changes and creation. Campaign management leads, cost per lead and outcome.

Cons:

Processing lag in case of too much information on the page. View log is not available in normal license.

Amadou
Responsable marketing commercial chez Global Nettech in Guinea
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My review Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: A great email marketing software to use to make email sales

Pros:

We use this software for email marketing. Thanks to this software we make more sales by e-mail

Cons:

Our emails are sent without worry everything is to the standard really

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pardot marketing tool

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am really happy we went with Pardot it has been a great marketing tool and allowed our company to create content and reach an audience we could not have even come close to without it.

Pros:

I love the ability to have insight into customer activity and to create marketing campaigns. From a marketing perspective Pardot is an amazing tool. However my role is in more of a sales role so I tend to lean on the features of Salesforce much more. I appreciate the tie into sales force and how I am able to create reports and customer lists very easily in Pardot. It has greatly expanded the communication that I am able to have with customers. I work closely with the marketing team to delivery targeted messages which we were unable to do in the past.

Cons:

My biggest frustration comes from the Salesforce/Pardot relationship. I wish that the terms in salesforce were the same used in Pardot, it is a bit of a learning curve especially when you are getting up to speed and working within two different departments. For example campaigns in salesforce are completely different than campaigns in Pardot.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Definitely a great way to sort leads

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Besides the functionality of using Pardot on the sales team, I know the marketing team and exec team loved the dashboards. The marketing team was also able to capture many prospect details from the easy to create beautiful, customizeable content where most of our leads came from. It's definitely an added bonus to help create the pipeline and sort it effectively.

Pros:

I really liked how the leads were sorted into ones that were immediately "hot" and with Salesforce mobile, I could even do it on my long train commute home. It was also a good indicator of which leads to focus on. Since our sales cycle can also be really long, it also was helpful to see how long the prospect has been in the system and how knowledgeable they might be about us. As a newer salesperson it was helpful.

Cons:

I wish some of the pro features were available at the standard price. If we could see the Google Adwords that led our prospects directly to the site easier, it would be much helpful. It is available, so it's not too bad of a downside, however, it is if that feature is too expensive for your budget at the moment.