Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About Totara Learn

Replace the limitations of the traditional LMS with Totara's transformational learning platform trusted by millions worldwide.

Learn more about Totara Learn

Showing 44 reviews

Steve W.
eLearning project manager
Civic & Social Organization, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2021

"Totara works for us"

Comments: Really happy with the supplier support and the way the software keeps evolving

Pros: The product is easy to implement - it is fairly intuitive for the learner and easy to brand and upkeep as an administrator.

Cons: The moodle base means you have to be careful about retakes - it only records the first one - so if you need certifications updating then plan ahead

Vendor Response

by Totara on 14/04/2021

Hi Steve, thank you for the amazing review! Glad to hear that it was easy to implement and that you're happy with the support from your Totara Partner. We have lots of stuff coming up on our roadmap so stay tuned :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2021
Christian O.
Consultant
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Feature rich and open source vs Complex handling"

Comments: As a consultant for Totara LMS I would totally recommend Totara to other customers.
In short...
The Downside:
- Very complex to learn for people who do not have any technical understanding
- Usability very low because of too complex site-structure and permission management
- Design very simple and overloaded with blocks, nobody knows what they are for in the first place
- Documentation partially very poor, especially when it comes down to programming and adding advanced features
- Many useful features are still lacking some important settings for establishing real logical learning workflows
The Upside:
+ Very rich of standard features that make it easy to establish simple learning workflows
+ Open Source let the system be flexible by adding your own plugins and adjusting the system core to your needs
+ Great support in fixing bugs and advancing the system with new features (Evergreen)
+ Continuous Development
All in all I would say it still needs some improvement, although I know that some requests are not as easy to programm as it might seem in the beginning.
It is still a great tool, that can though still be adjusted to whatever someone likes it to be. If you have on the one side people who see the potential of TotaraLMS and have a great idea of how it can be used and on the other side people who can develop within that system, you can accomplish great things and have tremendous success by offering that tool to customers.

Pros: Open Source
Great standard features
Many possibilities of how it can be used

Cons: Poor Documenation (on the technical side)
Missing important settings in detail (advanced use of features)
Design not very user friendly (blocks overload)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Jason M.
Director of Business Development
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Flexible, scalable, and won't break the bank"

Comments: Finally a commercially focused LMS that puts the user in control of the Learning experience and LMS functionality. Our organization has found Totara LMS to be feature rich and yet cost effective, while the open source aspect provides flexibility to mold the system where necessary to our specific needs. The UI is pretty basic, but again you have the flexibility to control even that and make it what you will.

Pros: Out of the box feature set and inherent flexibility of an open source platform.

Cons: The UI is very basic and outdated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Tony R.
Solution Architect
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Excellent Product"

Comments: Really good product, lots of good features which would cost a lot more from another vendor. Could do with more detailed release notes and help guides. For examaple, more written 'How to' guides

Pros: Cost

Cons: Lack of detailed release notes, how functionality should work, examples of using / implementing functioanlity

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Lenka B.
Product Specialist
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Good features, but difficult setup"

Comments: Functionality of the product is good, but some features are very cumbersome to set up. This is improving continuously improving from one version to the next, but some areas eg. Learning Plans still have lot to be desired.

Pros: Features, support

Cons: Configuration of the features, unstable roadmap and release of new versions / features is taking a long tome

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Andrew R.
Product Manager
E-Learning, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/12/2018

"A standard LMS that is decent"

Pros: There wasn't a huge learning curve to this software which is always ideal in a workplace where disruption is the last thing that new software should bring. The tech stack seems pretty modern and the load times for the software were pretty good. The layout and UX is decent, perhaps slightly better than the run-of-the-mill LMS

Cons: Integrations and supported activities are lacking. It would be good if this were fully responsive (it seems like most is but some stuff still renders poorly). The price point is high for the value delivered; I think that it will be a tough sell if they try to increase rates upon renewal

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/12/2018
Tanja B.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Easy to use with lots of standard features to use!"

Comments: Value for money. Standard features you'll only find in the big expensive LMS's. Easy to use for the learners. Clear overviews and reports. Lot's of possibilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Lee G.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Totara is an awesome LMS"

Comments: Totara is easy to use and offers all of the reporting options that we need. Easily tracks information for both large and small projects and multiple clients.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Rob M.
Online systems architect
Human Resources, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2021

"Great but lacking some aspects."

Comments: We love it. Our clients hate it. They find it difficult to navigate and over complex.

Pros: Payment gateway for access to courses is a major challenge. The use of HR import and a Wordpress shop make for a clumsy integration.

Cons: Better certificate issue and management for different instructor groups

Vendor Response

by Totara on 12/04/2021

Rob, thank you for your review of Totara Learn. We're happy to hear that you're enjoying the many adaptable features, functionality and value for money. We're always actively working on improving Totara Learn with every release (and gathering the required research and customer feedback in order to do so), so we really do appreciate your feedback. Speaking of which, we'd kindly suggest ensuring that you're using the latest version of Totara Learn, Totara Learn 13. It features multiple improvements to user experience for your learners and admins. This includes improvements to site accessibility, more streamlined navigation (particularly when viewing learning plans or creating user accounts) and much more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2021
Verified Reviewer
Digital Content Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020

"Good LMS choice for heavily customized use cases"

Comments: We are using it as a custom learning platform for our digital leadership development content. We have enjoyed using it to address the various business requirements of our end users and departments. We will continue to use it to address the evolving needs of the organization, because it is such a flexible system.

Pros: Totara is open source, so it is highly customizable based on your organization's use case. We are using it for leadership development content, and we have been able to implement custom themes to make the platform our own, and even co-brand content for our clients.

Cons: Its complexity and extensive functionality available can be a bit overwhelming, causing our users to mistakenly use a particular feature because it is very similar to one we built for custom use cases. It has required a ton of development to implement our processes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020
Amir E.
Director of Products
E-Learning
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Powerful and Flexible Enterprise Open Source LMS"

Comments: I have been using Totara since it started more than 6 years ago.
It has developed tremendously and has truly become a modern, powerful, flexible and reliable learning and performance system.
The Totara team are very responsive and keen to make the product move forward and the way they listen to and take to hear the needs of the user community is a great demonstration of the symbiosis of users, customers, developers and service providers.
Looking forward for fast future developments of the platform.

Pros: Lots of learning tools and options to cater for all kinds of learning approaches, blends and strategies
Flexible product with many options for configurating things via settings
Responsive support and development team

Cons: Some of the older features and architecture are based on Moodle which is less geared for enterprise learning. I know this may change in the upcoming future though

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Daniel T.
Diseñador Instruccional Experto Elearning
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018

"The open LMS with better support"

Comments: For large companies I have recommended it since they allow to create individual development plans, so each person in charge of the team will be able to see the progress of their employees in charge and adjust the learning objectives needed within the platform.

Pros: This LMS has all the characteristics of the well-known moodle plus a set of extra functions for business training, among them the personalization of reports and the planning of individual and group objectives.

Cons: What did you like least about the software?
Some plans can be expensive, but it depends on the provider. By having a subscription you can be calm before the failures or errors that arise, because the support team of the company will help you at any time to solve it.

Vendor Response

by Totara on 22/06/2018

Thank you for your kind words Daniel. We really appreciate it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018
Pablo P.
Director Of Operations
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Aura Gold Partner"

Comments: Through the last 5 years, Totara leads us won opportunities that we might lost in case of not having an enterprise LMS like Totara. It has helped us as companie to incorporate our full e-learning solutions (consulting, content authoring tool and LMS) at important companies. It represents between the 5 or 10% of our incomes and it gives also to Totara trough the last 4 years more than $40,000 USD anual revenues.
Eventhough we feel the growing of the tool (Totara) or their features expansion has been limited during the last 4 years.
Example: It doesn't integrate x.Api compliance (with a LRS Module), and we do not see intelligence guideness trhough the training experiencie taked from the training sessions of the user.
We do not have so much reference about how to explote gamification through it (and what kind of tools are they innovating related with this model)
Why do not integrate an authoring tool with the LMS like Shift, so you just not focus on the user that take courses, and let the creators, build content.
Doesn't offer options for the smaller companies because the ntermediate price between 500K and 3K has a huge difference, that always is letting us a big issue on how to deal wiht those price diffeerences.

Pros: Incorportate Coporative elements

Cons: The improvements or features grow slowly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Patrick W.
Server Admin / Web Developer
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016

"Totara Review"

Comments: I mostly work with the Totara LMS from a server admin and web developer point of view and so far my experience has been ok. Not the easiest / most simple system I work with or have worked with, but manageable. I'm not sure if it's a good thing or a bad thing, but I find the support material and documentation from Totara to be pretty lackluster for server admins. If I find answers to my questions, 99% of the time I find it on Moodle documentation or forums. Bad thing because for the price of Totara I would expect much better, good thing that I am able to utilize a very large community. I do spend quite a bit of time developing themes and plugins for Totara for our clients, and I do have to say that I like and support your decision use the native Bootstrap class names as well as using Grunt as the task runner since use Bootstrap and Grunt quite often with other projects. I look forward to migrating to Totara 9 towards the end of this year / beginning of next year.

Pros: Fairly simple server setup

Cons: Almost never does what our clients' needs 100% out of the box. Every implementation we do for a client requires custom made plugins to fill the gaps

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Lakshminarayanan R.
Leader - Learning Technoologies
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Value for money"

Comments: Buying Totara LMS is value for money according to me. What attracts me for this value is,
1. Features list,
2. Ease of installation and configuration of the LMS
3. Flexible Analytics/Reporting
4. Integration possibilities (with other systems through webservices, SSO, LTI etc)
5. Great community/customer support (with regular releases)
6. Plug in-plug out customizations

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: User interface could be made attractive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Carlos F.
Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017

"Excellent LMS, cost effective and full of features"

Pros: - All in one learning platform, customizable and it has some great features to manage teams and programs.

Cons: - Need some technical skills to fully exploit it. It can be hard at first but once it's up and running it will give you all the tools you need to manage learning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017
Rahul R.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Totara LMS is awesome!"

Comments: The best part of Totara LMS is that it is open source and a lot of feature/functionalities come straight out of the box. Configurations are also pretty easy and can be easily configured without coding knowledge. An hour or two spent on the application can help you modify the entire UI, look and feel, and other configurations enabling you to have the desired visual appeal.
The support and users community is very good and always active with new suggestions and improvements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Enrrique P.
Instructor
Telecommunications
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018

"Perfect application for corporate training and learning."

Comments: Have an application focused on business learning, with tools focused on the corporate area to prepare quality professionals who know the business and its function in the company is optimal.

Pros: Totara is one of the most complete learning applications for the business world, noting the great detail that it is free, extremely complete where you can manage face-to-face and non-face-to-face training, evaluate the performance of workers, create reports on the progress of each employee to evaluate their evolution, strengths and devilities and all with a very comfortable interface and all this for a fraction of the cost of a private application, as it is focused on the corporate area its functionalities are focused on the development of complete professionals, to teach them the rules of business and strengthen your company, use it!!!!

Cons: Being free may not have the service and attention problems of a proprietary software, this is why you need the support of software specialists for problems that may arise, or solve any inconvenience of the stability of the program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018
Stephanie M.
Project Manager
Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021

"Great customisable Learning Management System"

Pros: It can do everything you expect an LMS can do and is customisable.

Cons: It would be great if it had an observation activity for practical tasks that the 'observer' could completed on behalf of the learner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021
Jose V.
Product Manager
Primary/Secondary Education, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2018

"Very good option for elearning implementation"

Comments: We are currently considering use Totara LMS for both commercial and individual clients. Totara LMS is adaptable as we consider enough to be implemented in the academic sector as well as for team members training

Pros: We work on the instructional design for a micro master on leadership and excellence, and Totara LMS has wonderfull features that means we can take the elearning product even further, in considerably less time than starting from scratch

Cons: It can be difficult for us to get to grips with the LMS. Our administration team will need some class of training. Of course, the good news is that Totara LMS spend a great deal of time training and supporting their partners

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2018
Jennifer M.
General Manager
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018

"Totara"

Pros: The software is relatively easy to use if you understand the concept behind a learning management system.

Cons: To simple. There software is not very robust and is limited in its features and capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Gagandeep K.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016

"Amazing experience"

Comments: Featured could be enhanced but overall good. Flexibility could be enhanced and also more resource management would be good for face to face learning and enhanced reporting. Customizable certificates would also be appreciated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016
Akos H.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016

"Totara course creator"

Comments: I really like the type of the course with the videos and helpful teachers. This course help me a lot to learn the basics of totara.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016
Chandran B.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2016

"Good stuff"

Comments: Good product, but it get more difficult to setup. Functionality of this product is awesome. Also Some futures are very nice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2016
Josefina V.
Consultor externo de SAP MM PM
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018

"Excellent tool for education and online training"

Pros: I have tried this platform and I think it is very complete, since it allows you to educate other people individually and train both employees and clients, very good

Cons: Despite being very good, its interface is not competitive with other platforms, they have to develop a better interface because this platform has potential

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018