15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About BuddyPress

Open-source plugin that helps build community websites inside WordPress using user profiles, groups, messaging, and activity streams.

Learn more about BuddyPress

Pros:

Whereas some other products out there cost money, Buddy Press remains open-source. The things I like about it: you can create your own profile picture, banner, and my favorite--groups.

Cons:

Activity updates are similarly crippled. There's no text editor so users can't even add inline hypertext links.

BuddyPress ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

BuddyPress has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 16 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used BuddyPress before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (16)

Rick
Rick
Director in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BuddyPress has no real rivals in community building for WordPress sites

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've always had fun setting up Buddypress networks but it's always hard to explain to clients that they'll have to pay for some pretty basic functions.

Pros:

It's WordPress so I understood immediately how to get things set up. But to be fair, BP is dead easy to set up. Default pages are created automatically and mapped to their proper functions. Creating a small social network that's ready to accept new members takes about 20 minutes as long as you're familiar with the basics of WordPress. Buddypress has been around a while so there's lots of support and it's a mature product. Lots of free addons and plugins.

Cons:

No built-in chat. Profile editing and customization is basic. No built-in media uploading. There are addons for this but it seems crazy that users can't add photos to updates and statuses without first researching plugins, installing one and setting it up. Activity updates are similarly crippled. There's no text editor so users can't even add inline hypertext links. What?

Nujan
Nujan
Managing Director in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best community addon for wordpress.

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

BuddyPress really is a magic. It works seamlessly with WordPress which makes simple CMS to fully designed well developed and full of feature community / social website. We just need to install the plugin and It's good to go. No need to have high level coding experience or any technical skills to get used to with BuddyPress. It's simple, Easy to use and really, really helpful for small sector businesses / communities. BuddyPress is free and packed with tons of features which basically we expects from any community and social websites.

Cons:

BuddyPress can improve their front-end UI which is overall okay but not that user friendly. We need to install custom BuddyPress integrated themes to get enough good customization.

Bello
Ceo in Cameroon
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amongs the best WordPress plugin

3.0 last year

Comments: Before discovering buddyboss, i've been using buddypress to create social network in my website. It was easy for to setup and Could find support from other buddypress users in social media like Facebook. It is a great plugin but it required some work in order to promote my site and get good results with search engines.

Pros:

Buddypress is a a great plugin to use if you are looking to build a social network arround your site. Very easy to setup and the interface is clean and intuitive. Its an excellent tool to make your site more social

Cons:

Despite being a great plugin, buddypress is outdated with poor mobile interface, poor marketing platform and poor search engine optimisation. This is a serious disadvantage if you are looking to design a site like Facebook, twitter etc which are well designed.

Michael
Executive Director in US
Broadcast Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A decent open source software to build your own social media platform on your site

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, the integration process was a pain and it needs to be said: you need a decent amount of storage space available to have Buddy Press because when you add a bunch of members who add their own photos and data, it can take up A LOT of room since it's hosted on your site and not as a subdomain on another site.

Pros:

We wanted to have a social media-like platform on our site since our product is very community-driven, so we chose to integrate our membership plugin with Buddy Press. The biggest pro to BuddyPress is that it's free. Whereas some other products out there cost money, Buddy Press remains open-source. The things I like about it: you can create your own profile picture, banner, and my favorite--groups.

Cons:

On the downside, it's not easy to integrate with other plugins (in this case, our membership plugin) and there are features that would still be nice to see added that could be unique to Buddy Press because at the moment, it feels more like I replica of the old Facebook. Meaning, each platform like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. has its unique special features they bring to the table. It would be nice to see Buddy Press offer something of its own that's unique.

Foluke
Foluke
Blogger in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Online Community Made Easy

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

With BuddyPress, you get to make your website social and interactive. I wanted to create a website where people could talk and interact but i was not sure i could handle a forum. Someone recommended BuddyPress, i sought for alternatives but kept coming back to it. It is easy to customize and also free

Cons:

Compatibility issue is one thing BuddyPress user may battle with, especially on WordPress users. The plugin may npt work well with some themes and plugins

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for simple social networking

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The integration with Wordpress is easy to setup. There are a lot of associated addon plugins which are nice. There are a lot of really cool things you can do to make your social aspect look highly professional with Buddypress.

Cons:

Some addon plugins don't work very well, especially third party.

Brant
Brant
Web Developer in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best groups plugin for WordPress

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Was used on a golf community website but unfortunately didn't gain much traction and it's use was limited

Pros:

I used buddypress for a couple of projects and found the features awesome and it was fairly developer friendly and easily customizable

Cons:

Some things were a little confusing and some features seemed very outdated and a bit archaic. Mostly pretty good though

Anamta
Student in Pakistan
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Want to become Social, try BuddyPress

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I found it really good and amazing, Highly recommended.

Pros:

When we build a website we want traffic, the purpose is not to just cherish people to come but also to create some ways to engage people so how to do this? the best-proposed answer is BuddyPress.By anchoring BuddyPress with the website we provide visitors the opportunity to communicate and discuss things with each other and create a platform like Facebook on your website. By installing this powerful plugin you can develop a community in which users and visitors are allowed to post content and can do real commenting, discussions and can combine their social networks on those posts on your website, what this all will result? increased traffic increased loyalty for your website. You can even allow groups, user profiles, and activities within the blog. It can connect people from all age groups like a blog related to education will create visitors to schools, universities, colleges, etc. Similarly, another topic can gather other audiences as well with just a single plugin i.e BuddyPress.

Cons:

BuddyPress does not have any built-in media uploading, also its functionality depends a little bit on the theme but having said all it is a recommended website.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Buddypress

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It was fantastic experience with buddy press

Pros:

Its good platform to use for social media plugin. I have worked with this to integrate it to many of my client website.

Cons:

Its easy to use tool for the business owner.

kathleen
teacher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good way to communicate with people

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I think this is effective to use as a way to communicate with parents. I think parents like the ease of using as well.

Cons:

So far, I have no complaints about this software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Include feature like social media in your website

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with this tool is fine , i will recommend this tool to others if they want basic feature of social community based website.

Pros:

I have customized buddypress pluging or extension under my client's wordpress site , this tool provides us many social media features such as user groups , adding reviews and rating. This tool is able to customize so you can customize if you know coding. But this tool is not enough to create complete social media based site , you need help other extensions too.

Cons:

It doesn't provide you complete social media site feature , so you need other plugins or you need coding to create features as per your requirements.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Wasn't the right fit

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I wasn't impressed. I needed a backend for my website and I thought this was going to be a great option. It wasn't. The team there is very nice and responsive, but it wasn't fit for my company. We ended up going with a project management back end.

Pros:

I liked the option of being able to customize and create a social media website similar to Facebook, Twitter etc. There is messaging capability (what I was looking for), there is a back end to set up classes (which I might use in the future), you can set up a profile etc.

Cons:

It wasn't the easiest to use. A lot of developers are unfamiliar with the platform, there are only a small amount of people that know how to gracefully build with this software.

Greg
Director in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Quality Software

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Integrates easily into Wordpress sites. Lots of add ons to help you get the result you are after

Cons:

Quality video plugins are hard to come by to integrate but that shouldnt stop you from using this.

Fabien
Influencer in France
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Influencer very happy using Buddypress

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love using it on my WordPress. It works perfectly fine !

Cons:

Nothing, every feature is just easy to use and very useful !

Rajan
PHP Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Social Media Website Booster

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Firstly, it's an open-source plugin for WordPress which is free to cost. It's very easy to use and you can install it with few clicks. It creates a social media website with just a few clicks where you can send messages, discussion, creates groups, and much more. Even you can customize it if you've some programming knowledge. The thing, I love about BuddyPress is its huge community support.

Cons:

The only thing which might be considered as cons, is when new user using it. There are alots of think that need to setup.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Cosmetics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Un gran plugin para crear una Red Social en Wordpress

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Lo que mas me gusta de este plugin es su facilidad de implementacion. Nosotros lo utilizamos para crear nuestra propia red social corporativa, es muy sencilla. Además hay muchos plugins complementarios que puedes añadir a este plugin para aumentar las funcionalidades. Si tienes intención de crear una red social en wordpress ¡¡BuddyPress es perfecto!

Cons:

Es un plugin que me encanta, no hay nada negativo reseñable