Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About BigCommerce

B2B eCommerce platform that helps businesses manage orders, products, customers, revenue, reports, shopping carts, and payments.

Learn more about BigCommerce

Showing 178 reviews

Samin S.
CEO
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2019

"Bigcommerce Review"

Comments: My overall experience with Bigcommerce is undoubtedly excellent. It would have been better if they considered to lower the price of this mesmerising software.

Pros: I loved the fact that I could easily build my site the way I want without coding a single line. It's easy for beginners to start designing your first e-commerce site even if you don't know how to build sites

Cons: I worst thing about this is I think it's overpriced. For the price it doesn't have that much features. The overall value doesn't match with the pricing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2019
Richelle R.
office manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2018

"Good option for small businesses"

Pros: Big Commerce in general is very easy to use. The ecommerce site that we set up looks lovely, and seems to work most of the time. Looks professional and syncs well with paypal to process payment.

Cons: There have been a few times that our site went down for unexplained reasons. Luckily customers have let us know and it was resolved quickly once we reached out to bigcommerce, but it is disconcerting that it went down in the first place. One time all of our products just disappeared. BigCommerce support was able to find them and re-establish all, but still not sure why that happened. This software seems expensive for a small business with a small budget, and then to have issues like this. They did not offer a refund or anything, and we have no way of knowing how long our site was down for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2018
Jannis P.
PR Specialist
Public Relations & Communications, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/09/2019

"Scalability, smooth set up and great customer support"

Comments: I use a few different ecommerce solutions as it depends on the business model when determining which platform is best. BigCommerce is a recent addition to my portfolio and I must say that I am impressed thus far. Their customer support and willingness to be creative to solve an obstacle has impressed me. Customer support and the ability to address unique situations is a key feature for an ecommerce platform in my opinion.

Pros: The ease of use and access to assistance when needed. It is not unusual to get the brush off from a large cloud platform when you ask for a solution to an unusual situation. I was pleasantly surprised by the response I got from BigCommerce when this happened. Not only wee they willing to address it, they provided very detailed, walkthrough information to help me handle it myself. I highly recommend BigCommerce on the basis of their superior customer service alone at this point.
Most platforms these days provide all of the basic necessary functions. Customer support is where the best rise to the top.

Cons: I wish there were more free templates available or the ability to easily customize/create a template to suit your desires. That said, the free templates provide a good platform for a variety of industries.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/09/2019
Max S.
Director of Systems Operations
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020

"Terrific admin UI and purchaser experience - BigCommerce will not fix bugs customers find"

Comments: The software has been solid for our customers and the administration UI is very easy to use. We have outstanding technical issues that have been open for more than a year and are still not resolved (HTTP status 500 errors that intermittently are returned from their backend APIs) - they say they cannot see the errors in their backend logs and we must send them examples even though we have this happen 10-12 times a day, continually, for over a year. Their Stripe integration does not include the email address field when they send payment requests to Stripe, so customers do not get a credit card receipt from Stripe. Requesting this be changed resulted in them telling us only 1 other customer wanted this feature and that we should switch to Authorize or Brain Tree because it works with those processors) - this felt like a move to downplay the use of Stripe and push us towards vendors that BigCommerce perhaps prefers? It is hard to believe we are the only customer that would want Stripe to send CC receipts to customers - their built-in receipt mechanism does not allow a store to include the last 4 digits of the credit card in the receipt the store sends, which means customers have to call in to customer support when they are organizational customers to figure out which CC is used - a very poor experience for our customers and for our customer support team.

Pros: It is highly customizable, has most of the features you'd expect in an e-commerce solution, and the APIs are well-documented.

Cons: * Seemingly easy solutions to known issues get stuck in their support bureaucracy and disappear
* Their logging does not allow software engineers nor CSRs to see the specifics of errors - customers must provide client-side stack traces to help them find errors on their backend (for example, API calls that return HTTP status 500)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020
Toby M.
Senior Marketing Analyst
Consumer Electronics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2017

"well rounded eCommerce solution"

Pros: BigCommerce is easy to set up and use; provides a lot template to begin with and you can also customize your site. The new releases Stencil theme performs better than the old template but also requires more skills to develop and manage the template. Manage and process order is easy too. Overall a great eCommerce tool for online business. They are also adding features all the time. Support is good too.

Cons: Some feature is lacking or still under development. very limited coupon settings customization and other few customization features but they said they are working on improving those features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2017
Eric A.
IT Admin
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018

"Powers both of our company websites and performs amazingly!"

Pros: There are a lot of things to love. Integrating this with Netsuite or Fishbowl ERP's is fairly easy and makes your life much easier. We've been able to maintain our companies on these sites since the very beginning of 4 employees and 1 customers all the way to 70+ employees and more than 1,000 customers. Makes our life very easy and makes growing an e-commerce company much easier.

Cons: Have had growing pains early on since we were one of the first companies it seems to what to integrate Fishbowl but once the initial setup and processes were hashed out most things went smoother.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Billy G.
Alpha Pup
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2020

"Excellent Store Management Plumbing and Partner Alliances"

Comments: Big Commerce has built a fabulous eCommerce engine that integrates with many important providers of inventory, POS, shipping, tax calculation, etc. They offer all this at a reasonable fee. Their Achilles Heel is their website builder and they know it. The current WordPress headless play is probably a wise interim step... but LAMP is getting long in the tooth... Plan B.2?

Pros: Big Commerce have done an excellent job of identifying and integrating the components necessary for a very robust large scale online store. It is wrapped in a very inflexible templated front end that requires programming to break out of. They clearly recognized this shortcoming and have deftly pivoted to a headless model that tosses the client-side rendering to... WordPress.

Cons: The theming/template/programming model of native BigCommerce is an investment. It is a specialty that does not feel like a career investment, rather it is a commitment to be a Big Commerce partner/developer. I suppose that with a pool of large clients this might seem monetarily attractive, at the end of the pool with smaller clients and smaller jobs, customization work required will often exceed their needs or desires and even at the small business end of things, e-commerce websites have become content marketing tools as well as storefronts. The out of box BigCommerce sites just don't accommodate the rapid transformation required. A free WordPress plugin for headless BigCommerce machinery under the hood certainly addresses this... for now, but I see incredible advances in the flexibility and programming model of Wix. If (when?) they get that to scale to faster performance on larger datasets... look out World...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2020
Verified Reviewer
Director Web Technology
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018

"Great for getting started."

Comments: I have used BigCommerce personally for many years and have never been offline or had any technical issues. I have also set up stores for clients and was happy to see that they could learn to use the system with minimal training.

Pros: Launching a new store on BigCommerce couldn't be easier. They have an onramp that is very smooth. They also have excellent integrations with third-party software like MailChimp.

Cons: BigCommerce email hosting is just OK, and really not well supported. They actually recommend hosting email elsewhere.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Stuart W.
Digital Marketing Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2019

"SaaS shopping cart made easy"

Pros: Easy to use and has some great functionality.

Cons: As always with SaaS platforms there's always a feeling of features missing, slow progress to make changes, dealing with bugs and being told that you need to turn off apps that maybe causing a conflict (but you can't do so without uninstalling and reinstalling) and general banging your head against the brick wall because the core product is slow to see improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2019
Drew S.
Manager, Brand Development & Merchandise
Sports, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2019

"Great product! Easy to use!"

Comments: Works great for our online team store. Easy to use on both ends. I’ve recommended to others!

Pros: Very easy to use. Easily set up and display products on site.

Cons: We’ve recently had a number of people trying to hack the site and make purchases with fraudulent credit cards. As far as I’m aware there is no way to stop these purchases. Only one gas actually gone through, but we were able to catch it. They’ve tried hundreds of times. I’ve asked the question, but was told there’s no way to block or stop these issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2019
Susan M.
National Account Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018

"We have 2 sites with Big Commerse"

Pros: Super easy to set up. You can customize as much as you want. Easy integration capabilities. Custom service and support is excellent.

Cons: It has more features than we need. I cant think of negatives, we really like working with Big Commerce.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018
Mike G.
Logistics & customer service Manager
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2018

"I currently use Bigcommerce for 2 web stores that I manage."

Pros: The amount of customization that designers are able to implement.
There are quite a lot of really nice features that help improve load speeds on mobile devices which saves a lot of custom code

Cons: missing some key features like a built-in recurring billing option for customers
The built-in email system isn't the greatest but you can have things like MailChimp plugin pretty seamless

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Business Owner
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/12/2017

"Nice, reliable hosted website platform"

Pros: Bigcommerce has built a great platform for hosted websites. It made the setup process easy and efficient allowing us to utilize valuable time elsewhere.

Cons: Had an issue with Bigcommerce billing practices. The representative would not refund after repeatedly requesting cancellation. Unfortunately, I ultimately had to file a credit card charge back.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Team Leader, Research & Marketing Campaign Sales
Paper & Forest Products, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019

"Great for sub retailers"

Pros: I liked the price and overall template model, it lent well to my retail business

Cons: I used this 6 years ago, so I’m sure the product has improved but at the time it was a very chunky user experience

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019
Jennifer J.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018

"Chose another platform in the end"

Pros: Big Commerce has a strong technical stack and it seems to be able to host the websites and webstores and ecommerce solutions for some massive players. Great reporting and high level support for customization and as I understand it, it hosts for some very large retail/webstore companies.

Cons: However! For the money, it was not a good solution for my small company - and I wouldn't recommend it for small companies who do not have large funds to support programmers and high levels of customization.
I did not find the BigCommerce platform to be very intuitive or easy to use and in the end I found that to really get what I needed out of the software I would have to hire a programmer - which I do not have the resources to do. After giving Bigcommerce a month trial, we went with a "better value for your money" and easier to use software platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Michael S.
Operations Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2019

"Big Commerce lacks integration"

Comments: It was a solid program to start our retail website from, but it has not aged well compared to newer platforms that are now available. The price for the services provided by Big Commerce has gone up while the number and quality of those features has gone down.

Pros: Simple platform that is easy to setup. Tons of options to choose form to get the look you want for your website.

Cons: Lack of new integrations that platforms like Shopify and the like now offer making it hard to add additional selling networks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2019
Justin C.
IT Manager
Textiles, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018

"Solid web store platform for new and experienced users"

Pros: - Short time to live on a new store
- Solid toolset for creating a store for nearly any product
- Tons of themes to get your store "just right"
- Advanced customization of themes and site styles
- Easy Customer and Order management
- An app marketplace to add functionality as you need it

Cons: Stores are better suited to "off the shelf" products with limited customization options

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
VP Business Development
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018

"The Right E Commerce Platform"

Comments: Overall experience has been great, our conversion has increased by 1.5% over the previous website platform we were using.

Pros: Ease of use and how easy it was to get started and start taking orders. The reporting and data you have at your fingertips is amazing, makes analyzing who and where your customers are coming from a breeze.

Cons: A bit of an education curve learning how to navigate the systems as some things can be a little confusing when trying to run reports. But once you get it set up the amount of data you have access to is amazing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Ricardo M.
Information Technology Infrastructure Manager
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018
Nikola S.
Marketer
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2021

"Good for experienced ecommerce stores"

Comments: Overall BigCommerce is a great tool for experienced ecommerce marketers or stores that want to build their stores on a platform without having to pay for many add-ons or features.

Pros: We used BigCommerce when we were testing out different ecommerce platforms to build out website on. What we found is that BigCommerce offers more sales tools, cross-channel integration and SEO features than its peers. There's no added charges to use these features, as they bill based on revenue. For the experienced ecommerce marketer or store, BigCommerce is a great option.

Cons: Because BigCommerce throws all its features at you at once, it may make it a little overwhelming for first-time stores that are moving their operations online. I would suggest BigCommerce add more tutorials and help videos to explain the latest features and how to use them effectively.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2021
Navdeep S.
Web Designer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2018

"E-Commerce SAAS"

Pros: Bigcommerce is the SAAS e-commerce service provider. You can use it to sell physical as well as digital good online. It has customized subscription plans to fit everyone's need. You choose from a list of templates and start selling online. Its Order Management features are really good.

Cons: They limit your sales based on your subscriptions plan, if your sales increase the limit, you will be shifted to a higher subscription plan.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2018
Tatiana H.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 13/01/2012

"their design partners design skills in my opinion are mediocre"

Comments: It's just ok I have a simple store. My issue with BG is all of the "have our design partners" design your site promo. And their design partners design skills in my opinion are mediocre. I designed my site and took days to figure out their coding file systems and to decipher their %global% meanings to finally get the look I want of my site and it's a simple design but professional. You can't even ask them a question on changing a color unless some design partner comes in the thread promoting. And the reps tell you "we can't answer that" and I just had a simple color change question (wanted to change a thumbnail color of 1 item only, the way the css files are it would've changed everything)! It's easy to use in a way BUT again they have all of these %global% jargon that you have to decode. I program and design and I had another designer try to help me he gave up and he designed big time sites.

Pros: It's cheap.

Cons: Read the first section. You can't edit the mobile site design. You can finally edit the email templates but again it's in the %global% jargon only way to see the email look is to do a test account = time wasting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 13/01/2012
Lina K.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 03/06/2010

"BigCommerce"

Comments: BigCommerce is advanced eCommerce platform with highly competent developers and support team.

Pros: Full access to source code which allows for unlimited customization. Competent support group. Extensive documentations. Many features. Good community discussion. Nice handling of photos!

Cons: Few features are missing but are promised in future releases (6.0 or after). Integration with shipping carriers and selective Free Shipping option are not included. Also, coupon of fixed $ discount per order is not currently supported.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 03/06/2010
Jill T.
Digital Marketing Strategist
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018

"Out of the box tools, with huge impact"

Pros: This platform is so incredibly easy to use. Whether you want your own eCommerce storefront or to just sell on Facebook. You can go as big or as small as you wish. A feature that I think many would find appealing.

Cons: I wish that there were more free templates to choose from. I was expecting a bit more when I signed up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018
Mark A.
Project Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018

"It is a good product but wouldn't allow you to play openly due to limitations"

Pros: Value for money, and easy to get started. Very good customer support and easy to integrate and update any information.

Cons: There are not many apps/softwares to integrate/implement to use like in Shopify. And there are limitations to customize checkouts etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018