15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Quill

Meet your law firms new best friend: Quill's cloud-based legal practice management software. Built for small to medium-sized UK firms.

Learn more about Quill

Pros:

Very quick and responsive. Legl integration is awesome for sending clients a link to pay a bill safely and securely within minutes.

Cons:

The fields can be limited and not always relevant to the case.

Quill ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.2
Features
3.8
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

6.8/10

Quill has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 23 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (23)

Sort by

Have you used Quill before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (23)

Andrew
Solicitor/Director in UK
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wish we had found Quill earlier.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The main benefit to us as been making the transition to going paperless not just a possibility, but a success that has led to other efficiencies.

Pros:

We moved to being fully paperless 6-12 months ago. Quill has been essential in making that transition possible. I wish we'd found Quill and gone paperless many years earlier. The system is intuitive and easy to navigate. Organising documents, e-mails, etc is automated and Quill set up standard document folder for us which are all different for different areas of law. It all feels tailored to us and our needs rather than using software designed for someone else that doesn't quite fit. The support team are great too. Very quick and responsive. Legl integration is awesome for sending clients a link to pay a bill safely and securely within minutes.

Cons:

There's the odd quirk from time to time but Quill work quickly to sort these out.

Quill Response

last year

Thank you so much for choosing Quill! it's great to see your feedback and we look forward to helping your firm succeed in the future.

Talvinder
Solicitor in UK
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Brilliant Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent and improved the management and functions throughout the firm.

Pros:

The most impacting features are the cased management and the integration with Office 365.

Cons:

The fields can be limited and not always relevant to the case.

Quill Response

2 years ago

It's great to see the results of our product development investment in our DocsHub document management tool, which integrates MyQuill with the MS Office suite amongst other system features - in reviews such as yours. And, our software development investment continues apace - for a future-proofing promise.

Elena
Director in UK
Law Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Probably Good for those who are already established

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: At the moment, whether it’s my lack of experience, the lack of user friendliness of the system or a combination of both, I do not feel that Quill is suiting my business.

Pros:

The case management docs hub and ease of populating fields/templates that work really well.

Cons:

Not ideal for new businesses. Unfortunately I have not found it very user friendly as a beginner. There is no manual provided. The help guides are extremely basic and don’t assist a great deal, also they have not all been updated to correspond with the updated software. I have found that I’m spending a great deal of time trying to navigate the system rather than doing fre earning work and as a sole trader this is highly problematic. It is not possible to create documents in the system, you have to download to work on letters then upload again which takes space on your computer’s memory, equally, it is not possible to amend a document in your docs hun without downloading the document again and amending on your desktop before uploading. When time recording you have to physically select the latest fees, it does not do so automatically. It doesn’t seem as though it is geared towards criminal firms, there are courts missing from the lists and the codes don’t seem to correspond (for instance on a criminal investigation you are required to enter mags classifications).

Steve
PM in UK
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does what it says on the tin.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Minimal training required for staff to use. Easy control for the admin to monitor and authorise all transactions. Good initial training provided by the provider.

Pros:

Reliable control of all client monies and transactions

Cons:

Report function. bit muddled, Title and date issues in report printing and some reports do not work.

Quill Response

3 years ago

Hi Steve, we are so pleased to hear your positive feedback about our onboarding and training team, they will be chuffed to see this. We have shared your feedback on reporting and this is on our product development team's radar already as an area of improvement. They will also be in touch!

Sajid
Solicitor in UK
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quill is a breath of fresh air

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's a practical piece of software not sold by a massive marketing budget but the fact that it does what most small to medium firms need in terms of accounts and case management. The accounts and case management can be used independently of each other. Add ons are not constantly being pitched to you and in the 3 years I known Quill we never have been held over to upgrade or increase cost. We also use the cashier service and our nominated contact does an amazing job to keep us on track and on time with our postings and reconciliations.

Cons:

A chat function within the software for support would be helpful

Quill Response

3 years ago

Hi Sajid, thanks so much for your honest review - we like to let our product speak for itself and are pleased to have you as a long-standing customer. We will share your thoughts on chat with support, it is something we're exploring already!

Cyma
Office manager in UK
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User Friendly!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Brilliant service from the account manager, one point of contact which really helps.

Pros:

Easy to use, good customer service. Been using ir for a very long time now and everyone is used to the features on quill.

Cons:

Feel outdated sometimes, especially when compared to other available products

Quill Response

2 years ago

It's great to see long-standing clients such as yourself publishing positive comments about our software's user friendliness and accompanying account management support - two aspects of our product and service which we prioritise always as they combine to provide a simpler way to manage a law firm. Our latest software iteration, called MyQuill, is currently in the process of being rolled out to our client base. This is the new look-and-feel system that's replacing the older screens with a much sleeker interface. Look out for its arrival. We trust this will address your 'outdated' query.

jane
director in UK
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We require better support

1.0 5 months ago

Comments: very poor recently - initially it was better but now there is not a day that goes by that it does nto glitch involving having to shut down in task manager

Pros:

it is generally good - when it is not glitching - when it glitches it is infuriating - it is usually network problems that comes up - we waste hours trying to get quill to work properly - we feel we need someone to overhall our system

Cons:

constantly freezing, the organise button does not sync with outlook, the inability to tell the e mail to save time or not

Rosalia
Office Manger / Legal PA in UK
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Peace of mind

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

It's easy to save and access data on Quill. I

Cons:

Unable to unlink from a case without linking to another case. Heading in E-chits will show a case even when the transaction has no link to the case. Annoying! Unable to amend incorrect E-Chits after they have been posted. Legal Cashier always very helpful with this issue.

Quill Response

3 years ago

Hi Rosalia, thank you for your honest feedback, we've passed this onto our product development and support team to see how to fix this and they will be in touch with you. Pleased to hear your legal cashier is helpful! We appreciate all your input and for being a long-standing Quill customer!

Rose
Care Team Administrator in UK
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Love Quill, Loathe the new update

3.0 7 months ago

Pros:

PRIOR to the update in 2023, i found quill incredibly user friendly and simple to use.

Cons:

The new layout (post December 20223 update) has too much information in one place, the graphic choice isn't as easy to see what I'm looking for anymore. drag and dropping docs and them time recording takes way longer than before. I can see why the left hand side task bar is now sectioned with additional categories, but this is too much. it hasn't made navigating the system easier. Would like to add that Quill support are great, i have no issue with the support received

Mark
Head of Finance COFA in UK
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of Interactive

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I like the product but needs some major reviews on the procedures around echits and getting the cash book balances on a daily basis. The reporting could be a lot better and would be good to have drill down features.

Pros:

The product is simple and effective at a basic level and for a small outfit, ideal.

Cons:

There are lots of opportunities to make this better and more flexible as it could flow better particularly for dealing with large volume of work

Quill Response

3 years ago

Hi Mark, thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that this is working for you. We've also shared this feedback with our product development team around echits and reporting and we are addressing much of this soon! Our team will be in touch.

Robin
Practice manager in UK
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Choose any provider but this one

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are a long term customer of Quill's accounting service and have always found their cashiering and payroll staff to be polite and efficient. Unfortunately this cannot be said for our experience with their case management software. Where issues are encountered Quill's attitude is consistently to blame the customer.

Pros:

Unfortunately we cannot provide any positive feedback as we have been trying to get set up on this software for a year and a half without success.

Cons:

There is absolutely zero useful support provided for the software. We would never recommend this service to anyone.

Quill Response

2 years ago

We are very sorry, shocked and disappointed to read your review particularly as we have more than 10,000 subscribers to our practice management solutions and some 2,800 subscribers successfully using the optional document management module you refer to. I understand you have received your training as your firm's Administrator but that there has been no decision on a document conversion to bring the functionality to life. We are keen to support you and work with you directly as your reported experiences are certainly not consistent with the standards and values we seek to work to. Efforts to contact you will continue, with the aim of a speedy resolution.

Jane
Chartered Legal Executive in UK
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Quill - a disaster

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: There are no benefits, only disadvantages. Axia, which we used previously, was a very old system but was better than Quill.

Pros:

This is the worst case management system I have ever had to use. it is slow, cumbersome and unreliable.

Cons:

This is the worst case management system I have ever had to use. it is slow, cumbersome and unreliable. It loses information and has impacted on my ability to process my work effectively much to the detriment of my efficiency . I would not recommend this system to anyone.

Quill Response

3 years ago

Hi Jane, we're sorry to hear about your frustrations with the software. We're usually known for our product features and functionality and we regret that we didn't live up to those expectations here. I know our client manager, Clare, has been in touch with you and we're working hard to resolve your concerns. We look forward to having you join our beta programme to test our new case management functionality and earn back your trust. Thank you for sharing your feedback and allowing us to address it!

Dylan
Solicitor in UK
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Practical Law

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Fantastic.

Pros:

Easy to use and there is a large number of guides available.

Cons:

Sometimes the search filters do not filter correctly. Some of the guides should be limited to certain areas of law.

Quill Response

3 years ago

We love with clients call our product "fantastic" - we know how well-earned it is, especially from a seasoned solicitor such as yourself, Dylan. Thanks for the feedback regarding search filters, we'll share with our product team and report back to you on improvements we're making! The guides are also going to be revamped in the next few months so we will be sure to address your concern raised. Thanks again for being a loyal Quill customer!

Daniel
Director in UK
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cashiering Services

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Interactive speeds up our completions and cashiering processes generally, and allows us to focus our energies on other aspects of the business.

Pros:

This package makes complying with the regulatory burden of having a client account easy.

Cons:

Despite the best efforts of Quill Interactive does not integrate with our existing case management package.

Quill Response

3 years ago

Thank you Daniel for your feedback, especially nice to hear how we're helping with your legal cashiering. We will take your feedback on board regarding integration and the team will be in touch!

Leonard
Principal in UK
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best accounts package

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Using Quill in our Solicitors' practice has transformed how our accounts are managed and ensures we are always SRA compliant. The system is user friendly with a dedicated accounts manager always available to deal with any queries. We strongly recommend it to other practices.

Cons:

None. Software has all necessary features.

Quill Response

3 years ago

Thank you Redfern for the wonderful review, we will be sure to let your accounts manager know the positive feedback as well! She'll be thrilled.

Gill
Practice Manager in UK
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quill is a great system

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent overall experience having used the product for many years now; Quill staff in particular are helpful and knowledgeable; Support response time is very quick.

Pros:

Accounting and document management are very easy to use, to train out to staff and the reporting makes practice management straightforward.

Cons:

Some of our staff don't particularly like the new 'look' of MyQuill feeling that it is a bit simplistic and child like

Richard
Regional Director in UK
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Practice and Document Management System and Support in 25 Years

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I cannot rate Quill and their team highly enough. I have worked in large international law firms for 20+ years and this is the most user-friendly, effective, reliable system I have ever used.

Pros:

The most user-friendly, straightforward, feature-rich practice and document management system I have ever used.

Cons:

No major issues although any suggestions are always considered by the helpful team.

Quill Response

3 years ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are so pleased to have you a valued client!

Chas
Practice Manager in UK
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reveiw

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Very user friendly and the the technical support is very good and quick

Cons:

Not sure about the new software - still using the old

Quill Response

2 years ago

We're delighted to have you on board. Looking forward to the next 13 years and beyond.

Samuel
Trainee Solicitor in UK
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Fantastic. Would be lost without it.

Pros:

Ease of use and scalability. You can get on with tasks and activities anywhere on any device.

Cons:

Time taken to get all your itags set up - but once done, well worth it!

Quill Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your helpful feedback and kind words! We're so pleased to hear it!

eVE
hofa in UK
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Thank you

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: satisfied

Pros:

Quill is a fundamental part of our business

Cons:

pulling reports off is hard to find maybe a user issue

Quill Response

3 years ago

Thank you Eve Lake for the wonderful review, we're so pleased to see your positive feedback!

Kaweesha
Associate Finance in Sri Lanka
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Gets the job done but still room for improvement!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is a system that works fine till it comes across it’s occasional hiccup.

Pros:

Quick customer service. Large variety of reports that can be generated.

Cons:

The software can be unresponsive at times. Few bugs here and there

Quill Response

3 years ago

Hi Kaweesha, we appreciate your feedback and your kind words about our customer service team! We are always looking to improve and can't wait to share with you some enhancements coming later this year that will hopefully address those bugs you mention. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

Daniel
FCILEX in UK
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Recording Billable Hours on Quill

5.0 last year

Comments: It is a straightforward easy system to use and record time.

Pros:

It is simple to record billable time and you can review the current position of cases on quill all in one place.

Cons:

It can be quite complex to understand at first. However, once you have got used to it, it is easy to navigate.

Kashif
Solicitor in UK
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good at marketing but no support once you sign up

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: We were promised a lot when we signed up and since then no assistance and back up. still waiting for features to be set up as you cannot move to next step until step one is complete. very rigid software and no flexibility as compared to cloud based softwires.

Pros:

we were impressed initially but no support after than. After six month's of set up still not able to run it fully.

Cons:

Good at marketing but no back up. Signed up six month's ago but still not able to use it