15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Pivotal Tracker Reviews

About Pivotal Tracker

Collaborative, lightweight project management tool, brought to you by the experts in agile software development.

Learn more about Pivotal Tracker

Pros:

Learning curve is close to 0 thanks to the limited features, the tracker is meant to be used in a very specific way reducing the amount of time team members have to align on the use of the tool.

Cons:

As the owner unless you clear the cache. I've tried to report these issues to their customer service team but they blame it on "network issues on my end.

Pivotal Tracker ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Pivotal Tracker has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 148 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Pivotal Tracker before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (148)

Abhishek
Abhishek
AWS CLoud Intern in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Application for Agile And Project Management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: One of the most useful features is managing projects and tracking the projects which are very convenient and useful for the companies.

Pros:

It is the best software for managing the projects and for agile technologies which is very easy to use and very useful for the small case business like startups as they have many projects going on which helps them to keep tabs on all at the same time.

Cons:

Sometimes handling more than one project is difficult on it and is very inconvenient. One more big inconvenience is that more of the managing stuff is manual and which can be made automation by

Nirav
SEO Manager in India
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Systematic way to manage projects

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With multiple projects and a large team size, Pivotal is a very useful tool to keep a track of your projects. Also, there is no room for a communication gap between product and team teams by having a binary system to track the tasks.

Pros:

Pivotal is a multi-functional SAAS platform with features like: 1. Managing projects along with real-time collaboration 2. Easily accept or reject a story 3. View stories based on their status - pending/completed

Cons:

The UX looks very old more like a decade-old design. The learning curve is steep. You need someone's help to understand the functionalities or watch a demo video.

John
ICT Director in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pivotal Tracker for Excellent Project Management

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker makes defined project control, where resources are adequately managed.

Cons:

Pivotal Tracker makes aggressive suggestion in making every transaction reliable

Kerry
Kerry
Scrum Master in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Newspapers, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Couldn't wait to switch to another platform

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker actually does most of what you need to track projects, or stories for sprints for a scrum team, which is what I used it for. You can write stories and add images and links to them, and assign things to people and change the status of each story as it goes through your process. However, (see Cons section)...

Cons:

Pivotal does not use lanes for workflow. You get one lane, and stories can move up and down it vertically until they are done, and then they finally get to jump out to another lane. But the vertical workflow instead of horizontal is extremely non-intuitive. In fact, I found the entire software platform to be highly non-intuitive in general. I'm pretty savvy with learning new products, and it still took two weeks and multiple trainings for me to feel like I had a grasp of what I was doing. Furthermore, they only have 4 fixed statuses, so if those don't match your process well then you are stuck putting tags on all your stories to keep track of where they are in your process. It's doable, but very annoying. In addition, PivotalTracker looks like no one has done any development work on it since the year 2000. The interface is old and outdated, and challenging to wrap your head around. My company was using it when I started working here, and fortunately they switched to ClubHouse about 3 months after I started. What a glorious transition! It took me half a day to learn ClubHouse and it is so much cleaner and intuitive to work with. I believe shortly before we transitioned that Pivotal was actually starting to roll out some improvements to their platform, so maybe it's better now. But in my opinion they probably should have started thinking about that about 5 years earlier.

Marco
IT Expert in US
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pivotal Tracker Is a Reliable Project Management Solution

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I like the impressive features of Pivotal Tracker. Pivotal Tracker works so well for us. Pivotal Tracker is affordable project management tool.

Cons:

No cons for Pivotal Tracker. Pivotal Tracker is reliable.

Dylan
Dylan
Software Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not pretty, but highly functional

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: I enjoyed my time with Pivotal Tracker. As a developer it was very functional and had all the features I needed, at a very attractive price.

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker implements a lot of the finer points of agile and makes it very easy to run an agile workflow.

Cons:

The UI of Pivotal Tracker is utilitarian if you're being optimistic, dated and hard to look at if you're being less kind.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good at making lists

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, Pivotal Tracker serves the purpose of having a list of action items to discuss when on a conference call and to make obvious whose "court" the ball is in. I just wish there were ways to add other file types easily and to set up alert systems to make sure projects stay on a timeline.

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker is a way for several off-site people working on the same project to stay in touch with the list of action items and obviously check them off when they are complete. What I like most is the visual of who is in charge of an item, when it was assigned, and when it is complete.

Cons:

I feel Pivotal tracker doesn't do a great job of prompting people to complete their tasks. I wish there were features that would send an alert/message to the owner of tasks that are past due.

Kimani
Marketer in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Track your Milestones

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: It gets the job done.

Pros:

The user interface is really good. Everything is in place and you do not have to struggle to find anything. It also gets the job done. It is a lifesaver.

Cons:

The occasional freezing of the platform becomes annoying at times.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pivotal Tracker for Web developers

4.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker is a great option if you're working on a project with agile methodology. It has a simple interface, so if you are new to this type of softwares it wont take long to learn on how to use it. It helps you prioritise work in your team and it has an automatic velocity tracking to plan the next iterations for the product you're working on, based on the previous workflow.

Cons:

If you are a user with experience in working with such softwares, pivotal tracking has limited functionality and capacity to customise it.

Pedro
Pedro
CEO in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use but with some improvements needed

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Appreciate Pivotal Tracker’s simplicity and familiarity with Jira, making it easy to use.

Cons:

Lack of personal story visibility, as Pivotal Tracker does not allow members to easily view and search for their own stories within a project.

Emil
Internet Marketing/Graphic Designer in Philippines
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pivotal Tracker: A User's Perspective on the Strengths and Weaknesses

4.0 last year

Comments: Since I've been using Pivotal Tracker for a while, I can say that it's a reliable project management tool in general. My team finds it simple to collaborate and communicate on projects thanks to the user-friendly interface. I adore the variety of features it has, including story mapping, agile planning, and progress tracking, which is so helpful in keeping us on top of things. It also works well with the other tools we employ, such as GitHub and Slack. The best part is that it's free, though they do have a paid version if you want more features and support. Even so, there are some disadvantages. First, very large projects or organizations with complex needs might not be a good fit for it. The reporting and analytics capabilities are also somewhat limited, and I've occasionally noticed it to be slow. In addition, the tool's pricing for the paid version may be prohibitive for smaller teams or organizations. Another drawback is that it can take some time to set up and configure, especially if you have a lot of users or projects. Additionally, the mobile app lacks some features that the web version does, which can make it difficult to access information while on the go. Furthermore, some users have complained about difficulties syncing and integrating with other tools, which can be annoying. The customer support could, in my opinion, be more helpful and responsive. Although it isn't perfect, Pivotal Tracker is generally a respectable option for project management. It has some dra

Pros:

I've been using Pivotal Tracker for a while, and I have to say that it's an excellent project management tool. My team can easily communicate and collaborate on projects thanks to the interface's simplicity of use. Its many features, including story mapping, agile planning, and progress tracking, are wonderful because they really help us stay on top of things. Additionally, our workflows are greatly improved by the seamless integration with other tools like GitHub and Slack. The tool has both a free and a paid version, which is great for teams with different needs and budgets. Additionally, it integrates well with other agile tools, enabling teams to use it alongside other methodologies. It is very simple to follow the tracking of bugs and issues as well as the advancement of tasks and projects. Additionally, the reporting and analytics tools are excellent, which makes it simple to stay informed and make fact-based decisions. Additionally excellent are the customer service and the resources offered to users to ensure they get the most out of the tool. For anyone searching for a complete and user-friendly project management tool, I wholeheartedly recommend Pivotal Tracker.

Cons:

Even though it has many wonderful features, there are some disadvantages as well. For a start, it isn't the best choice for organizations with complex needs or for large projects. The reporting and analytics capabilities are also somewhat limited, and I've occasionally noticed it to be slow. Additionally, the tool's customization capabilities could be improved, and for smaller teams or organizations, the cost of the paid version may be prohibitive. Although it has some drawbacks, overall, it's a respectable choice. A further drawback is that it can be time-consuming to set up and configure, particularly if you have a large number of users or projects. Additionally, when trying to access information while on the go, the mobile app may not be as feature-rich as the web version. Furthermore, some users have complained about difficulties syncing and integrating with other tools, which can be annoying. The customer support could, in my opinion, be more helpful and responsive. Although it's not a bad tool, there are some drawbacks and issues that should be taken into account before using it.

Brian
Software Support Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bugs be gone

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was great for us for 5+ years. We are moving away from it to move into Visual Studio Team Services since our Dev Team already uses it, we are trying to centralize everything. We will likely continue paying for Pivotal for another year at least jsut for a backup of our data, as we do not plan to migrate everything to VSTS.

Pros:

It is a great software for our QA/Support/Dev Teams to create a workflow and centralized database containing all of our bugs, enhancement requests, etc. Clients report bugs to us, I submit the bug info into PT, add relevant Dev members, it gets prioritzied by our QA/Dev Managers, comments and details are added, and it is followed through the steps until it is resolved and closed.

Cons:

There is not a whole lot we have to complain about. It did its purpose for us, and we rarely ran into bugs or issues with the software. The only "issues" that came up were our own fault of leaving old items in there, adding duplicates, and letting it get a little cluttered.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pivotal Tracker is our daily agile management tool at a tech startup.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker does a good job for agile product teams, allowing cadence and 2-week sprints to be easily organized. Stories can be sorted by labels, epics, or workplaces (these can include stories across multiple projects/labels/and assigned team members).

Cons:

Pivotal Track is difficult when using it for a product team with lots of different project boards (i.e. Design, IOS, Android, Backend). It's hard to keep track of what you are assigned to across different projects. When someone comments you on a story, you receive an email notification, but there is no other way to keep track of outstanding questions or needs without going back through all of your read emails.

Christopher
Senior Software Developer in US
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The - Project Management tool for Software Development Teams

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Been using tracker for a few years now. Its continually improved, but also kept a baseline of core functionality thats remained fairly static. It achieves its purpose, and doesn't throw in a lot of bells and whistles. Project / feature / story pipeline management core to storing information about past bugs, assets, ideas, implementations. Its served as alternative documentation to many of our projects. When consistently used, can be a very effective management tool for software proejcts.

Pros:

Its made FOR & By software devs.

Cons:

Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.

Anna
Developer in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I prefer Jira, but pivotal tracker is not bad either

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

You can add as many people as you want to work on a story. This makes paired programming really easy to keep track of who is working on what.

Cons:

It takes time to get familiar with tracker, especially if you’re already familiar with another task manager. Hard to find specific stories and figure out prioritization.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for agile teams

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent tool for keeping all team members focused on the backlog and it's easy to keep the backlog prioritized.

Pros:

The best thing about Pivotal Tracker is how easy it is to keep everyone on the team focused. It's got a simple, no frills interface and easy to prioritize and update tickets.

Cons:

While its generally on par with other agile project management tools, I find Pivotal tracker a little lacking feature wise compared to others like JIRA.

Viveka
Associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pivotal Tracker

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Pivotal Tracker is a powerful project management tool that can help software development teams to stay organized, collaborate effectively, and deliver high-quality products on time.

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker is fantastic tool used for software development team. It supports Agile project management which allows teams to easily manage their projects with Agile principles such as user stories, sprints, and prioritization. It also provides real-time updates on project progress, allowing team members to see the current status of the project. It can be easily integrated with GitHub, GitLab and Slack. This tool helps to identify areas where users can improve their processes and workflows.

Cons:

Pivotal Tracker offers both free and paid plans, but the paid plans might be expensive for small teams or startups.

Brandon
Data Science Manager in US
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BPC - PT Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Pivotal Tracker has a clean and clear UX for project management and execution for devs, especially with their task creation hierarchy scheme.

Cons:

Pivotal Tracker isn't as well integrated as its competitors with 3rd party collaboration tools.

Bob
Solution Consultant in US
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for managing Development life cycles

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Works well for companies with an agile structures. Allows developers to be in contact with end-users form any where with the mobile app. Great for getting bugs and enhancements closed quicker.

Cons:

Unable to export data and analytics form the application to flat files or other means such as xml which could be used for importing into other application and integrating the status and analytics of the open bugs and enhancements.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good UI forma tracking tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Nice tool with a friendly UI not that powerfull but has basic needs covered for management

Pros:

Ir has a very Nice UI specially form metrics section

Cons:

Ways to filter information to create specific metrics such as individual users tracking

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good project management software with a few draw backs

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It allows our teams to manage ongoing projects by creating and assigning stories to members of the team.

Pros:

I like how you are able to visually organize things in an easy and straightforward way. The search is also very powerful. I also like how there is an easy to access done queue if you want to reference stories that your team has already completed.

Cons:

Its frustrating to only be able to add 3 columns to a project. It has forced us to do a lot of "hacky" customization to make it support our processes.

Alex
Cofounder and CEO in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Favorite project manager we've used

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Managing different states and having two parties (owner and requester) baked into each story are probably our favorite features.

Cons:

Workspaces, a very powerful (and until recently underutilized by us) tool, cannot be shared with the team every team mate has to create their own.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Concise product for agile development

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

- Nice story filtering options - Helpful analytics views to track project trends and sprint velocity - Awesome email notification integration

Cons:

- Ux is very clumsy - Lack integration with version control or team collaboration platforms

Jesse
Senior Web Developer in US
Graphic Design
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Intuitive Software with Great Features

3.5 8 years ago

Pros:

I like how easy it is to filter through the stories lists so I can see exactly what information I'm hunting for. This is especially useful on projects with lots of bugs or feature requests, so I can limit the list to only the stories relevant to my work. I also like how frequently Pivotal is updated with new features and upgrades... it feels reassuring as a user to know the product we're using is maintained well!

Cons:

It's difficult to see all information across all projects at a glance, in my experience. I'm involved in dozens of projects simultaneously, all with incoming bugs and feature requests, so it would be really useful to be able to see everything at once easily. I know it's possible to create a workspace to do this, but I'd prefer to have it work out of the box.

Crispussia
Crispussia
Data developer in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing for Scrum

4.0 last year

Pros:

I liked the feature that allows you to track the progress of a project. It was very helpful to see how far along a project was and what tasks needed to be completed in order to reach the goal.

Cons:

the UI can be confusing and overwhelming at times, making it difficult to navigate and understand.