AIM Reviews

by Tri-Technical Systems

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About AIM

AIM is a complete point of sale, inventory management, accounting and business software for the retail industry. (AIM is EMV-ready)

Learn more about AIM

Showing 161 reviews

Jeffrey W.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2014

"Utile and comprensive."

Pros: It offers many modules that are designed to address the various needs of our business.

Cons: I am disappointed that the reports section is not more customizable. I have also noticed what I believe to be some quirks in the way inventory is maintained.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2014
Tim S.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014

"Overall, the system is good. Could make easy changes to run more smoothly."

Pros: AIMsi does almost everything in one system. It makes bookkeeping much easier.

Cons: Difficult learning curve. AIMsi does a lot, but it's outdated. Instructors need to be able to check lesson schedules on their phones. Get an app.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014
Bruce T.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014

"AIMsi Review"

Pros: It is an all-inclusive solution for our business.

Cons: The lesson module needs improvement, and I would like to be able to customize the screens for our specific needs, such as adding or removing fields as needed. Upgrades are very expensive!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014
Noah S.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014

"The first system we have brought in that saves time!"

Pros: This handles all aspects of our shop inventory, repairs, rentals, timeclock, and billing, and it generates useful reports.

Cons: There is a learning curve. While this program does many things well, it can take a while to train new employees in all aspects of the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014
Phyllis S.
Arts & Crafts
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014

"Johnson's Sewing Centre"

Pros: I like the affordability and ease of use.

Cons: There's no integrated Canadian payroll with this program, so I have to use a second program and then manually post the entries over, which is very time-consuming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014
Mike L.
big kahuna
Sporting Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Rocket sled to despair"

Comments: Do even simple tasks with this was really difficult. The user interface was confusing and it was hard to find what I needed in all the menus. It tended to throw away information if you didn't know how to save things. Lots of keystrokes to do anything. Counter-intuitive methods if you are used to other systems. Good customer support, and I like that it is powerful, but that is no good if have to call customer support every time you need to do something. I quit using this product with some regrets and went to Lightspeed, which I hate but at least I can get it to work. Using AIMsi was an unpleasant and frustrating experience. And they need a new name for it, something with more meaning than aim-ess-eye. Also, send people who understand your product to Interbike, not the baffled kid I talked to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Pam L.
manager
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Great product"

Comments: I have been using this AImsi for several years and find it very easy to use and the tracking and follow through is great. I use the Accounts payable and receivable features plus purchase orders and it all works great together. The Point of Sale feature is so easy to use and understand, makes it great for new hires. Inventory control is made easy with this product also, searching for items in inventory is made simple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Anna W.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2014

"Use of AIMsi software for retail music store with rental"

Pros: We like the long-term rental process this software provides. The software accurately tracks the rental, bills the customers, and ends the rental payments when the term is completed.

Cons: There are portions of the Purchase Order process that are not flexible enough for our use. We need to have the cost amount with three decimals places for accurate cost reporting. We also find the purchase order receiving process to be clumsy to work with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2014
Sandra B.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2017

"Good value for small business"

Comments: For the past three years, we've used the AIMSI software for our point of sale. We have found the software to be straightforward to learn, use for our inventory and non-inventory items. The program offers a large variety of reports for in depth analysis. Staff can be trained on the basics relatively quickly. We have found that AIMSI serves our small business needs at this time.

Pros: We like that sales can be processed with a home screen of service buttons.

Cons: The help section could improve with key word search options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2017
Andrea E.
Sales
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"Not at all user friendly"

Comments: Auto-pay feature

Pros: Once you get the hang of AIMsi, everything is trackable. There is never any question about inventory, if or when a payment went through, or who still owes money. The auto-pay feature is also very beneficial.

Cons: AIMsi is way too difficult to use. It takes longer than necessary to understand and get used to. It crashes if you leave it alone for too long, and automatic payments aren't actually automatic - you have to go through a whole process to run stored cards, and you have to REMEMBER to do it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Bill B.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2014

"Not perfect, but headed in the right direction"

Pros: The product works correctly with few errors. Technical support is easy to reach and can often provide answers or solutions to issues as they arise. The company provides regular updates and upgrades to the software to correct errors or add functionality.

Cons: Certain portions of the program are incomplete or not well thought out. Some tasks are much harder or more complicated than they should be. The lack of support for current software is disappointing. Excel is limited to the 2003 format, and the program is built on Visual Fox Pro 9, a program discontinued in 2007.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2014
Nathan B.
Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2015

"It works for 80% of what we do."

Pros: Very intuitive and easy to set up. Their tech staff is very friendly and super helpful getting you all set up and going.

Cons: With some of our products, the cost is less than a penny, so inputting and tracking that was interesting to figure out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2015
Don M.
CEO
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2016

"Great Software Company"

Pros: Great Customer Support.
Perfect Price Point
Total Point of Sale program package.
We have 22Years with the program.

Cons: None
We have used this product for many years with very few issues along the way.
All issues taken care of in a timely manner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2016
Eva K.
Operations Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017

"Review of AIMSI"

Comments: I "inherited" AIMSI from the previous shop owner. The training period had expired, which added to the complications of trying to understand and navigate the software. I went with a different program which seems to fit our store needs. I hope you have continued success with AIMSI.

Pros: A detailed software program that would be great for a retail oriented business. Great for the creative programmer.

Cons: Too many menus and not user friendly for quick access. Very complicated to navigate or change input. Not conducive to inventory of various different items, such as a consignment store. Some fields were not able to be changed for customizing garment tags. The software requires one to build from the ground up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017
Christopher C.
Inventory Control
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018

"Easy to use,Intuitive, Great Product"

Pros: Integrates POS, AP, AR, inventory, and invoicing, all in one program. They offer complete training and on-site set up, for a price.

Cons: When printing statements, it prints old accounts with no address. Apparently there is no way to filter the ones with no address out so I have to manually remove them. Occasionally one slips past and they are returned to us by the Post Office.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018
Rick G.
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016

"Best POS for Music Stores"

Comments: Great folks at Tritech. Great product. Very happy customer! Great for rentals, repairs, online sales, and inventory control.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016
Veronica K.
Office & Financial Administrator
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"AIMsi for Consignment"

Comments: We use the consignment, customer & inventory modules in AIMsi. Unfortunately we had to purchase the whole software package, instead of just the modules we needed (for example, we don't sell lessons but have that module anyways). This is a very complex software program. We have noticed that there are multiple steps involved for just about everything you want to do, and if it's not done in the right sequence then things can get messed up quickly - try deleting an item from inventory, you have to delete and save on one screen, then save on another screen, then delete again. This software is difficult to use for front end sales staff. The ReportWizard feature is of no help to us as it is extremely confusing to figure out how to build a report. Customer support sent us an excel spreadsheet that's supposed to help, but it's about 400 pages of formulas that we don't know anything about. We are generally dissatisfied with this software.

Pros: The consignment module works well for tracking and paying consignors (if the consignment items are received correctly).

Cons: The software is extremely complicated to use for users. It takes a lot of time to learn and skill to use/understand this software. There are too many modules and features that are no use to us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Tim S.
Manager
Logistics & Supply Chain, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2019

"A Good Alternative"

Comments: When I arrived in the organization, AIMsi had been recently installed for a small chain of retail stores in the organization. The sales floor was able to pick it up quickly, which was the real concerns. Basic metrics became readily available to everyone, and it was an overall success. That being said, it had a few crashes, and more complicated reporting for accounting, purchasing, and maintenance needed more work to be really functional. Nonetheless, it was a good buy for the organization.

Pros: Front-line users got up to speed quickly due to a slick interface and limited administrative options/noise. This included users with limited computer skill. The point of sale functionality was great.

Cons: Higher-view reports were clunky and difficult, they needed some help to get in shape for upper management. Crossing over data between the sales floor and the other functions of the business needed a lot of learning for even advanced users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2019
Clint A.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2014

"AIMSi Software is powerful, but pay for the premium support package"

Pros: Once you learn it, there's nothing it can't do compared to other software like this. Their premium support team is absolutely phenomenal. We're a small business so our bookkeeping department is small and our expertise is in running our specialty fitness business, not running a bookkeeping company so we often need help navigating through errors and understanding how data entry in a module ripples through the system. These guys don't talk down to us and resolve our issues every time.

Cons: Reporting for multiple locations could be better. For example I can't see sales by store location on the same report. And, there are some processes dealing with transactions b/w locations that could be more automated instead of requiring so much data entry and manual clearing. Hard to plug and play just any bookkeeper into this software as well because it's not as prevalent. As long as your bookkeeper understands the basic tenants of accounting like entries must balance and they know what a ledger account is then they'll pick it up with a little bit of training.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2014
Sheila M.
Office Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2017

"My experience with AIMsi"

Comments: We use an older version (v6.0), and I am very impressed with the features. I can only imagine how the newer versions must be. Unfortunately, previous employees didn't understand POS software and we are not using many of the features, as our database is really messed up from being misused over the years. We only use the Long Term Rental Contract features, and AIMsi does a great job. Very easy to use. I only wish it had been used properly from the beginning because it looks like it would save me a lot of work.

Pros: The interface is very easy to understand and use, and customer support is great. It is a feature-rich program, I only wish we had a newer version.

Cons: When printing statements, it prints old accounts with no address. Apparently there is no way to filter the ones with no address out so I have to manually remove them. Occasionally one slips past and they are returned to us by the Post Office.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2017
Nancy K.
COO
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Great Functionality at a Great Price"

Comments: Customers for 11+ years. We would not buy another POS product. We have premium support and receive excellent assistance

Pros: It has the capacity to handle all day to day activities. When used as it is
designed, the software works flawlessly. The tech support is great.

Cons: When corrections are needed, some are not easily done without assistance.
There are integrated correction options for common errors, making those
much less troublesome. Note that terms and button functions are not universal across all modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Sharon M.
owner
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"aimsi review"

Comments: It was hard to learn at first and I find my new employees have a bit more trouble with it than I like. Support is good but I have frustrations when CC processor and yourself throw the blame back on each other when resolving such problems. I think the separate module are a bit pricey unless you can catch a sale. And unfortunately I wish there was better online instruction to able to learn a new module. customer support is limits how much they show you in that area. I feel as though I utilize only about 50% of what aimsi can do just because there is no instruction of resource available online. And what's the point of the scheduling tab in reports when it doesn't give data even though the choices of reports are the same in the lesson tab and they work there. Customer service told me the tab doesn't work yet.

Pros: customer contact capture and credit card processing .

Cons: modules priced individually and that updates aren't discounted for current customers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Carl K.
Manager
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2019

"Great Customer Support"

Comments: Our company spent a lot of time looking for a new POS system. After a ton of research we decided to go with Tri-tech. We could not be happier. Our Rep was very nice and not pushy. We've had the POS system for just about 2 years and my rep that sold me the system told me if I have ever need anything just to call him. I've held him to it and he has definitely kept his word. They're tech support has been great but, if I have to have one negative thing it would be on the tech support. The problem is when you call tech support for a question you just get a random person. The person you talk to will help you fix the problem you're having but, if you call back for the same issue, you get a different person that has a different way to fix the problem. So it could get confusing at times. I talked to my rep and he assured me they were making changes to make sure the support you get is more consistent. But honestly its a very small complaint and in no way affects the 5 star rating. If your looking for a new POS system I would strongly recommend taking a look at Tri-Technical Systems.

Pros: The customer support was great. It seemed the easiest to use. We are not a big company and this seemed to work best for us.

Cons: Tech support is a little confusing. I described below, when you call customer support you talk to a different person. That can cause an issue because each person has a different way to fix the problem you're having.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2019
Tara C.
Office Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2020

"Phenomenal Experience"

Comments: We were having problems remembering who put what in the system and if it got logged in correctly and whatnot. The ATF Compliant Bound Book completely mitigates that problem. The Technical Support team has been able to answer each and every question I've had, which is incredible, considering I've called them many times when I've in the middle of a process (both on the test system AND live system) I don't understand or forgot how to continue on. They've been wonderful and have not at all made me feel crazy or gotten tired of answering my questions. I cannot say enough good things about my experience. We did have a small issue with a scanner, but the way it was handled was done so professionally and so well, that I consider it a privilege to have dealt with the company in this manner. It showed me that they really care about their customers and back their products and will make it right, no matter what.

Pros: We have been utilizing the POS (Point of Sale) System, and it's very intuitive. You go through a couple test transactions, and it's like riding a bike. You can do it so quickly and effectively. We used the testing system and were able to play around it a lot without worrying about mistakes that will mess up your entire system. We have the label printer, the receipt printer, and the wireless scanner, and they have made our little gun shop look SO professional and streamlined. Gone are the days of handwritten receipts! We can now track customers to see what each person buys and can add notes and wish list items! The Bound Book is ATF compliant, and it has made checking the firearms in and out a breeze. We are going to be purchasing the PO module next, so I can't wait to implement that!

Cons: I can't really say there are any Cons...I would just say it is a bit of a learning curve and can be a bit overwhelming at first, but the support that is offered is just phenomenal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2020
Miles S.
manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017

"Legacy database that our company is slowly replacing with more modern systems"

Comments: Years of data can be searched through. We currently use it for recurring billing via credit cards for monthly rental and lesson tuition payments. Those recurring charges must be manually triggered every day though.

Pros: Does not have glitches or communication errors. Data that has been input stays there forever. Interface has never changed, ever. So if you are familiar with it, there is a comfort factor.

Cons: The user interface has very few, if any, task stream allowances or cross linking between data entry areas.
The typical interaction with Aimsi requires starting from the home screen and navigating the "Module" you need, selecting the "Find," searching for the correct customer account, pulling up the relative info about them.
Then...
Restarting from the home screen, module you need to add or edit part of the changes that are needed, "find," find that account again..
Then...
Restarting from the home screen, module you need to add or edit the other part of the changes that are needed, "find," find that account again...
While there are hot keys to speed up this process it is still a very primitive workflow. Newer systems have you choose the customer account first, then proceed to enter new data, while Aimsi requires finding the module, and then the account, over and over again. Networking your store for Aismsi to work off of one of your local PCs requires above average networking skills. Backups and hardware upgrades are your problem and responsibility. You will need someone on call unless you happen to have above average IT skills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017