15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Viewpoint Vista Reviews

About Viewpoint Vista

Centralize information, create timely and data-rich financial reports, that offer visibility into the office, project teams, and field.

Learn more about Viewpoint Vista

Pros:

And Vista integrates with Viewpoint One to provide a comprehensive construction software.

Cons:

THe training I received when we first bought the product was HORRIBLE.

Viewpoint Vista ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Service
3.4
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Viewpoint Vista has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 248 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Viewpoint Vista before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (248)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall our experience has been very good.

Pros:

Vista is a very powerful program! Is very customizable.

Cons:

Viewpoint's Customer Service! We hear from our clients all the time that the Viewpoint customer service is horrid.

Bo
Controller in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Robust & Intuitive

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: While it is tough to gauge, our efficiency & productivity has increased for better time management and more effective processes.

Pros:

The software can handle just about anything! It has drastically changed our efficiency company-wide, especially with the projection/forecasting for our project teams. Having our teams getting live data and immediate access helps them more effectively manage their projects.

Cons:

Some of the features within the EM & IN seem to be less of a priority for functionality and user-friendliness.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, Bo!

Jamie
CFO in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very poor implementation and support

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: Extremely frustrating -- we had multiple on site consultants during our conversion and go live process. We spent more time re-doing what the previous consultant set-up because each one had a "better solution". Be prepared to have an onsite programmer or hire a consultant to help you with custom features. Viewpoint support is TERRIBLE! They expect you to read through numerous "articles" (if you can get the links to open) to solve your own issues. They're based in Portland, OR; therefore, if you're located on the East coast --- forget any help until after noon. They rarely respond during the same day.

Pros:

Has robust capabilities and custom reporting options

Cons:

The setup was a nightmare and we still have a few issues that are ongoing after nearly 2 years of using the software.

Eddie
Senior Project Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista is a cost effective and powerful ERP for contractors

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Effective tool for project managers and accounting personnel to track job costs.

Cons:

Backend modifications require input from consultants and costly customizations.

Sheryl
Director of Business Administration in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Vista

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am pretty satisfied with Vista.

Pros:

The Project Management/Accounting Integration.

Cons:

The amount of training it really takes to be successful. Also, if you are not a report writer or large enough company to have one on staff, it can be costly to hire that out.

Alexia
Project Assistant in US
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Task Lists, Hard to Navigate

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I like it better than Sage 100 contractor, but it still seems based in the 90's. it could be much easier to navigate. the people that have been using it for 3 years or more seem to still have some issues with navigating the system.

Pros:

I like that you can set up your own task list for the items you use the most.

Cons:

its difficult to find reports, unless you know the name of it, or where it is located. it would be nice to be able to run a targeted search.

Claire
Vista Support
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Vista Support

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been positive. Last year was hard but with the new customer service initiative there has been a big improvement, although there is still a long way to go in that regard.

Pros:

There are a ton of options for customization and it's super easy to use once you know how each form works. The grids are amazing and the reporting options are great for customization. The learning base can be a bit confusing when it comes to finding information, but when it comes to actually learning a new feature you can usually figure everything out without needing to place a call to Vista. Also, the knowledge base articles are good when they are sent from support. The main pro of Vista is the possibility. There are a ton of other products with other vendors and within Viewpoint and the options are great.

Cons:

With the customization comes a lot of room for errors. Also the release notes for next versions don't feel complete and when you get an issue half the time they tell you it was fixed in the next upgrade and their recommendation is to update as a fix. Also the customer service has come a long way but it still needs work. In the opening speech they mentioned the response times and the resolution times and I don't think I have ever had someone call me back in less than 3 days for my initial contact. Also there are multiple cases created for the same issue anytime it is transferred to a new department. So I have a case that has been open since May 2016, but I'm on my 4th case number so whenever someone gets the new case it looks like its only been open since September.

Jon
Jon
IT Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely customizable software

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The software itself is customizable and very good overall. Their knowledgebase is extensive, but the search features in it don't yield correct results as often as they should. Vista is very customizable, which is extremely importane. You can create user defined fields and tables. You can also connect to the data via SQL, Excel, etc.

Cons:

They have a suggestion box but getting anything implemented takes multiple years the vast majority of the time. Chat support gets a needs improvement. Far too often in the middle of the day no one is available (including today at 2 PM EST).

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Hi Jon, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback!

Justin
Architectural Designer in Canada
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Antiquated and Bulky

3.0 9 months ago

Comments: I haven't used vista for anything beyond time keeping and basic invoicing, but I feel like it needs an overhaul, but in terms of UI, but also functionality.

Pros:

It has many features and groups them all together in one place

Cons:

Filling out forms and records is an arduous task, the software balks at the user when fields are not filled out in the precise manner that it expects. Often after filling out an entire record, it is deleted because one field is incorrect or missing.

Rebecca
Ow er in US
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I love how easy it is to just use it and hit helpgul

Cons:

Customer support could be easier to reach

Jenny
Admin
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for Large Scale Asphalt Construction Companies!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We weren't sure what the best course of action was but ultimately decided to move forward with Vista, instead. After seeing a demo of the product, the decision was a no-brainer. This is a great piece of software, and Vista overall has exceeded our expectations. We have multiple asphalt plants, a concrete plant, trucking company, and asphalt installation crews, so Vista has been a perfect fit. As for the technology, most people are used to the style of windows, which makes for a pretty easy learning curve with Vista. The grid functionality is top-notch as well, being able to switch from an informational view of one item to a list of all items. Viewpoint also offers a cloud environment to host your enterprise system. It's a small fee to pay for peace of mind, and limited IT management on our part. We haven't even taken advantage of everything that it offers yet, and we are STILL thrilled. We can't wait to implement more in 2017, and see what else Vista can do for us.

Pros:

The integration across accounts, companies, departments, etc. We've only scratched the surface and been incredibly impressed. Really, I cant say enough good about this product. We love using the cloud environment as well - access Vista from anywhere via browser, if necessary. Makes it easy to work from home on a snowy day!

Cons:

Nothing in particular about the product, but we've had responsiveness issues with the billing department - some people are great others, not so much. The tech support department could be more knowledgeable about technology, and IT management in general. Fortunately, we don't need them very often. The cloud environment is clunky with printing in different browsers - always a mixed bag. Checks don't always line up right but using the actual cloud app, no problems what so ever.

Jennifer
Assistant Controller
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A big upgrade from our previous system.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Overall, we are pleased with our product and the initial training and setup. Most of our problems have been resolved on our own researching compared to having to file support cases. Viewpoint has allowed us to provide better reports to our managers.

Pros:

-Intercompany features allow for easy reconciliation and few entries. -Drilldown reports allow easy access to individual transactions -Knowledge Base and Clearview online help are incredible with step by step instructions including screenshots -Shortcut keys allow for easy lookups and use of a wildcard (*) without knowing the exact description -Well organized layout of the modules/programs vs. reports -Able to maintain one vendor master among all companies has helped significantly in our accounts payable department

Cons:

-There is a large amount of reports but it's hard to determine which one to use and which parameters to use -Invested time in their financial reporter which is now being phased out and will not be supported in another year -Security setup can be time consuming (separate program for Reports, Forms, Data, etc.)

Jenny
Accounts Payable
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Software!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Heavily integrated and breaks down facets of construction industry well using the modules that feed information to each other. I work with the AP module and it is easy to use and understand. The reports offered and useful and easy to manipulate. The equipment module is fabulous as well though we don't use it to its full potential just yet.

Cons:

It is difficult to make a change to something posted in a closed month. I was able to find a way to remedy this online and fixed it immediately. Sometimes it does take customer service a while to call you back on a service ticket, however, most answers can be answered by doing research individually in clear view.

John
IT Director
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

to Vista from a custom app

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The heart of Viewpoint is it's people. There are many software packages with lots of features in the market. The big difference it the staff that you work with before and during conversion as well as the support staff afterward. Viewpoint technical support people are knowledgeable and take the time to work with you to resolve any issues.

Pros:

We had spent a decade with a custom built application. The Vista (Viewpoint) system was able to provide all the function we had and needed as well as giving so much more in features. The system is very flexible and can a few setting adjustments can be tailored to fit our needs. The information provided ranges from very detailed to summarized as needed. A powerful system.

Cons:

The only cons I can think of revolve around the ability to customize the system. If you are moving to Vista from another app, take the time needed to work with your Viewpoint rep before and during the conversion. We had a few changes to make afterward that would have not been needed had we talked them over with our conversion rep. It will be time well spent.

Tim
Controller in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista - A good product but some work to do

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good integration for a multi-faceted business. Cloud based product with good security and single sign on.

Pros:

Viewpoint One web-based project management and financial controls, solid payroll, general ledger and accounts payable package.

Cons:

Analytics Reporting on Viewpoint One is very clunky, BI is very limited. Dispatch board from the Service Management module needs more flexibility to prioritize calls and tag/flag calls on the board. Projection tools within Project Management module don't provide real time functionality and are not easy to use.

Jessica
Project Assistant in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Project Financial Management

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Viewpoint Vista has all the tools to make Project Financial Management a breeze.

Pros:

Being able to customize this software to fit our company and project needs has been very beneficial. The project financial management capabilities are extremely useful.

Cons:

I would like more options for equipment management.

Jeff
CFO
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It's a failure

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: So sorry to many of our hundreds of subcontractors that I had originally recommended to this product...several made the jump. All are very unhappy.

Pros:

Possibilities to work with Microsoft platform. SQL based and therefore we have the ability to get to the information we really need (all-be-it backdoor).

Cons:

Poor execution and support. No system based financials. Poorly structured work flow. Weak asset management. Weak scheduling. Three years later still not working as well as Computer Ease. Just paid to go back top Computer Ease (although it has its own issues).

Carlin
Accountings Systems Admin in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Vista is so customizable so the software can work they way you run your business. Each module is fully integrated and the ability to import anything you can get into Excel saves time and money.

Cons:

A few kinks here and there but customers suggestions are listened to and implemented.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that Viewpoint Vista has been such a great fit for your business.

Karen
Owner
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Goods and bads

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Great functionality for project management with estimating and accounting integrates between modules and companies extremely well

Cons:

Payroll setup needs better documentation/training from Viewpoint. setup can be cumbersome. Project Manager is great for simple jobs but when there a lot of change orders it can be fickle. Support is terrible it takes days for them to get back to you. They get it working yes but always a huge inconvenience if you are a manager with lots of duties

Randy
IT Director in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The entire software is simple enough to use while at the time time provides best practice functionality and controls. The Vista accounting module is very strong. Their cloud model is stable and secure.

Cons:

Support can be improved. Although they have many support options, I seldom get an answer on first contact. Many times tickets will go 5-7 days before getting a reply.

Tyler
Controller in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vista is useful

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Integration went well with the help of trainers. It takes several years of using Vista to really get use to it. We are about to move to the cloud version, so there will once again be another learning curve to battle through.

Cons:

We've found that the standard Crystal Reports are not very good, and writing custom reports using Crystal Reports is not user-friendly.

Tammie
HR Manager
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Weak on the HR Side

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Overall, it isn't a bad system, especially for payroll, tracking of costs and equipment. It just isn't tops on the HR side.

Pros:

Entry of data is easy (Microsoft Access style of entry). Canned reporting features are okay with several exporting options.

Cons:

The HR side isn't the most spectacular piece of software. There's no easy way to create your own custom reports. Some access issues exist; such as if you have access to HR but not payroll and there are reports HR needs that are tied to payroll, you're out of luck. One such report is the EEO-1 Report which HR typically handles but it's tied to payroll reporting.

Allan
Project Engineer in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

This software makes my job easier!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The webinars and training in this software is very user friendly and very timely. The updates that are provide continue to impress me with the programming capability and versatility.

Pros:

I like the adaptability of this software. The reports are configurable easily an it is very flexible. The software has many items that are making our team very informed and knowledgeable on the cost status on each of our projects.

Cons:

Still learning ALL that it can do and provide. The training processes that VIEWPOINT provides helps to overcome the initial issue of understanding the new programs.

Maria
Payroll Supervisor
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Tool is exceptional

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I use Viewpoint in every aspect of my job, so I've become very familiar with the software in the last 13 years. I absolutely enjoy working on it, it's easy to use and follow.

Pros:

Easy to use and follow. You can customize your windows how ever you like. Reports are also easy to follow

Cons:

Depending on number of licenses that are purchase sometimes is an issue to sign in. Also when everyone is using Viewpoint it takes longer for batches to post.

Gretchen
Project Controls in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vista- Construction

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The customer service is excellent- love having the viewpoint academy

Pros:

Its both accounting and operations - ease of use - tracks all entries -

Cons:

I know you can - however having issues with importing budgets

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, Gretchen! We are so glad that Viewpoint Vista has been such a great fit for your business.