WebCheckout Reviews

by WebCheckout

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About WebCheckout

Webcheckout software and services for scheduling, maintenance, permissions, and tracking chain of custody for equipment in higher ed.

Learn more about WebCheckout

Showing 55 reviews

Dan O.
Media Stockroom Manager
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2020

"Keep Track of Your Equipment"

Comments: Overall my experience has been positive. The software was a little 'clunky' in comparison to others when I started using it 6+ years ago, but it has undergone a ton of changes. During Covid-19 they adapted it a bunch of times to help all of their users to adjust their workflows. They even held online townhalls to talk to users, have demos and get feedback.

Pros: You simply can't keep track of equipment and all the transactions with patrons/users without some form of tracking. WebCheckout keeps track of all the daily equipment transactions - checkouts and returns. Plus it keeps a ton of data on each piece of equipment - order date, invoice #, budget #, model, serial #, room # where it lives, shelf location, etc, etc... Plus it has usage data and assesses fines if you need them to encourage returns. Very customizable software.

Cons: There are definitely time where it takes me a while to figure out where certain information is. Luckily they have good built in documentation that you can search for answers. And if that fails email or call customer service, they are always responsive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2020
Don H.
Manager of Technical Services
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"A great tool for anyone who needs to manage asset checkouts, room reservations, and inventory"

Comments: My experience with the solution has been very positive. I would gladly recommend it to anyone with similar needs and be confident they are getting a solid, professional product with strong customer service.

Pros: Once you get past the initial learning curve, the software is very fast and easy to use. It offers a simple, intuitive web browser based interface for clients to reserve equipment and monitor the status of their checkouts. On the admin side there are powerful tools for authorizing which clients can see and access what items or rooms. Their customer support is fantastic and they really listen to and implement feature suggestions.

Cons: On the admin side, it does have a significant learning curve as there are many ways to customize it. However, their support is always ready to help. You will want to give yourself a few months to get up to speed on it and consider getting some training.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 28/04/2020

Hi Don,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear you have had such a positive experience with WebCheckout and our support team. We are committed to continuously improving WebCheckout and its suite of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns, questions, or to review some of these features.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Eva T.
IT Project Manager
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2020

"Reliable flexible product"

Comments: Spam email. Assumption whitelisting was an ok solution.

Pros: The flexibility. I had four different departments with very different needs who each had a center. I was amazed at the product could handle what each group needed.

Cons: I was the Project manager. I had four different departments with very different needs who each had a center. I was amazed at the product could handle what each group needed.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 04/05/2020

Hi Eva,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear that WebCheckout is working so well for each department's unique needs. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any questions or concerns.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2020
David G.
Technician
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"Webcheckout review"

Pros: The continous evolution of the webcheckout.

Cons: For us french speaker University, the software is a little translate in french.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 28/04/2020

Hi David,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the evolution of WebCheckout, it has greatly changed over the past few versions. We are committed to continuously improving our application and we hope our customers feel the same. Thanks to your feedback provided to our team, our next release will include many updates to the French translation of WebCheckout. Our Team is always on the look out for ways to improve WebCheckout so thank you again for providing your feedback and please reach out to [email protected] if you have any questions or concerns.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Jonathan L.
Classroom & Event Technology Manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Great Balance of Flexible & Stable"

Comments: It's reduced our product losts

Pros: It has a plethora of features and can be customized to your specific integration needs. The ability to reserve by type instead of specific resources is also super valuable.

Cons: It can be very picky about how you input information. If you don't manage your barcodes, hours, user rights etc appropriately, it can be very finicky.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 30/04/2020

Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear the RRT module is working so well for you but even happier that WebCheckout has helped cut the loss of your equipment! I know some of our fields require specific information but we always welcome client input and suggestions to better WebCheckout. As always, please contact [email protected] with any questions or suggestions.
Holly V.
Customer Care

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Bryce S.
Technical Manager for Cinema
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2020

"WebCheckout is a Great Tool"

Pros: WebCheckout allows us to track all of our equipment across campus. It contains powerful search and collation tools that make looking at various complex data sets easy.

Cons: When onboarding new employees they often feel intimidated by the interface and the product is very expensive.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 07/05/2020

Hi Bryce,

Thanks for your time and feedback. As WebCheckout includes a myriad of features and settings, we understand this can be intimidating to new staff and training an every changing staff difficult to manage. We do update our online documentation, and will continue to host webinars to highlight new features of each release. Additionally, we do offer training services to take the burden of training off of the administrative team.

If you have any questions, or if we can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to [email protected] or your account manager.

Best,

Jeannie C.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2020
Alex B.
Manager, Media Tech Services
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Great base, Needs Customization"

Pros: Easy to use and implement. Great tracking and inventorying abilities.
Front end for customers is relatively easy to use.

Cons: More customization is needed in the customer side of things. The current "swipe" style is a little clunky for our organization and would be better if we could tweak it a little bit more.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 27/04/2020

Hi Alex,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suites of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. I hope you will not mind that I will be following up with you directly to get more of your thoughts on what improved customization you'd like to see on Webcheckout. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any WebCheckout concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Jerry S.
Computer Programmer Analyst
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"Easy Integration & Great Customer Service"

Comments: We have several departments using this system with the library as the main user in our college. The customer service is great and they always respond in a timely and friendly manner. We have had several upgrades already and it's a charm each time. Personally, I find it's a little hard to understand the resources/access management, but maybe it's because it's not my main responsibility to do that kind of thing. Admins who are in charge of it may find it easy to use.

Pros: I mostly working on importing patrons into webcheckout and I find it pretty easy to use. All you have to do is generate a flat file and upload it to a place where WCO can find out. WCO has an integration tool which will then import all patrons into the system with a scheduled job. If you like, you can also run the integration manually with the system. You receive an integration log via email everytime the import happens.

Cons: It seems to be lack of API that enables user to get/update information from this system. It seems to be improving on this matter, but is still not so convenient in my opinion.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 04/05/2020

Hi Jerry,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear that you have enjoyed work with our Support Team and that Patron Integration is working so well for you. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suite of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to [email protected] and we'd be happy to help.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Jessica K.
Associate Director of Media Services
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"WebCheckout Helps Us Run A Better Checkout Center"

Comments: Overall, I've had a great experience with WebCheckout. WebCheckout has really responsive and great customer support. Our back end team has always been able to relatively quickly setup integrations and make upgrades.

Pros: We are able to keep good inventory of almost 10,000 items, kits and even spaces. With integrations we have all of our patrons there and can quickly checkout equipment to them. The software also allows us to get good data about our most used items, what departments are using them and more. I know how difficult it is to keep track of things in just a spreadsheet or a calendar and am grateful for the many features of WebCheckout.

Cons: We have many student workers using this software, so having it be simple is important. For the most part students can quickly learn how to do a checkout and get going, but there are some hiccups that take a lot of communication from management. One example is when creating a checkout you have to hit commit and then the page changes and you need to confirm - it isn't confirmed until the green banner shows, but the confusing part is how the page changes and you need to sometimes scroll to see the confirm button, but there also aren't usually any warning signs that you didn't confirm. This is partly a training issue, but ultimately there could be something in the design that helps.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 28/04/2020

Hi Jessica,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suites of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. I hope you will not mind that I will be following up with you directly to get more of your thoughts on improving confirmation banners. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any WebCheckout concerns and feature requests.
Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Micah B.
Media Tech
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2020

"WebCheckout from a daily user"

Comments: Overall our experience with WebCheckout has been a positive one. As mentioned, the automated logs that are created throughout each allocation have proved to be a vital way of tracking equipment, as well as illustrating proof in various instances with our students.

Pros: I find WebCheckout to be an invaluable asset to our facilities for many reasons. Some of the most valuable uses for us are traceability of our equipment, automated communication between our Checkout Center and students, the information that is provided in regards to communication history, late fees, renter history, equipment information, inventory, usage logs, etc. This system has dramatically sped up our workflow, saved money on loses and late equipment, as well as provided us a very consistent workflow throughout our daily processes.

Cons: I feel there are usability aspects that are missing. Some of the processes that take place are achieved in more of a roundabout way, requiring 5 to 8 clicks instead of 2-3, which at high traffic times slows down the checkout process and overall customer service. I do feel that WebCheckout is extremely good at listening to their clients however and as a result updates are steadily happening.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 30/04/2020

Micah, Thank you for your time and positive feedback! Being an essential part of your day-to-day workflow makes us proud. Our Team is always looking for ways to better WebCheckout. Please reach out to [email protected] with a time you are available to discuss the specific processes we can make more efficient. We look forward to continuing and strengthening our relationship with you.
Holly V.
Customer Care

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2020
John P.
Production & Studio Manager
Facilities Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2020

"Resource Circulation and Management with Great Customization"

Comments: WCO is a tool like no other for managing thousands of items worth millions of dollars for hundreds of users. It is designed - and has evolved over the years - with a focus on doing this very well. Scheduling, circulating and maintaining gear and facilities happens so smoothly because of WCO.

Pros: WebCheckout (WCO) is the only software (Made In the USA, at least) that I am aware of capable of managing, scheduling, circulating and inventorying resources - both physical "gear" and facilities "rooms" - so well. The information that can be cataloged for each individual item is tremendous in tracking everything from purchase history to usage as well as maintenance and repair. The items are also classified by type so that there is readily available data regarding how many are on hand, how many are in use and so forth. Scheduling within the software ensures that it all is being utilized...but without conflict; a "Patron Portal" option even allows end users to schedule on their own - based on permission authorizations set by the operator(s). There is also a basic inventory feature (with enhanced capability available as an option) as well as maintenance ticketing and even staff scheduling - all within the one program. Finally, there is extensive messaging available for the end users to be informed of reservations, pick ups and returns in addition to reminders for those events...once again, all customizable by operators. One additional note: significant updates to the software, at a rate of several a year, are almost entirely driven by end user requests for features and capabilities. Using WCO for the past 4 - 5 years, I have seen it continually evolve to be even better and better at serving both the institutions using it and their end users.

Cons: This is not a Google, Apple or Microsoft product...it was created and is managed by a relatively small team in the Midwest. This means that there are occasional bugs or other issues that arise not found with most other software programs. At the same time, because it is a smaller company, service is fast and personal; more often than not, the person I am working with on issues knows me and my school and they are always committed to solving issues AND making improvements. What is missing or lacking is often addressed with regular software updates.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 30/04/2020

John, Thank you so much for your positive feedback and taking the time to post your review. Your Pros and Cons are pretty accurate in describing WebCheckout's strengths and weakness'. Our team is always striving to improve client support and application experience. As always please contact [email protected] for questions or suggestions. We look forward to continuing and strengthening our relationship with you.
Holly V.
Customer Care

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2020
Frank F.
Art Technologist
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Industry Standard, (but...)"

Comments: I have worked with Webcheckout for over 10 years. It has been the industry standard the whole time, and meets the need for most users. As an admin it takes a "programmer's head" to get used to, but that's just part of the territory. It's so powerful and can do so much, that it's going to be complex, and they do their best to keep it as simple as possible. Phone support is extremely responsive and capable.

Pros: The software does it all...especially now after well over a decade of upgrades and user feedback. The customer service is the best,

Cons: The software in places seems to have no input from designers. New users should expect good amount of training and "getting used to it" through practice. Things like calendar input can seem clunky, and not the same across the board. A streamlined mobile app interface would be nice (maybe it's extra money), and bar-code scanning isn't mac friendly.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 30/04/2020

Thank you for your comments and praise for our support team, Frank! Please contact [email protected] to help work out any issues, including barcode scanning, and to let us know of any application improvements to better your experience with WebCheckout.
Holly V.
Customer Care

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Rifah O.
Client Services Manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Helpful but Not User Friendly"

Pros: I like that it helps us keep track of our events and checkouts so that we don't lose equipment. Overall, it offers a lot of flexibility especially with being able to write notes on reservations, checkouts, and equipment.

Cons: I wish the dashboard would stick without having to reset it up daily with my preferences. I also wish the dashboard view was more integrated into the main checkout page instead of its own page. I wish this system was more user friendly or they offered tutorial videos. I have a large rotating staff of student workers that I have to train and retrain on the various aspects of Webcheckout. I have had to create my own documentation on how to use it and still come across issues where things don't go right if a student worker misses a step. The system is not intuitive at all and needs to be taught and learned. There needs to be a way to delete equipment for good. I would also like an easy way to track our events vs. just our regular checkouts or scheduled tasks so I could pull reports on it. The set, strike, show isn't cutting it for us.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 01/05/2020

Hi Rifah, thanks for your time and feedback. We're pleased to know that WebCheckout aids in keeping track of your equipment.

The Dashboard now persists, so once you set it up, the information is readily available for the next time you login. This improvement was made after your request in our 2019 User Training. We also provided SXU with the Task Module to better track event details, a part from regular checkout/reservation information.

As we continue to improve and add to WebCheckout's countless features, we understand this can make training an every changing staff difficult to manage. We do update our online documentation, and will continue to host webinars to highlight new features of each release. Additionally, we do offer training services to take the burden of training off of the administrative team.

If we can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to your account manager.

We hope you're well.

Jeannie C
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Asa K.
Video Production Specialist
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"WebCheckout in Media Education"

Comments: Our old loan inventory system was being decommissioned, so we had to find something new. Web Checkout filled all our needs and more. It has been an incredible improvement over our previous workflows.

Pros: Web Checkout is highly customizable, easy to use, entirely web based, and integrates with our existing Active Directory, Student Information System, user ID cards, and equipment barcodes. The best functions are the automated email reminders and flexible permission rules.

Cons: Initial setup of the integration was a bit tedious, but once it was setup it makes daily processes a breeze.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 27/04/2020

Hi Asa,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to providing attentive customer service and appreciate insight into how to make our processes easier. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns and feature requests.
Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Ramin M.
Principle Engineer
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"We use WCO to manage equipment"

Comments: The best support team in the business.

Pros: GUI is very user friendly and intuitive.

Cons: I wish it was easier to make changes in titles and fields.
vocabulary is mainly for academic institutions, being able to easily change the fields is very desirable.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 07/05/2020

Hi Ramin,

Thanks for your positive feedback and your continued support. There's no denying WebCheckout was designed for higher education. With clients like Toyota in mind, the application now features the ability to re-label and even add custom fields.

Please do not hesitate to reach out for assistance, and if there are other improvements to help with your business needs.

Best,

Jeannie C.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Kandra M.
Lab Assistant
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"7 years of Webcheckout"

Comments: We have resolved the locating of our equipment thanks to wencheckout. Its at our finger tips whenever we need it.

Pros: I love the ease of webcheckout. I have worked with it for over 7 years and I have always found it easy and understandable to use.

Cons: I think the feature that could be improved is the uploading of various items at one time. I don't use the feature often since I find it kind of difficult.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 04/05/2020

Hi Kandra,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear that WebCheckout is working so well for you. If you have an questions or concerns, especially about the upload process please feel free to reach out to [email protected] and we'd be happy to help.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Jim C.
Manager of Campus Media Services
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2020

"Clark University MA."

Comments: Very happy with WebCheckout the staff is real easy to work with from when we purchased this years ago to your support staff.

Pros: I went from a Paper based tracking system for all my A/V equipment and this gives me a more efficient way to keep track of my things.

Cons: We work outside of "Standard Business Hours" frequently and my staff occasionally have to get me to override reservations. Having to remember to update the Hours of Operations each year or two can be annoying but not bad.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 28/04/2020

Hi Jim,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suites of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. I hope you will not mind that I will be following up with you directly on upgrades that should fix your calendar issue. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any WebCheckout concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2020
Adam C.
Equipment Manager
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020

"Web Checkout Review"

Pros: Web Checkout allows higher ed institutions, in all the vastly different ways they function, to manage equipment checkouts specifically to their needs. The Patron reservation portal offers those checking out equipment a personalized environment where they can quickly and easily select the items necessary for their own work.

Cons: Web Checkout's interface is clunky, but I do not think that any software that manages all the data in the different ways that WCO does would be able to be designed in a sleek manner.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 28/04/2020

Hi Adam,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to continuously improve WebCheckout and always appreciate our customer's feedback. You account manager will reach out to you to review the issues you are experiencing with the user interface and to gather your feedback. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any questions or concerns.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Thank you,

Brittany W.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020
Gregory A.
Analyst
Automotive, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"6 years of WebCheckout"

Comments: The people on the support side of this app are some of the best I've ever seen. They are always quick, honest and timely.

Pros: The improvements made year over year to the UI and squashing bugs quickly have helped a lot. The new Maintenance and Calibration module should be a major time saver for us.

Cons: The supported browser list for Windows 10 is not a list but a single browser. Support for Firefox or Chrome on Windows 10 would be awesome.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 01/05/2020

Hi Greg-

Thanks for your time and kind words, and addressing our oversight on supported browsers.

For that latest version of WebCheckout (v9), we recommend Microsoft Edge 44, Firefox 74, or Chrome 80 for Windows 10. While other browsers and versions on Microsoft 10 should support WebCheckout v9, these mentioned above were the specific browsers tested by our team.

We appreciate your continued support and feedback. If we can be of any assistance, you know where to find us.

We hope you're well.

Jeannie C
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Amber O.
Assistant Technical Manager
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2020

"Webcheckout Review from a University's Film Department Perspective"

Comments: Very positive. I use webcheckout to rent out film gear to our students. It's very simple and straightforward (aside from the groups, sections, authsets I mentioned) and I enjoy teaching it to my student workers.

Pros: I like the way it organizes patron's information, allocations, scheduling, tickets, and invoices. I find it very easy to teach to my student workers. They usually pick it up fairly quickly. The dashboard is very helpful.

Cons: I wish there was a way, without purchasing the Patron Portal, to default all new reservation (or reservations for certain people - only are students as opposed to staff for example) to have holds. Also, I've been using webcheckout for about 5 years and I still don't understand the differences in functionality between sections, authsets, and groups.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 27/04/2020

Hi Amber,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suites of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns, questions, or to review some of these features.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2020
Amanda S.
Sr. Learning and Events Technology Specialist
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2020

"The "Cadillac" of Checkout Software"

Comments: Webcheckout allows me to keep track of the investment that our college has made in providing quality technology to Faculty, Staff, and Students for the purpose of fulfilling their class assignments, pursuing their interests, and preventing them from having to invest in expensive equipment. I can collect accurate and quick statistics --- it makes me job easier.

Pros: This software is super well thought-out. It covers all the basics of what you would want checkout software to do... but they are constantly seeking out and listening to customer's for recommendations on new featuers.

Cons: I wish that more of the important features were included in the base software. We've ended up buying a lot of modules -- some which should definitely be an extra add-on and others that I think should have been standard with it.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 07/05/2020

Hi Amanda,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback.

We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suites of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. I hope you will not mind that I will be following up with you directly to get more of your thoughts.

As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any WebCheckout concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

Jeannie C.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2020
Dylan C.
Campus AV Technology Coordinator
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"Art and Design School Experience with WCO"

Comments: This software has become essential to our checkout centers that manage large quantities of equipment. It is hard to imagine operations without it. We are bringing on more centers with unique needs and the software is proving to be agile and flexible enough to accommodate the needs.

Pros: Very detailed tracking of our extensive inventory of equipment. Powerful import and export features. Integration with our Active Directory and student/faculty status. Modular nature of add ons allowing us to select/pay for the enhanced features we really need. Great technical support, very personal and quick response. Updates and feature updates are in direct response to user feedback.

Cons: The GUI has some issues, it has been improved over the years and there has been more of a focus on it recently. We still wish some alerts were more obvious to our students workers. Reporting is somewhat limited, all data can be exported to manipulate elsewhere but more robust in Ap reports would be nice. It is very powerful and this leads to very busy screens-this can be intimidating to new users.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 28/04/2020

Hi Dylan,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to see that WebCheckout has become essential to your Checkout Center. We are committed to continuously improving WebCheckout and its suite of modules, and we want to ensure our customers feel the same. I encourage you to reach out to your dedicated account manager or to [email protected] so we can review the feedback you mentioned about alerts and reporting.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Mary L.
Equipment Services Associate
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2020

"Great product for higher education equipment loaning"

Comments: I used WCO for nearly 10 years. The company was very responsive to their clients' inputs and regularly updated the software to reflect those requested tweaks. The program was great to work with but offered a lot of details that weren't necessary for us. And it was a little pricey and we needed to consolidate expenses. Two other departments were using another software and we transferred to that system. For 10 years, the WCO never crashed and we never lost any data. WebCheckOut worked very well for us!

Pros: WCO is easy to use and intuitive. It has a lot of features to keep track of loans, reservations and details of your equipment and locations. There are multiple offerings to customize what you need, including invoices, emailing, SSO, ticket (repair) tracking and even a personnel scheduling feature. Running reports are very customizable and easy to do and cover a range of information (turn downs, overdue, usage, etc...). Adding and updating equipment was fairly easy to do.

Cons: We don't use the system anymore but we had several add on modules that we paid for. I don't remember exactly what was an added module and what features came with the basic software but we bought several modules over the years that made the system a bit pricey. I downloaded my patrons list manually because it was more money to have it work automatically with our system. Not a big deal since we only have about 3k clients but it was an added step. For us, there were a lot of extra fields that could not be removed. A more customizable view would have been nice. Any new software releases that came out were difficult for me to implement due to our firewall and having to work out access for the WCO support team (but I own most of that issue).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2020
Matthew P.
Studio Coordinator
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Big help for a small checkout center"

Comments: We are a relatively small checkout center that ran our checkouts with pen and paper before Web Checkout. WCO has been a breath of fresh air.

Pros: - Online patron portal has been invaluable
- Granular policy structures
- Automated e-mail messaging

Cons: - The timeline scheduler isn't always immediately clear about resource availability.
- Conflict messaging isn't always clear - You are sometimes prohibited from performing an action without a clear explanation of what is preventing you from proceeding.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 30/04/2020

Matthew, Thank you so much for leaving a review. Our Team is very happy to hear Patron Portal is working so well for you!. Please contact us ([email protected]) at any time if WebCheckout is not relaying clear error messages or availability issues. Thank you again for you time, and we appreciate your continued support.
Holly V.
Customer Care

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Ryan C.
Technology Commons Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Webcheckout review"

Comments: Having said all of these pros and cons, I will say that webcheckout really listens to their customers. They provide excellent and quick customer service, they are always offering new training opportunities, and they have created a community where people can provide feedback and they will listen and try to implement changes if possible. So even though there are unfortunate parts to this product, I have confidence they will be addressed in the future.

Pros: I have been using webcheckout for our university for the 5 years. We have a very robust equipment checkout program for our campus and webcheckout helps us manage over 1,000 pieces of equipment for around 12,000 students/faculty, and staff. There are some things that webcheckout does really well. I love that it syncs with Active Directory and the reporting they do is also very nice. They just recently opened a patron portal, and the advances they have made there are really nice and are allowing us to make some advances in shift left for our services. The organization is very good and keeping track of fines and late equipment is very easy.

Cons: There are a few things that I would consider minor annoyances for webcheckout. We would really like to find a way for patrons to renew equipment themselves, but this still does not exist and adds a lot of unnecessary man power for a pretty simple task. Also there is no embedded signature system, so if you want students to sign for a checkout you have to pull up a separate program, then upload that file back into webcheckout, and then manually update a signature on file date to let the software know something was uploaded. That is just too manual.

Vendor Response

by WebCheckout on 28/04/2020

Hi Ryan,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suites of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. I hope you will not mind that I will be following up with you directly to get more of your thoughts on the improvements you'd like to see. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any WebCheckout concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020