15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

VMware Cloud Director Availability Reviews

About VMware Cloud Director Availability

VMware Cloud Director Availability delivers simple, secure, self-serve and cost-effective onboarding, migration, and disaster recovery

Learn more about VMware Cloud Director Availability

Pros:

The implementation process was very straightforward and ran within the expected timeframe. The solution provides effective replication traffic compression and TLS encryption.

Cons:

While there were no other specific complaints, the product's pricing fell short of my expectations.

VMware Cloud Director Availability ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

VMware Cloud Director Availability has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 80 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used VMware Cloud Director Availability before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (80)

Valentin
Valentin
Technical Architect in Luxembourg
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A VMware Cloud Provider point of view

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This tool is the more valuable pluging that you can have in VMware Cloud Director.First for customer that want to adopt VMware Cloud Director, second because it's an easy friendly tool for giving protection for customer.In terms of installation and management (point of view provider) it's very easy and scalable, minimum 3 Appliances on three level of networking, already hardened and no difficult cutomization needed

Pros:

Easy to manage and train customer on itVery easy to migrate client to VCD with this productGive a DR solution for local VDC

Cons:

Reporting by client is quite complex and i need to do this manually, but it will change with next version of Usage MeterNeed to provide more storage that needed to customer for doing the failoverMonitoring the tool is quite complex, but possible need to deepdive inside API

Aadhya
Aadhya
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best suite for DRaaS Solutions

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: VCDA has been a great addition to our organization's software stack. It is incredibly easy to utilize as it possesses a very smooth UI/UX design which makes backup schedule, vulnerability assessment, reporting and management a breeze.

Pros:

Possession of a smooth, reliable, and feaure-rich backup and disaster recovery solution with support for advanced cloud data security capabilities like authentication, access control and cloud data vulnerability assessment and management. Ease of backup schedule and backup log to enhance and streamline disaster recovery process. Support for incremental backup capabilities is also very useful as it allows us to schedule backup that restore only the data that has been created and changed since we conducted the previous backup.

Cons:

I can't remember any solid issues with VCDA since we implemented it to streamline our cloud data security and availability.

mee
account in UK
Banking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

yes

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

good software and was very accessible and this has enhanced various skills

Cons:

price was abit much and thought that this can be improved

Duncan
Cloud Architect in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Polished and Feature Rich

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The product is very polished and feature rich and pre-integrated into the VMware ecosystem. There is also great documentation and network diagrams already out there which will speed up the project to deploy this to production. The migrations are included at no additional charge which is a huge benefit to adoption of our cloud platform.

Pros:

The deployment process was very smooth and takes less than an hour even with a fully distributed environment. Also, integration with Cloud Director and vCenter server was seamless and automatic, even with self-signed certificates which are the default.

Cons:

Cloud Director must be present on one of the sides of a protection. It would be nice to allow VCDA to function without VCD and support our standalone vSphere and VCF environments.

Michael
Director of Tech Ops in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

vCDA for Cloud Hosting

5.0 last year

Comments: We use it as part of our DR offering and it has been great

Pros:

Ease of use, Low Cost, great reliability

Cons:

Additional features would be nice. Support could be better

Philippe
CTO in France
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A very nice solution

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, reliable, highly configurable, robust

Cons:

Alerting and monitoring not very easy to implement and follow

Ezra
Ezra
Cloud Infrastructure Engineer in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

VMware Cloud Director Availability

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: My experience has been phenomenal, and my customers can also attest. I would any day recommend the solution to anyone

Pros:

The easy of deployment and daily management of replicated workloads is unmatched. No other product that i have used comes close

Cons:

error reporting and audio-visual learning can be improved

Jason
Jason
Sales Support Associate in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Highly Secure Data Backup Scheduling Package.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Nice reporting tool and disaster management and the Archiving capability on this platform is incredible and the data migration speed is more productive.

Pros:

Security level on its data management environment and data source integration stability is nice. Recovering multiple Construction project data and files through platform is excellent and it saves project time.

Cons:

No major issues on this product, and the entire implementation process everything was perfect and their technical support is also reliable.

Kelvin
Kelvin
Project Accountant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Effective and Functional Disaster Management Package.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: The data analytics and data encryption via the tool is excellent and i also love the data backup and data access control functionalities.

Pros:

The data security on this platform and effective ability on multiple Construction project data recovering and the storage of various data is very secure.

Cons:

Helpful data protection system and to get used on all the features does not require much users time.

Trisha
Trisha
Senior software engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good choice for disaster recovery

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

I was able to test my disaster recovery plans using VMware Cloud Director Availability without impacting my production workloads. This gave me confidence that my disaster recovery plans would work in the event of a real disaster.

Cons:

I had to purchase additional storage to accommodate the requirements of VCDA. This increased my disaster recovery costs.

Aman
IT & Research Associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Effective Monitoring of Critical Applications and Data

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, a good experience using the tool as it offers a range of features, including automated failover, network isolation, and comprehensive monitoring, to help businesses minimize downtime and maintain business continuity.

Pros:

It is an excellent solution for businesses looking to improve their disaster recovery capabilities and ensure high availability of critical applications and data. The platform provides real-time visibility into critical systems and applications, allowing businesses to proactively identify and address potential issues before they become major problems.

Cons:

One potential drawback is that some businesses may find the platform's pricing to be higher than other disaster recovery solutions. However, with its comprehensive features, ease of use, and exceptional customer support, many businesses may find that the benefits of VMware Cloud Director Availability outweigh the cost.

Jennifer
Sales and Marketing Specialist in Philippines
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Trustworthy tool for backing up and restoring data.

5.0 last year

Pros:

This tool helps my group move data from our own computers to cloud servers. It pays attention to how our data centers are performing. Data is backed up swiftly and automatically, which makes work faster and better. It is a good price and provides excellent customer service.

Cons:

I haven't seen any problems using this platform at work. The reliable services we got have helped the business grow.

Sumbhav
Research Associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Key to unlocking cloud resilience and availability

5.0 last year

Comments: It was a good experience using VMware as it helped in complete backup of data and quick data recovery.

Pros:

I liked most its features and capabilities that helped us in protecting the critical applications and data against downtime and data loss.

Cons:

Not any, well updated and full features platform with all required support.

Bruce
Financial Advisor in US
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

VMware is our Go To

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very efficient and platform has been a pleasure to use.

Pros:

All of the features are easy to find and the platform as a whole doesn't require that much work to use. The analytics let us see protections and other technical occurrences that happen.

Cons:

Pricing is too high and I don't like that pricing depends on where the business is located.

Sally April
Sally April
Information Technology Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Robust migration and secure disaster recovery

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is a robust, versatile and efficient solution that offers a good level of protection and disaster recovery.

Pros:

It is easy to use and easily adapts to existing infrastructure. It has robust features for disaster recovery. It's easy to select the workloads you want to protect. Its native integration with VMware Cloud Director is very productive.

Cons:

I consider it necessary to provide more documentation for users without previous experience.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficient Backup and Replication with VMware Cloud Director Availability

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: It's a terrific solution for companies wishing to increase their disaster recovery capabilities and assure the high availability of essential apps and data.

Pros:

To improve and streamline the disaster recovery process, make backup schedules and backup logs easier to use. Support for incremental backup capabilities is also quite beneficial because it enables us to schedule backups.

Cons:

I've never had a bad experience with this product. Each component has a unique purpose, and they all work together to provide an easy and effective conversion.

Pravin
Pravin
Senior Project Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

VMware Cloud Director Availability Review

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

VMware Cloud Director Availability it is very user-friendly and we can easily integrate it with other applications. It is very secure and safe

Cons:

VMware Cloud Director Availability require previous experience and UI/UX can be improved

Alvin
Alvin
Hardware Technician in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Safety, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Disaster recovery saver

5.0 last year

Pros:

This platform was easy to install and integrate with all of our existing apps. The platform's scalability, as well as several other features that have proven crucial in keeping our organization running smoothly, stood out to me.

Cons:

While there were no other specific complaints, the product's pricing fell short of my expectations.

Asmita
Asmita
Travel Agent in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The disaster recovery as a service solution

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

It provides a good and wide range of features with good sustainable capacity, this platform provides a robust tool for secure disaster recovery. It works seamlessly in the IT environment.

Cons:

I encountered the cost of this app, as it is not appropriate for all type of organisations as they have limited budget.

Asha
Software Consultant in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Overall data protection and support platform

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: It was a good experience using Vmware as supported us in total data protection for one of our web platform

Pros:

It is a good tool that helps in creating multiple backups, data recovery, and data protection for the web platform.

Cons:

not any con we find the software, well planned platform.

Subhanki
Associate Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Improve safety of your Data

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Backup Scheduling helps us to do backup on time where more internet speed available.It is highly secure as it provides 2 step verification too.

Cons:

It is difficult to use in remote places.

Irish
Irish
Sales Development Representative in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very effective security platform

5.0 last year

Pros:

What I like is its simple and secure cloud migration feature and implementing it is very easy and effortless. The disaster recovery feature helps us to have a secure and reliable backk up and protection in our data and applications to ensure the reduce of risk of data loss and we can continue working without the threat of possible cyber attacks.

Cons:

No cons for now. It is a very effective platform and it really helps us protecting and providing complete data protection.

Carter
Chief Executive Officer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Love this platform

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The platform was easy to install and integrated well with all of our software. In particular, I like the scalability aspects and other features that help keep our business running smoothly.

Cons:

I didn't like the price. No other complaints.

Sahil
Research Associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Data secuirty and backup support software

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: overall a good experience using VMware as it protected our data & provided other support such as data recovery and backup creation.

Pros:

It is a good platform which supports in saving all the data of the web platform and also protects from any kind of disaster or any server error by creating backups of data

Cons:

we don't find any con in the platform, as has some good features

Charmaine
Charmaine
Sales Development Representative in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The data backup the you are looking for

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

The tool is very easy to use and has the most user friendly interface. It helps protect our data from data loss and very reliable for your data backup. Incredible solution for a secure network in the organization.

Cons:

I haven't seen any problems while using the platform. Very reliable to use.